Friday, December 10, 2010

Glimpse


Synopsis:



In one moment
it is over.
In one moment
it is gone.
The morning grows
thin, grey
and our lives-
how they were-
have vanished.
Our lives have
changed
when I walk in
on Lizzie
my sister
holding a shotgun.


  Twelve year old girl Hope's life is turned upside down when her older sister Lizzie becomes an elective mute and is institutionalized after trying to kill herself. Ever since their dad died Hope and Lizzie have relied on each other from a young age. Their mother is a reluctant and unreliable parent at best, who turns tricks to support the family. Throughout the course of this lyrical and heartbreaking narrative readers and Hope discover that the mother is prostituting Lizzie and it’s up to Hope to bring the truth to light to save her sister.
  With raw and haunting writing reminiscent of Ellen Hopkins and Elizabeth Scott, Carol Lynch Williams is a promising new YA voice.


_______________
My thoughts:
Read this in under two hours, that's how captivating and simply enticing it is.
  To start, 'verse books' are always a quick, fun read for me. I can read the entire 400+ page book in basically one sitting, where I would normally get maybe 200 pages done normally, so that's what drew me into the book. Now, I would have, under normal circumstances, put the book down once I learned that the MC was just about to turn 12...her sister being only 14. BUT, after reading...I don't know, 30? pages before finding out the girl's age, I was totally hooked.
  The story is so different than anything I would normally read. I really don't want to give it away, but, I like to think that this is a "Lifetime book"--a book that is a topic that Lifetime Movie Network always plays about. It's a topic that never gets old to me, since I feel strongly about it. It broke my heart, and I even teared up, when I learned the secret the sister was withholding.
  From the first to the last page, I guarantee you will be grabbed into the story. I don't know how you couldn't be!
  (Oh, and I love the cover! It's so gorgeous, yet so simple!)
5/5 Stars

Dash & Lily's Book of Dares

Dash & Lily's Book of Dares- David Levithan/ Rachel Cohn


Synopsis:
  “I’ve left some clues for you.
  If you want them, turn the page.
  If you don’t, put the book back on the shelf, please.”
 
  So begins the latest whirlwind romance from the New York Times bestselling authors of Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist. Lily has left a red notebook full of challenges on a favorite bookstore shelf, waiting for just the right guy to come along and accept its dares. But is Dash that right guy? Or are Dash and Lily only destined to trade dares, dreams, and desires in the notebook they pass back and forth at locations across New York? Could their in-person selves possibly connect as well as their notebook versions? Or will they be a comic mismatch of disastrous proportions?
  Rachel Cohn and David Levithan have written a love story that will have readers perusing bookstore shelves, looking and longing for a love (and a red notebook) of their own.


______________
My thoughts:
Initially, I thought this wouldn't be nearly as great as Nick & Nora's Infinite Playlist...Boy was I wrong! This was just as good and perfect for this time of year, since it takes place in NY during Christmastime and all that jazz.
  I really do like how these two authors collaborate to make a totally cool book. Personally, I prefer boy/girl POV's to normal ones, and I know that I can turn to Levithan and Cohn to feed my fix.
  Dash and Lily were such interesting characters, I felt as though I'd known them my entire life. And how can you not like how their story is? I mean, a journal, in a bookstore, with dares like (spoiler!) picking up a book in the gay/lesbian section only if you're straight and then having to talk to a girl you know from school would make me totally shudder and run home in real life, but I was laughing my butt off as it happened to Dash. He's so freakin' funny, and I think that Lily is, without trying to be (and who doesn't love humor in cute books?!).
  Can't wait for the next Levithan/Cohn book! 4/5 Stars

Torment

Torment- Lauren Kate


Synopsis:
Hell on earth.
  That’s what it’s like for Luce to be apart from her fallen angel boyfriend, Daniel.
  It took them an eternity to find one another, but now he has told her he must go away. Just long enough to hunt down the Outcasts—immortals who want to kill Luce. Daniel hides Luce at Shoreline, a school on the rocky California coast with unusually gifted students: Nephilim, the offspring of fallen angels and humans.
  At Shoreline, Luce learns what the Shadows are, and how she can use them as windows to her previous lives. Yet the more Luce learns, the more she suspects that Daniel hasn’t told her everything. He’s hiding something—something dangerous.
  What if Daniel’s version of the past isn’t actually true? What if Luce is really meant to be with someone else?
  The second novel in the addictive FALLEN series . . . where love never dies.


_______________
My thoughts:
  I waited so long to get this book, and when I finally did, I kept thinking 'OMG, I FINALLY HAVE IT! YAY!' which sort of kept me from reading, what with my mind spurting out at random intervals words and phrases that kept clouding my conscious.
  Torment will not disappoint! As I've always believed, the second books in trilogy's are the best. Since, in the first you're just getting to know characters. And in the third, ends are being tied so that the book can end, you know? But the second one, the middle one, is always (in my opinion) the best. You have more time for character development, and you learn what's "to come" even if you don't know it/can't see it.
  Reading this book was much different than reading Fallen. For starters, Fallen was good, but it took me about a week to really read it, I had to keep going back to re-read a part, since I kinda felt that 'huh?' that bothers me so much. Whereas Torment, I know what the hell is happening. I know what's exactly going on with Luce/Daniel/Cam and I don't have to wonder.
  This book is definitely awesome, but I'm not all in-favor of it's ending. Of course, I love a cliff-hanger as much as the next girl, but c'mon! This book is LONG and I think that it should end semi-final, so that I'm not really dying for the next one.
  Kate does a wonderful job with her words...again! I just feel like I understand what she says, and she easily comes across as 'understanding'. She doesn't put Luce into stupid situations, and I don't think I once stopped and shook my head in disappointment. It's impossible to find a flaw in this sequel (well...unless you hate the series. In that case, why the hell are you READING IT?!) and I can honestly (and willingly) admit that I loved it to pieces! 4/5 Stars (Yup, that's minus one for the ending!)

Tuesday, November 30, 2010

Five Flavors of Dumb

Five Flavors of Dumb- Antony John


Synopsis:
The Challenge: Piper has one month to get the rock band Dumb a paying gig.
  The Deal: If she does it, Piper will become the band's manager and get her share of the profits.
  The Catch: How can Piper possibly manage one egomaniacal pretty boy, one talentless piece of eye candy, one crush, one silent rocker, and one angry girl? And how can she do it when she's deaf?
  Piper can't hear Dumb's music, but with growing self-confidence, a budding romance, and a new understanding of the decision her family made to buy a cochlear implant for her deaf baby sister, she discovers her own inner rock star and what it truly means to be a flavor of Dumb.




