Monday, October 25, 2010

Demon Envy

Demon Envy- Erin Lynn


Synopsis:
Being a teenager can be hell-especially when you're friends with someone who was born there.
  Kenzie Sutcliffe woke up to another normal morning-until a demon popped up in her shower. While trying to get rid of a monster zit, she dropped her acne lotion in the tub. And when fifty bucks' worth of it swirled down the drain, it freed a demon from his prison portal. A mysteriously geeky-looking demon.
  So now Kenzie is saddled with a creature who looks and acts like every other guy she knows-that is, annoying. At least Levi has a job-if you can call it that. He has to stir up envy and jealousy in humans, or he starves. All he's tempting Kenzie to do is to crawl back into her bedroom and hide there forever. Because no one is going to be coveting her life after this.

 
________________
My thoughts:
Demon Envy was...interesting.
  I liked the plot, laughed a lot, and enjoyed Kenzie's sarcasm and wit; it was just funny.
  Time to break this down: I did think that the main character (Kenzie) was a little bit whiny, but that's what made her funny. I didn't so much enjoy how Levi got dumped in her life (zit cream...in a shower...?) but he was pretty cool. I'm an excessive "Dude" user, so each time Levi said that, I smiled knowingly.
  If you like books that are quick--less than 200 pages--then I really think you will like this. The ending doesn't really leave you hanging, but it definitely makes you want to pick up the sequel--Speed Demon. I give it 3/5, mostly because it was so funny.

Immortal Beloved

Immortal Beloved- Cate Tiernan


Synopsis:
Nastasya has spent the last century living as a spoiled, drugged-out party girl. She feels nothing and cares for no one. But when she witnesses her best friend, a Dark Immortal, torture a human, she realizes something's got to change. She seeks refuge at a rehab for wayward immortals, where she meets the gorgeous, undeniably sexy Reyn, who seems inexplicably linked to her past.
Nastasya finally begins to deal with life, and even feels safe--until the night she learns that someone wants her dead.
Cate Tiernan, author of the popular Sweep series, returns with an engaging story of a timeless struggle and inescapable romance, the first book in a stunning new fantasy trilogy.




________________
My thoughts:
Another great Cate Tiernan novel!
The first in a new trilogy, Immortal Beloved is just awesome.
I've read almost all of Cate's book, and this is, by far, the best one yet! I absolutely loved the concept of this book...Okay. It wasn't an 'original' idea, but it has a definite twist that other Immortal books lack...I'm not sure what it is, but it makes the book great!
  Nastasya (cool name, right?) was cool. I liked how she thought, and how her dry humor kept me smiling. She'd relate to things that aren't even being spoken of, and those 'thoughts' made each page interesting!
  I liked Reyn (rain, reign, rein?) he was...different. It was so weird to find out who he was (not till late in the book) and I was literally thinking, "Ohmygod, no way!' in a totally teenager-like way that deeply disappointed me.
  If you've read the Sweep series, then you should be familiar with all the magick that takes place in the book. I kept thinking about previous characters, the circles, and all that Wiccan stuff, so it was pretty interesting to realize that Cate kept this book a little bit in her previously made world.
  All in all, this book is sure to captivate. It may not look all too exciting (such a dull cover...) but it really is! I'm definitely awaiting the sequel; I hope it comes out soon! 4/5 stars

Bitten & Smitten

Bitten & Smitten- Michelle Rowen


Synopsis:
There’s a new vamp in town…
  Dear Mom,
I might be a wee bit late for Cousin Missy’s wedding. It’s been a tough week. Turns out, my blind date from hell was literally from hell. Guy bit me. Next thing I know, I’m being chased all over the city by vampire hunters. And did I mention that I