_________________
My thoughts:
This book is freaking awesome!
  Obviously, I was drawn into it because of how the synopsis is basically like, a deaf girl promoting a music group...So I was thinking, 'how is that possible...?' until I opened the book and READ. I honestly read this pretty fast, a lot faster than I've been reading other books. Mainly because of how great not only the writing is, but how great the plot itself is! You cannot not love this, I don't think.
  Words were woven into intricate sentences that just seemed to fit. Piper (the MC) was definitely someone to love and adore--she was so strong, and I loved her to bits. I didn't love her father though--he seemed to be an ass half of the time, and I was even pissed at parts, when he would say something insensitive that hurt Piper.
  Antony John is now the proud owner of a spot on my Authors-to-Look-Out-For list, and hell, I really can't wait to see what else he has to say! 5/5 Stars

Tall, Dark & Fangsome

Tall, Dark & Fangsome- Michelle Rowen


Synopsis:
  Sarah Dearly's vampire life is not all B-positive cocktails. A curse made her a nightwalker, the most vicious vamp there is; the charm she wears to curb her deadly tendencies is losing its juice; and a hunter from hell is turning up the heat. Gideon Chase will kill the ones she loves most if she doesn't obey his orders. That includes breaking up with master vampire Thierry and turning Gideon into an immortal vamp so he can escape a doom of eternal hellfire.
  Making things worse are Sarah's growing feelings for Gideon, a bad boy who keeps showing a vulnerable side . . . but is it for real? Will Sarah's dark side take over? Or can she cure herself of the nightwalker curse in time to stop Gideon and finally live happily ever after with Thierry... forever?




__________________
My thoughts:
  The series ending, was, in a nutshell, awesome! I loved every word, but I was kind of sad to see it end. I've been so much in-tuned with Sarah Dearly that I was definitely hesitant to say goodbye.
  But, nonetheless, this addition is just as exciting and revealing as all of the others. Readers can't help but be drawn into the story, and hopefully like me, you'll be hanging on every word!
  Question: Is it just me, or is there always something exciting going on in this series? Seriously, it seems to me that Sarah doesn't ever catch a break...she's always in some kind of predicament or some sticky situation that she has got to get herself out of.
  Anyways, I loved this book. I was definitely happy to get it after recently finishing Stakes & Stilettos--what a cliff hanger that book was!
  So, if you've been reading this series, I highly suggest NOT stopping where you're at. Rowen is definitely in my Top-10 authors list, and hell, this series is in my Top-5 list! 5/5 Stars

Tuesday, November 23, 2010

Crescendo

Crescendo- Becca Fitzpatrick


Synopsis:
The sequel to the New York Times Best selling phenomenon, Hush, Hush!
  Nora should have know her life was far from perfect. Despite starting a relationship with her guardian angel, Patch (who, title aside, can be described anything but angelic), and surviving an attempt on her life, things are not looking up. Patch is starting to pull away and Nora can't figure out if it's for her best interest or if his interest has shifted to her arch-enemy Marcie Millar. Not to mention that Nora is haunted by images of her father and she becomes obsessed with finding out what really happened to him that night he left for Portland and never came home.
  The farther Nora delves into the mystery of her father's death, the more she comes to question if her Nephilim blood line has something to do with it as well as why she seems to be in danger more than the average girl. Since Patch isn't answering her questions and seems to be standing in her way, she has to start finding the answers on her own. Relying too heavily on the fact that she has a guardian angel puts Nora at risk again and again. But can she really count on Patch or is he hiding secrets darker than she can even imagine?


______________
My thoughts:


I cannot explain fully all of the emotions that seemed to be waging a war against each other while reading Crescendo. It was like being on solid ground one moment--smooth and steady--and then in the next, it shifts so quickly it can only be described as being on a roller coaster--all twisty, curvy, and fast as hell.
  Hush, Hush pales in comparison to its sequel! I know that if you have yet to read Crescendo you're probably thinking, "There's no topping Hush, Hush! It was so awesome!" But believe me, Fitzpatrick has. I don't know how, but she did, and I'm thankful for that. 
  Crescendo is just as awesome--if not more--in the action department as Hush, Hush. Its gripping, and truly thrilling. I enjoyed reading it each and every moment, and when I wasn't reading fast enough (dying to find out more!) I forced myself to read as fast as possible, while still being able to comprehend.
  Patch. Oh, Patch. Please, do not get me started on him. If I do, I will be here for hours, detailing every little thing that made me want to wring his neck until that stupid baseball cap pops off (No offence, Patch; I'm sure you look good in that hat!) 
  Saying it was hard to put down would be an understatement. Since, well, I did put it down, but not for long. Also saying that it was predictable would be a lie, though I did catch on (by guessing) late in the book what--or, well, who--was going on. Since I was so damn pissed off at what was happening, by the time it changed, tears of joy sprang to my eyes.
  And the best part? I have zero complaints about anything. Not one thing didn't feel fitting, not one word out of place. And I can't remember seeing a grammatical error either (though there's bound to be one in there somewhere...I was just too focused on reading to see it!).
  Fitzpatrick, you've done it again! I couldn't believe this book! And my God, that ending! Can you say dramatic-cliff hanger? Damn, I really hope the next book comes out, like, pronto! Please, please, please don't make us wait!
  5/5++ Stars 

Friday, November 19, 2010

Freefall

Freefall- Mindi Scott


Synopsis:
  How do you come back from the point of no return?
  Seth McCoy was the last person to see his best friend, Isaac, alive, and the first to find him dead. It was just another night, just another party, just another time when Isaac drank too much and passed out on the lawn. Only this time, Isaac didn't wake up.
  Convinced that his own actions led to his friend's death, Seth is torn between turning his life around . . . or losing himself completely.
  Then he meets Rosetta: so beautiful and so different from everything and everyone he's ever known. But Rosetta has secrets of her own, and Seth soon realizes he isn't the only one who needs saving . ..




_________________
My thoughts:
Freefall was a great book!
I originally got it as a 'space' book--a book I read while waiting for a book I really want to read to either come out/get it. But once I started reading Freefall, I realized that I really should have had a different 'spacer book', since this is not a book to pass by!
  I don't really have complaints, just praise. One thing you should know is that I tend to stay away from guy POV's, since I really can't relate, what with me being a girl and all. But Freefall was easy to relate to! Seth is such a believable character it's uncanny. I couldn't believe how fast pages whizzed by, and not one moment was I stopping to think 'what is he talking about?' since somehow, Mindi Scott managed to make this book both original and interesting. I can't lie and say that I wanted to read it, but once my sister read it and raved about it, I had that thought that we've all had before: I gotta see what all the fuss is about! 
  I liked Rosetta (or, Riley, who she is for like, half the book...) and how she wasn't some stuck-up girl who refused to speak to Seth (or, 'Dick' as he's known to his friends...) just because he has a history. I found the concept, a guy being the last person to see his best friend alive and the first to see him dead, really attention grabbing. 
  Seth's troubling past definitely added to the mystique, and made him a character that I just couldn't wait to find out more about. Actually, all of the characters were enjoyable, a few more than others.
  Then, the ending. Oh, the ending! How marvelous! I smiled hugely when I read those last pages.
  I must say though, there were a few things that I felt were left a little hanging, but overall I liked the book, and reccommend it to fans of anything...well, cool. 4/5 stars

Friday, November 12, 2010

One Night That Changes Everything

One Night That Changes Everything- Lauren Barnholdt


Synopsis:
Eliza is in a full-blown panic. Her notebook has been stolen—the one that lists everything she wants but is afraid to go after. And the absolute worst person in the world has it: her ex-boyfriend, Cooper.
  Like it’s not enough Cooper was lying to Eliza for their entire relationship, now he and his friends are blackmailing her. They’re giving her just one night to complete the most humiliating tasks on her list or they’ll post her secrets online—including the ones that aren’t just about her.
  Eliza’s sure of only one thing: she isn’t going down without a fight. Cooper may have what’s left of her dignity, but she’s not the only one with something to hide …



____________
My thoughts:
Seeing as how this book started rather abruptly, I shall do the same:
  Was it just me, or did the MC CAPITALIZE HER WORDS A LOT? It was as though the author couldn't simply write, "I hate you!" and be like: she yelled this at the top of her lungs, nearly shouting. Every damn sentence ended with capitalization, and boy, was it annoying.
  Anyways, I'm not here to hate. I'm here to tell you how totally weird this book was (so...maybe I am hating?). For starters: Who in their right mind (please ignore me if you are not...) would write all of their fears down in a journal? I know that if I attempted, my journal would need to be well over 400 pages; for fears beginning with letters A-F. Sure, the story line was interesting and different, but c'mon. What could've possibly been so bad in that journal that the MC couldn't just be like, "I don't care if you have my journal, I don't need that anyways,"? Really?
  Eliza (I shall stop calling her MC now) was really whiny, in my opinion. Now, I'm not saying she was like some characters whose outlook on life is all: 'OMG; life sucks! Where's my razor...?' but she was annoying. Gotta say though, she was bold. Going up and doing the dares/fears was totally awesome: I know I would never get on stage and belt out I'm Bringing Sexy Back lyrics (but then again, I'm the one with the shirt that says: Sexy never left...), and dancing with the hottest guy in a club, while scantily dressed was interesting.
  So, yea, I liked the book: so sue me. I read it in less than two hours and pages seemed to fly. The ending was good, and I did laugh a lot, so I added a star for that. 2/5 Stars.

Beautiful Darkness

Beautiful Darkness- Kami Garcia/ Margaret Stohl


Synopsis:
  Ethan Wate used to think of Gatlin, the small Southern town he had always called home, as a place where nothing ever changed. Then he met mysterious newcomer Lena Duchannes, who revealed a secret world that had been hidden in plain sight all along. A Gatlin that harbored ancient secrets beneath its moss-covered oaks and cracked sidewalks. A Gatlin where a curse has marked Lena's family of powerful supernaturals for generations. A Gatlin where impossible, magical, life-altering events happen.
  Sometimes life-ending.
  Together they can face anything Gatlin throws at them, but after suffering a tragic loss, Lena starts to pull away, keeping secrets that test their relationship. And now that Ethan's eyes have been opened to the darker side of Gatlin, there's no going back. Haunted by strange visions only he can see, Ethan is pulled deeper into his town's tangled history and finds himself caught up in the dangerous network of underground passageways endlessly crisscrossing the South, where nothing is as it seems.


_______________
My thoughts:
If you've read the book prior to Beautiful Darkness (why wouldn't you've?) then when you pick it up, you should think 'Okay, I know where we are...' and then read the book smoothly and easily.
  I'm just going to jump right into my thoughts here, and skip all the symbolism that I could probably use to detail the book.
  While I loved Beautiful Creatures, I just felt that Beautiful Darkness was a little...lacking. Sure, it was just as interesting and well written as the other one, don't get me wrong, but for some reason I just felt...bored with the book. It seemed to me that it droned on and on at points. And if I'm being honest, I will tell you two things: I hate guy POV's and Lena was being a plain bitch for like, the whole book. I don't mean to spoil it for you, but she was acting so weird I was just stunned!
  Beautiful Darkness also seemed, to me, that it wasn't as action packed as the other one. But then again, since Beautiful Creatures is the first in the series, it's bound to be with more details, action, and whatnot, right? Yea, but still. I felt annoyed, bored, awed and lastly, confused for the entire duration of the book.
  Regardless, I'm was happy with the ending. It was well written and thought out, so I will be sticking with the awesome duo that is Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl. 5/5 Stars

Friday, November 5, 2010

Jane

Jane- April Lindner


Synopsis:
Forced to drop out of an esteemed East Coast college after the sudden death of her parents, Jane Moore takes a nanny job at Thornfield Park, the estate of Nico Rathburn, a world-famous rock star on the brink of a huge comeback. Practical and independent, Jane reluctantly becomes entranced by her magnetic and brooding employer and finds herself in the midst of a forbidden romance.
  But there's a mystery at Thornfield, and Jane's much-envied relationship with Nico is soon tested by an agonizing secret from his past. Torn between her feelings for Nico and his fateful secret, Jane must decide: Does being true to herself mean giving up on true love?
  An irresistible romance interwoven with a darkly engrossing mystery, this contemporary retelling of the beloved classic Jane Eyre promises to enchant a new generation of readers.


____________
My thoughts:
  I went out and bought Jane, but decided to wait a few days to start it. My 'TBR' pile was overflowing, so I thought, 'eh, I'll wait.' I'm damn sorry I did.
  When I started Jane, I didn't put it down until I was well past the first 100 pages. I was completely drawn into this book! What I believed would be a crappy-retelling turned out to be one of the best book's I've read this month; and Jane has definitely earned a place on my 'gold' shelf.
  The book doesn't start slow--if anything, it starts right in the middle of Jane's life. Her parent's have just died, we learn she's estranged from her siblings, and we also learn that she'll be homeless in less than a week unless she finds a job. So this alone makes readers sympathetic towards the MC, and I know that I was grateful when she got the job at Thornfield Park.
  I loved Maddie, Nico's little daughter. She was funny, and when she met Jane, she was down to the point with a, "I don't like you." Made me laugh aloud.
  Nico is an entirely different story. Jane insisted on calling him Mr. Rathburn for nearly the entire book. But, that doesn't make him any less interesting. In my opinion, it was fun learning about all the characters. And I seemed to actually care, whereas in most books I'm like, 'Yea, yea, get to the damn point already.'
  (*Tiny spoiler!*) I gotta say, the ending rocked. But, like all good books, the events leading up to the ending kinda made me upset. But, in the end, everything turned out okay.
  Jane is certainly not plain at all (well, the character is...not the book), and I look forward to any other books by April Lindner. 5/5 Stars

The DUFF (designated ugly fat friend)

The DUFF (designated ugly fat friend)- Kody Keplinger


Synopsis:
  Seventeen-year-old Bianca Piper is cynical and loyal, and she doesn’t think she’s the prettiest of her friends by a long shot. She’s also way too smart to fall for the charms of man-slut and slimy school hottie Wesley Rush. In fact, Bianca hates him. And when he nicknames her “the Duff,” she throws her Coke in his face.
  But things aren’t so great at home right now, and Bianca is desperate for a distraction. She ends up kissing Wesley. Worse, she likes it. Eager for escape, Bianca throws herself into a closeted enemies-with-benefits relationship with him.
  Until it all goes horribly awry. It turns out Wesley isn’t such a bad listener, and his life is pretty screwed up, too. Suddenly Bianca realizes with absolute horror that she’s falling for the guy she thought she hated more than anyone.


__________
My thoughts:
The Duff was everything I could want in a book; a sassy MC, jerk-turns-out-to-be-not-so-jerky front man, and an interesting plot.
  I must admit, I love the title. I don't know why, but upon seeing the name, I wrote it down. Didn't even bother searching for a synopsis, because I just had a feeling that the book was going to be awesome. And, like always (ha-ha), I was right. The Duff is definitely different, and I think it's pretty easy to relate to.
  As the author says, everyone in a group of friends feels like 'The Duff', this is why I think that everyone will like this book! You can't not laugh at every turn of the page, or not feel sorry for how Wesley treats our MC (at first).
  Warning here: this book is not for readers who are looking for 'clean' books. Aside from the excessive use of the F word, Bianca and Wesley have sex a bunch of times (I counted four...there may've been more, but I can't remember), and although they're not adult-novel-graphic, it isn't like 'We slept together. The end' there are details, and I wouldn't put this on a list unless you're cool with the sex thing. I know that some parents proof-read books, backs of books, and so-on, so yea, just a heads-up. (I think I'd die if my parents read backs of half the books I read...not to cool, when your reading some steamy-romance novel and your dad decides to read the synopsis aloud...at dinner.)
  Okay, I'm rambling. Anyways, this book rocked, and I'm so totally looking forward to anything else by Kody Keplinger (cool name, I must say). 5/5+ (it's a first!) Stars

The Mediator: Shadowland



Synopsis:
  Suze is a mediator -- a liaison between the living and the dead. In other words, she sees dead people. And they won't leave her alone until she helps them resolve their unfinished business with the living. But Jesse, the hot ghost haunting her bedroom, doesn't seem to need her help. Which is a relief, because Suze has just moved to sunny California and plans to start fresh, with trips to the mall instead of the cemetery, and surfing instead of spectral visitations.
  But the very first day at her new school, Suze realizes it's not that easy. There's a ghost with revenge on her mind ... and Suze happens to be in the way.


_____________
My thoughts:
  I'm well aware that this series is a little old, but I've just recently started liking Meg Cabot (Airhead Series), so bear with me. Maybe you've read this already, or, maybe you're like me and just getting started. But one thing that I know for sure is that if you're a Cabot fan, this series is not something you want to miss.
  The plot, while not all too original, was probably like 'WOW' when it first came out. Someone seeing, talking, touching ghosts is different, since most books all the 'mediator' can do is see/talk to them. I liked Suze's gift, and I like how she didn't take advantage of it. She actually wanted to help the spirits, which is a plus, in my book.
  Suze isn't one of those irrational thinkers. She is though, funny as hell. I found myself laughing at random intervals, and not even knowing why. Just her wit and the way Cabot made her think was funny--in a good way.
  The book doesn't start off slow--I think it picks up and keeps getting better after like, chapter two. You're introduced to Jesse then, and that's where all the fun starts. The 'evil' spirit at her high school is really a crazy-loon of a girl who is convinced that Suze is trying to take over her old life (ha; funny).
  So, this book isn't boring. And when you see how many pages there are (304) just remember, that this is a 'mass market paperback', so the pages seem to be short, and you'll find your self breezing through them. I was so entranced with the book that while I was making my dinner in the toaster oven, I ended up burning it nearly to a crisp cause I wasn't paying attention! 4/5 Stars

Monday, November 1, 2010

Nightwood

Nightwood- Patricia Windsor


Synopsis:
  Casey, Gena, and Maryann can think of a way better use of a week than a senior trip to Washington, D.C. Casey's plan is simple. Ditch the trip to D.C., camp out at her parents' amazing cabin in Delonga, and accidentally "run into" Lane and his friends on their fishing trip. She knows the boys will be across the lake—her friends will thank her once they're up there.
  Three girls for three boys will be the perfect party. After all, what could be more fun than five days in the woods? No curfews, no rules, and no parents. No one will even know they're up there.
  And no one will hear them when they scream for help.
  When the first body shows up, it's shocking. When the knock comes on the back door, it's horrifying. And when they realize there's nowhere to hide, they'll wish they were already dead.
  Surviving a week in the woods is a going to be a whole lot harder than these girls could ever imagine.


_______________
My thoughts:
 I was browsing my library when I came across this little book. In my mind, I kept thinking "I need something to read for Halloween" and I found Nightwood, and it seemed perfect.
  This book is not new (I think it was published in 2006) but it was so different than 'scary' books that you can easily find at a bookstore.
  Think cannibals and weird, nasty people. Basically, any Sci-Fy movie you can turn on the TV. Nightwood had a totally weird concept, and that's probably why I loved it so damn much. I liked the gore factor, and damn, the ending! I couldn't believe it! It definitely shocked me, and for once, I didn't ever get a chance to predict what was going to happen. Wish there was a sequel! 3/5 Stars

The Candidates

Delcroix Academy: The Candidates- Inara Scott


Synopsis:
  Dancia Lewis is far from popular. And that's not just because of her average grades or her less-than-glamorous wardrobe. In fact, Dancia's mediocrity is a welcome cover for her secret: whenever she sees a person threatening someone she cares about, things just...happen. Cars skid. Structures collapse. Usually someone gets hurt. So Dancia does everything possible to avoid getting close to anyone, belieiving this way she can supress her powers and keep them hidden.
  But when recruiters from the prestigious Delcroix Academy show up in her living room to offer her a full scholarship, Dancia's days of living under the radar may be over. Only, Delcroix is a school for diplomats' kids and child geniuses--not B students with uncontrollable telekinetic tendencies. So why are they treating Dancia like she's special? Even the hottest guy on campus seems to be going out of his way to make Dancia feel welcome.
  And then there's her mysterious new friend Jack, who can't stay out of trouble. He suspects something dangerous is going on at the Academy and wants Dancia to help him figure out what. But Dancia isn't convinced. She hopes that maybe the recruiters know more about her "gift" than they're letting on. Maybe they can help her understand how to use it...But not even Dancia could have imagined what awaits her behind the gates of Delcroix Academy.


________________
My thoughts:
  If I'd have known that the M.C. of The Candidates was 14, I definitely wouldn't've picked it up. I prefer to read books about people who are my age or older, because I feel slightly weird reading about younger people. But, nonetheless, I did pick it up, and I liked it.
  The book starts off kinda slow, and I tired easily of Delcroix Academy descriptions. The whole place was overly exaggerated, and I was shaking my head at times.
  BUT, I did like Dancia (different name, eh?) and how she thought things through. Her power is cool, and this definitely earns the author points.
  Jack was cool, but we don't really get a good description of how Danica feels towards him. I did not like though, Cam. For some reason he just gave me a funny feeling.
  The book was predictable after the first...ten chapters. At least, it was obvious to me what was to come.
  The ending was cute, but I don't think that Inara Scott should've ended it as she did. It was a bit of a cliff hanger, readers not knowing (*spoiler*) what the hell was to become of Jack. I mean, he like, just left? How shady was that?
  Anyways, I liked the book. Even though it took me more time to read it then it should've, I will be reading the sequel, Delcroix Academy: The Watchers. 3/5 Stars

Personal Demons

Personal Demons- Lisa Desrochers


Synopsis:
  Frannie Cavanaugh is a good Catholic girl with a bit of a wicked streak. She has spent years keeping everyone at a distance—-even her closest friends—-and it seems as if her senior year is going to be more of the same . . . until Luc Cain enrolls in her class. No one knows where he came from, but Frannie can’t seem to stay away from him.
  What she doesn’t know is that Luc is on a mission. He’s been sent from Hell itself to claim Frannie’s soul. It should be easy—-all he has to do is get her to sin, and Luc is as tempting as they come. Frannie doesn’t stand a chance. But he has to work fast, because if the infernals are after her, the celestials can’t be far behind. And sure enough, it’s not long before the angel Gabriel shows up, willing to do anything to keep Luc from getting what he came for. It isn’t long before they find themselves fighting for more than just Frannie’s soul.
  But if Luc fails, there will be Hell to pay . . . for all of them.


_______________
My thoughts:
Personal Demons, while it wasn't an original concept, was pretty interesting. I liked how Frannie, the M.C., thought. She was funny, and I liked her mind.
  But, if I liked Frannie, I LOVED Luc (short for Lucifer). I prefer the types of novels that are written in boy/girl verse, rather than just boy or girl. Really, I can't read a guy's POV because it's harder to relate to a dude when you're a girl.
  Anyways, the book, if anything, is never short of action. It seemed that something interesting was going on at all times. Be it Luc visiting his demon boss, or something else, you are sure to be sucked in.
  I have little complaints, but one of them is Frannie. I know, I know, I said I liked her. But, here is my pet-peeve: She has to choose between Luc and Gabriel. One minute its, "Ohh, Luc, I LOVE YOU!", two pages later, "Gabriel kissed me and ohh I loved it." Obviously, she didn't really think that (if she did, the book would've earned a spot in my burn pit with the rest of the crappy novels I've read in weeks past), but she did seem to have a wishywashy mind about things.  The writing was brilliant, and Desrochers did a great job describing situations, places, and people. I felt like I knew the characters by the time I closed the book. And hell, I'm dying for a sequel! 4/5 Stars

Monday, October 25, 2010

Demon Envy

Demon Envy- Erin Lynn


Synopsis:
Being a teenager can be hell-especially when you're friends with someone who was born there.
  Kenzie Sutcliffe woke up to another normal morning-until a demon popped up in her shower. While trying to get rid of a monster zit, she dropped her acne lotion in the tub. And when fifty bucks' worth of it swirled down the drain, it freed a demon from his prison portal. A mysteriously geeky-looking demon.
  So now Kenzie is saddled with a creature who looks and acts like every other guy she knows-that is, annoying. At least Levi has a job-if you can call it that. He has to stir up envy and jealousy in humans, or he starves. All he's tempting Kenzie to do is to crawl back into her bedroom and hide there forever. Because no one is going to be coveting her life after this.

 
________________
My thoughts:
Demon Envy was...interesting.
  I liked the plot, laughed a lot, and enjoyed Kenzie's sarcasm and wit; it was just funny.
  Time to break this down: I did think that the main character (Kenzie) was a little bit whiny, but that's what made her funny. I didn't so much enjoy how Levi got dumped in her life (zit cream...in a shower...?) but he was pretty cool. I'm an excessive "Dude" user, so each time Levi said that, I smiled knowingly.
  If you like books that are quick--less than 200 pages--then I really think you will like this. The ending doesn't really leave you hanging, but it definitely makes you want to pick up the sequel--Speed Demon. I give it 3/5, mostly because it was so funny.

Immortal Beloved

Immortal Beloved- Cate Tiernan


Synopsis:
Nastasya has spent the last century living as a spoiled, drugged-out party girl. She feels nothing and cares for no one. But when she witnesses her best friend, a Dark Immortal, torture a human, she realizes something's got to change. She seeks refuge at a rehab for wayward immortals, where she meets the gorgeous, undeniably sexy Reyn, who seems inexplicably linked to her past.
Nastasya finally begins to deal with life, and even feels safe--until the night she learns that someone wants her dead.
Cate Tiernan, author of the popular Sweep series, returns with an engaging story of a timeless struggle and inescapable romance, the first book in a stunning new fantasy trilogy.




________________
My thoughts:
Another great Cate Tiernan novel!
The first in a new trilogy, Immortal Beloved is just awesome.
I've read almost all of Cate's book, and this is, by far, the best one yet! I absolutely loved the concept of this book...Okay. It wasn't an 'original' idea, but it has a definite twist that other Immortal books lack...I'm not sure what it is, but it makes the book great!
  Nastasya (cool name, right?) was cool. I liked how she thought, and how her dry humor kept me smiling. She'd relate to things that aren't even being spoken of, and those 'thoughts' made each page interesting!
  I liked Reyn (rain, reign, rein?) he was...different. It was so weird to find out who he was (not till late in the book) and I was literally thinking, "Ohmygod, no way!' in a totally teenager-like way that deeply disappointed me.
  If you've read the Sweep series, then you should be familiar with all the magick that takes place in the book. I kept thinking about previous characters, the circles, and all that Wiccan stuff, so it was pretty interesting to realize that Cate kept this book a little bit in her previously made world.
  All in all, this book is sure to captivate. It may not look all too exciting (such a dull cover...) but it really is! I'm definitely awaiting the sequel; I hope it comes out soon! 4/5 stars

Bitten & Smitten

Bitten & Smitten- Michelle Rowen


Synopsis:
There’s a new vamp in town…
  Dear Mom,
I might be a wee bit late for Cousin Missy’s wedding. It’s been a tough week. Turns out, my blind date from hell was literally from hell. Guy bit me. Next thing I know, I’m being chased all over the city by vampire hunters. And did I mention that I got fired, too?
Bright side-I met a man. Thierry de Bennicoeur. How great is that name? Anyway, he’s sexy, six-hundred years old, and a tad suicidal, but no one’s perfect, right? And we have a deal-he’s gonna show me the ropes of the vampire world, and I’m supposed to help him end his existence. Or maybe I’ll just try to convince him life is worth living – no small challenge with the mostly immortal, let me tell you. I’ll admit it’s a complicated relationship. But with any luck, I just might have a date for that wedding after all…
Hugs and Kisses,
Sarah


_______________
My thoughts:
The idea of this book is what sparked my interest--A girl, on a blind date, being turned into a vamp against her will. For some reason, the plot caught my eye. But, I read the book because I've read Michelle Rowen's Demon Princess series for YA's and I loved it.
  This book wasn't much different! It was exciting and new, and I really enjoyed it! I finished it in about five hours (reading non-stop), and I thought that each page flowed smoothly and was written nicely.
  The first chapter is action packed, and I was thinking 'Wow' by the second paragraph! I don't want to give too much away, but the main character, Sarah, waking up in a grave is definitely new...and cool!

  Sarah was a funny character: always finding something to joke about in even the worse situations had me laughing out loud on numerous accounts.
  Overall, this is a very cute, fast story that should captivate fans of anything 'vampire'. I know it did me. 4/5 stars.

Saturday, October 23, 2010

Fearscape

Fearscape- Simon Holt


Synopsis:

  The Vours: evil, demonic beings that inhabit human bodies on Sorry Night, the darkest hours of the Winter Solstice.
  It's been a year since Reggie first discovered the Vours, and the Winter Solstice is approaching once again. It will be another night of unspeakable horror for those unlucky enough to be taken by the Vours, because this time, she won't be able to stop them. The Vours have imprisoned Reggie in a psychiatric hospital, where she is subjected to a daily routine of unfathomably sadistic experiments. Her life is a living Hell, but she won't give up. They attacked her brother. They killed her friend. And Reggie will never stop fighting back.






________________
My thoughts:

Fearscape was a perfect ending to an amazing trilogy.
  Like its formers, the book draws you into the strange, scary world of Simon Holt.
  The Devouring series is by far one of the best series I've read for teens--ever! I absolutely love how each
page makes your head spin with ideas, and how great the imagery is! Its phenomenal how Simon Holt can make your blood run cold and make you fear what's in your own head!
  From time-to-time while I was reading Fearscape, I just kept thinking 'It can't get much worse!' but it did, and it surprised me each and every time.
  If you're a reader of the series (because who picks up the final book without reading the others?...) then you should know what's going on. I remember finishing Solstice and feeling this strong sense of dread, and I was just wondering how the situation with the Vours could lay out in a way that's believable and possible.
  I admit, one aspect of the book made me a little disappointed (though I won't say what...), but I understand Simon Holt's reasoning for it.
  The book keeps you captivated through and through, and it doesn't give you a chance to stop--because you just want to FINISH it and find out what's going on. I picked it up and only stopped when I realized it was three a.m., and I should probably try to sleep.
  Fans of horror and suspense will love this series. And if you're an avid fan of the 'weird' (like me) I suggest you pick up the first book...NOW! and get drawn into the amazing mind of Simon Holt. 5/5 stars!!

Nightshade

Nightshade- Andrea Cremer

 
Synopsis:
  Calla Tor has always known her destiny: After graduating from the Mountain School, she'll be the mate of sexy alpha wolf Ren Laroche and fight with him, side by side, ruling their pack and guarding sacred sites for the Keepers.
  But when she violates her masters' laws by saving a beautiful human boy out for a hike, Calla begins to question her fate, her existence, and the very essence of the world she has known. By following her heart, she might lose everything— including her own life. Is forbidden love worth the ultimate sacrifice?


__________________
My thoughts:


Nightshade.
  What can I say about a book that was so freaking awesome, I had chills?
  We all must admit that the 'werewolf' concept is getting old, along with the vampire one. And if you can honestly admit this, then you are probably groaning something like "Oh god, not another Twilight spin off..." And if you are, I have to stop you, right there.
  Nightshade makes Twilight pale in comparison. I just loved how there was a world in which supernatural things are at stake, but there wasn't any vamps to kill with that stake. (ha-ha)
  Andrea Cremer has woven a tale of (for lack of a better phrase...) just plain awesomeness! Her character, Calla, is such a strong character that it's impossible not to fall in love with her! She's so...normal, despite her wolfy traits (pun intended). Readers can pretty easily relate to her situation, because of how good the author describes it! There's no room for you to stop, after reading ten pages, and wonder, "What?" that's how perfectly its written!
  I haven't seen (read) a book in a while that managed to stump even me. Nightshade kept me guessing and enthralled, wondering how Calla's world was going to unfurl.
  If you love anything relating to werewolves, or you simply want a heroine who isn't completely clueless, please, grab this book.
  I'm damn sure that I'm anxiously waiting for the sequel, Wolfsbane!
  And, last but not least, the COVER! The graphic designer in me all but swooned at this beauty. The cover is wonderfully designed, and I give props to its designer! The cover is fitting, especially the beautiful lilly! (I hate to admit it, but I do judge books by their covers sometimes...It's a good thing this one is so eyeopening; or I may've never read this awesome book!) 5/5 stars!

Friday, October 22, 2010

Past Midnight

Past Midnight- Mara Purnhagen


Synopsis:
  Let me set the record straight. My name is Charlotte Silver and I'm not one of those paranormal-obsessed freaks you see on TV…no, those would be my parents, who have their own ghost-hunting reality show. And while I'm usually roped into the behind-the-scenes work, it turns out that I haven't gone unnoticed. Something happened on my parents' research trip in Charleston—and now I'm being stalked by some truly frightening other beings. Trying to fit into a new school and keeping my parents' creepy occupation a secret from my friends—and potential boyfriends—is hard enough without having angry spirits whispering in my ear. All I ever wanted was to be normal, but with ghosts of my past and present colliding, now I just want to make it out of high school alive…




__________________
My thoughts:
I loved Past Midnight! Charlotte is such a cool character, and it's very easy to relate...Well, except that ghost follow her around, but, the book is still awesome!
  We've all seen a ghost show in some shape or form (be it Ghostbusters or Ghost Hunters...) so it's easy to imagine floating orbs and entities for this book. It's none of that 'OMG what is she saying? I don't understand!' readers can fairly easily imagine something believable, as I did.
  I really liked how the book was focused on the subject: ghosts. It wasn't completely revolved around Charlotte getting a boyfriend, nor was she a whiny, annoying character. She thought logically enough, and the author did an awesome job at describing each setting--I still have (ghost) images of Charlotte's adventures in my head for some reason...
  There isn't much I can say without giving away the book, so I think I will shut up. I recommend this book for a quick read, and for people who enjoy ghost stories. I definitely can't wait for it's sequel, One Hundred Candles!

Thursday, October 21, 2010

Where the Truth Lies

Where the Truth Lies- Jessica Warman


Synopsis-
  On the surface, Emily Meckler leads the perfect life. She has three best friends, two loving parents, and the ideal setup at the Connecticut prep school where her father is the headmaster. But Emily also suffers from devastating nightmares about fire and water, and nobody knows why. Then the enigmatic Del Sugar enters her life, and Emily is immediately swept away—but her passionate relationship with Del is just the first of many things that aren't quite what they seem in Emily's life. As the lies she's been told start to unravel, Emily must set out to discover the truth regarding her nightmare; on a journey that will lead her to question everything she thought she knew about love, family, and her own idyllic past.




__________________
My thoughts:
Where do I start?
  So much about this book made me angry and literally sigh in frustration. I can't even remember what about this book's description drew me into it enough to put it on my 'To Read' list in the first place.
  For starters, in the first part of the book (there are three) Emily meets Del--knows nothing about him!--and their first kiss is literally on page 60. Stupid, right? If you're like me, you believe in character development before anything changes. And really, readers learn little, if anything, about Del.
  Second thing: Emily gets herself pregnant by page 112. WTF? That's just stupid, in my opinion. Thus begins Part Two, which is just completely stupid and will probably make you want to slam your head into the wall, like it did me. Emily is so naive that she doesn't see signs of Del's drug use, they have protection-less sex, and she's just one of the most clueless characters I've ever been introduced to in a book. She was like...stupid beyond stupid.
  The entire 'summer' in the book spans one chapter. And in this summer, Emily "hides" her kid, gives birth to it, and puts it up for adoption. Yea, like someone's parents are going to let their daughter run off to New York with a girl who is, in my opinion, shady, and not even notice she's pregnant? How freaking unrealistic is that?
  Another thing, what was with the cuddling? Emily and her roommates are always cuddling, which is really weird. Okay, it’s normal to cuddle with someone you're dating, but a roommate or best friend? Really sick, if you ask me. I also had a hard time figuring out why in the world Stephanie (Emily's BFF) was so...obsessed with her twin brother. It actually sickened me how weird this character was.
  The whole book made me want to...I don't know, rip it in half? And the only reason I really finished it, was so I could write a review that told what happened. So, obviously, I'm not suggesting this book to anyone who believes in...well, normal situations and believable characters.
  I have never read any of the author's other books, and really, I don't think I ever will. (Sorry for the hateful review...but if anything, I always speak my mind.) 1/5 stars.

Monday, October 18, 2010

Nevermore

Nevermore- Kelly Creagh


Synopsis:
  Cheerleader Isobel Lanley is horrified when she is paired with Varen Nethers for an English project, which is due—so unfair—on the day of the rival game. Cold and aloof, sardonic and sharp-tongued, Varen makes it clear he’d rather not have anything to do with her either. But when Isobel discovers strange writing in his journal, she can’t help but give this enigmatic boy with the piercing eyes another look.
  Soon, Isobel finds herself making excuses to be with Varen. Steadily pulled away from her friends and her possessive boyfriend, Isobel ventures deeper and deeper into the dream world Varen has created through the pages of his notebook, a realm where the terrifying stories of Edgar Allan Poe come to life.
  As her world begins to unravel around her, Isobel discovers that dreams, like words, hold more power than she ever imagined, and that the most frightening realities are those of the mind. Now she must find a way to reach Varen before he is consumed by the shadows of his own nightmares.
  His life depends on it.


_____________
My thoughts:
  How do I accurately describe a book to you that is so good it surpasses all expectations, and all of the books that I've read recently? Well, Nevermore is that book. It's the kind of book that draws you in, and refuses to let go--well, at least not until you finish it.
  When I picked it up, I thought 'Okay, goth meets cheerleader...can't be good'. But, I got a story I didn't expect. Kelly Creagh managed to, somehow, make the story not only interesting, but also freaky and heartwarming (rare aspects, nowadays, I think). The way she wove all of the Poe stories/poems into the book was awesome. I've never seen anything else like it, how you could read a small excerpt and be like 'Holy crap, this is perfect for this!'
  Isobel and Varen are such totally different characters (from totally different worlds...), that grasping onto the idea of them together is a little hard. But I'd say that their differences are what makes the book so damn likable.
  Each turn of the page makes your mind whir, trying to conjure up a new image that's fitting. I must say, your brain will get a workout! At times, there are pages that you just can't imagine up an image, without causing a headache...that's how awesome it is.
  I loved the concept: Goth, Cheerleader, Poe, and I was definitely drawn in. I read over one hundred pages in the first sitting--and finished it entirely by the second. The book is lengthy, but not one page drones on.
  I was...left with a feeling of melancholy with the ending. I didn't see it coming, and I'm pretty sure I gasped when I figured it out.
  I'm definitely waiting, (albeit not to patiently) for the sequel.

Wednesday, October 13, 2010

Elixir

Elixir- Hilary Duff


Synopsis:
As the daughter of a renowned surgeon and a prominent Washington D.C. politician, Clea Raymond has felt the glare of the spotlight her entire life. And though she dreads the paparazzi who track her every move, she herself is a talented photojournalist who takes refuge in a career that allows her to travel to the most exotic parts of the world.
  But after Clea’s father disappears while on a humanitarian mission, eerie, shadowy images of a strange and beautiful young man begin to appear in Clea’s photos—a man she has never seen in her life.
  When Clea suddenly encounters this man in person she is stunned—and feels an immediate and powerful connection. As they grow closer, they are drawn deep into the mystery behind her father’s disappearance and discover the centuries-old truth behind their intense bond.
  Torn by a dangerous love triangle and haunted by a powerful secret that holds their fate, together they race against time to unravel their past in order to save their future—and their lives.


_______________
My thoughts:
When you think of Hilary Duff, you automatically think 'Lizzie McGuire', right? So, it's probably weird for you to think that she's written a book--well, at least, I did.
  Elixir was captivating, and not anything that I'd imagine Hilary Duff could write. I'm not dissing her, but it's just that I thought this would be some stupid story about a snobby-rich girl. True, the main character, Clea, was rich, but I didn't get the sense that she was snobby at all. 
  She was a pretty cool protagonist, and I liked her rational-way of thinking. To be honest, she thought things out more thoroughly than I would have! Me, I would have jumped and freaked at just about every turn of events (I mean, taking a snapshot of your room and seeing some strange dude standing in your closet would have me screaming like a banshee and running out of the house).
  True, the story line kind of reminded me of Alyson Noel’s Immortals series a little bit, but I filed all my negative comments away, in order to stop comparing all the characters.
  The book was entrancing, and I finished it in under a day. I enjoyed it through-and-through, and although the ending is a little disappointing, I think there is going to be a second one in the near future (although I can't find any information on it...yet).
  I suggest that every person who likes strange tales of love give this book a try. Set aside your views/opinions on the new author, and give her a shot (without envisioning Lizzie Maguire’s little animated character writing this book on an overly-sized computer). 4/5 Stars

Tuesday, October 12, 2010

Venom

Venom- Jennifer Estep


Synopsis:
What kind of assassin works pro bono?
  It’s hard to be a badass assassin when a giant is beating the crap out of you. Luckily, I never let pride get in the way of my work. My current mission is personal: annihilate Mab Monroe, the Fire elemental who murdered my family. Which means protecting my identity, even if I have to conceal my powerful Stone and Ice magic when I need it most. To the public, I’m Gin Blanco, owner of Ashland’s best barbecue joint. To my friends, I’m the Spider, retired assassin. I still do favors on the side. Like ridding a vampire friend of her oversized stalker—Mab’s right-hand goon who almost got me dead with his massive fists. At least irresistible Owen Grayson is on my side. The man knows too much about me, but I’ll take my chances. Then there’s Detective Bria Coolidge, one of Ashland’s finest. Until recently, I thought my baby sister was dead. She probably thinks the same about me. Little does she know, I’m a cold-blooded killer . . . who is about to save her life.


________________
My thoughts:
  Finally! That's the exact thought that was in my head when I got my greedy little hands on this book. I'm a faithful reader of the Elemental Assassin novels, and Venom was one awesome addition!
  I couldn't wait to start Venom, and when I did, I wasn't disappointed. This book includes all of the action of its formers, but with just a bit more of a kick. I thought that this one was a little better than the last, since that idiot Donovan Caine was gone. I loved Owen! He was so much different than Donnovan--and he understands Gin (he wasn't constantly judging her, either).
  I liked the element of the book; the idea of it. Gin protecting her vampy friend was interesting, but I still kept thinking how much I wanted her to finally get her hands on Mab Monroe and finish this battle. Throughtout the book, there's a few characters from the other books that get built on. Learning more about side-characters is always interesting, no matter what you may think; and you'll find yourself rooting for them.
  Venom didn't have as many 'love scenes' as the other two, but the romantic level is totally different between Gion and Owen and Gin and Donovan. I liked how the book was focused on the plot, and not romancing it up.
  Gin was just as kickass, awesome, and resilient as before, and it amazes me how Jennifer Estep can make her readers feel adrenaline rushes along with Gin. Its rare that I can find a series that raptures me in longer than the first book. I must say, I'm dying to read the next one.

Demon Princess: Reign or Shine

Reign or Shine- Michelle Rowen


Synopsis:
As if trying to fit in at a new school isn't stressful enough, sixteen-year-old Nikki Donovan just found out that her long-lost father is, in fact, the demon king of the Shadowlands—the world that separates and protects us from the Underworld. When she is brought there by the mysterious—and surprisingly cute—messenger Michael, she learns that her father is dying, and he wants her to assume the throne. To complicate matters, a war is brewing between the Shadowlands and the Underworld, her half-demon qualities are manifesting, and her growing feelings for Michael are completely forbidden. Ruling a kingdom, navigating a secret crush, and still making it home by curfew—what's a teenage demon princess to do?




______________________
My thoughts:
  When I got this book, admittedly, I was excited to read it. I'd read the synopsis on Goodreads, and I was thinking how great of a book it was going to be. And, unsurprisingly, it was.
  The aspect of the story wasn't anything new--I've read tons of demon-related books this past year, but I have to say that this was one that I rank in the 'best' list. I liked Nikki; she was funny, and she thought logically. She wasn't irrational (cough; cough, Bella Swan), and her feelings were relatable and believable.
  Michael was interesting: not your normal arrogant a**hole that seems to take the lead in a lot of popular YA novels. And the other characters were well developed. I did figure out what was going on pretty easily (with Nikki's dad and aunt), so I wasn't surprised with the ending. But everything played out nicely, and I give props to the author, for having witty dialog and great writing skills. 
  The cover is a little flashy--so bright I feel kind of dizzy just looking at it, and it could have been a better representation of the book itself (not just Nikki).
  If you like books that are quick, easy to understand, and include: demons, cute boys & mystery, then this is the book for you. 4/5 stars

Thursday, October 7, 2010

Forgive My Fins

Forgive My Fins- Tera Lynn Childs


Synopsis:
  Lily Sanderson has a secret, and it's not that she has a huge crush on gorgeous swimming god Brody Bennett, who makes her heart beat flipper-fast. Unrequited love is hard enough when you're a normal teenage girl, but when you're half human, half mermaid, like Lily, there's no such thing as a simple crush.
  Lily's mermaid identity is a secret that can't get out, since she's not just any mermaid—she's a Thalassinian princess. When Lily found out three years ago that her mother was actually a human, she finally realized why she didn't feel quite at home in Thalassinia, and she's been living on land and going to Seaview High School ever since, hoping to find where she truly belongs. Sure, land has its problems—like her obnoxious biker-boy neighbor, Quince Fletcher—but it has that one major perk: Brody. The problem is, mermaids aren't really the casual dating type—the instant they "bond," it's for life.
  When Lily's attempt to win Brody's love leads to a tsunami-sized case of mistaken identity, she is in for a tidal wave of relationship drama, and she finds out, quick as a tailfin flick, that happily ever after never sails quite as smoothly as you planned.


___________________________________
My Thoughts:
This book is perfect if you like the Little Mermaid. Me? I don't like that movie, nor do I like the idea of a chick with a fin. It's weird, but I do appreciate and give kudos to Tera Lynn Childs for coming up with something original. Too many books are of the same concept, and its refreshing to read about a new world that no one has probably thought about since they were eight.
  Lily is basically obsessed with this Brody guy, and she knows absolutely nothing about him--aside from the fact that he loves water like her. And I have to admit to hating how weird Lily was when thinking of Brody. Like Quince says somewhere in the book, it's shallow for her to think that Brody is going to be her knight-in-shining-fins.
  I liked Quince (the next-door neighbor), even though he comes off as a weirdo pervert in the beginning of the book. He brought the laughs--not that Lily wasn't funny, because she was. Her thinking-process alone is laughable, and her use of underwater words were different from how teens normally use swear words.
  There was some terminology that I had a hard time grasping, and imagining an underworld kingdom was kind of difficult, because I kept thinking 'This is so stupid!' But if you just stop your mind from judging, and just read, then you should breeze though this short book. (Well, short in my opinion. Most books I read are at least 300 pages)
  So, I liked it, and 3/5 stars seems appropriate. (I can't guarantee though that I will read its sequel, Fins Are Forever, which drops in June 2011)

Wednesday, October 6, 2010

Firelight

Firelight- Sophie Jordan


Synopsis:
A hidden truth.
Mortal enemies.
Doomed love.
  Marked as special at an early age, Jacinda knows her every move is watched. But she longs for freedom to make her own choices. When she breaks the most sacred tenet among her kind, she nearly pays with her life. Until a beautiful stranger saves her. A stranger who was sent to hunt those like her. For Jacinda is a draki—a descendant of dragons whose greatest defense is her secret ability to shift into human form.
  Forced to flee into the mortal world with her family, Jacinda struggles to adapt to her new surroundings. The only bright light is Will. Gorgeous, elusive Will who stirs her inner draki to life. Although she is irresistibly drawn to him, Jacinda knows Will's dark secret: He and his family are hunters. She should avoid him at all costs. But her inner draki is slowly slipping away—if it dies she will be left as a human forever. She'll do anything to prevent that. Even if it means getting closer to her most dangerous enemy.
  Mythical powers and breathtaking romance ignite in this story of a girl who defies all expectations and whose love crosses an ancient divide.


________________________________________________
My thoughts:
The most remarkable thing about this book is the cover. I absolutely love how the 'draki' scales were incorporated onto the image. Unlike most covers nowadays, this one looks like it was actually made not on a time crunch and by someone who knows what the hell they're doing. (but that's just the graphic designer in me talking.)
  I liked the book. I even went as far as to give it 5/5 stars on Goodreads. But, like so many other readers, I was finding Twilight-like relations throughout the whole book. Something about how Will looks at her, and all this other stuff.
  I was really annoyed with the very beginning of the whole "Jacinda-and-Will" thing. She acted completely out of character all the time. She was thinking things that made my eyes roll. (Jacinda, you had TWO CONVERSATIONS with the boy, believe me, you aren't in love!) It got so annoying at one point that I almost bashed my own head in with the book.
  But, once I put aside my criticism, I liked the book. I liked how Jacinda wasn't a freakin' vampire or faerie. She was something that even I, a sci-fi lover, had a hard time imagining her as. I still can't figure out how big a damn draki would be, or how Jacinda and the other draki's look. I liked how she could breathe fire; *Spoiler!* it was kinda awesome that she burned a pack of crazed cheerleaders when they jumped her in the bathroom. I wish I had that talent--not that I've ever been jumped by a pack of cheerleaders or anything.
  The ending of the book was another shocker. I was gaping by the time I closed the book and set my little eyes on the acknowledgements page. I definitely can't wait for the next one, and I'm hoping it's like this one, and not short of action.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...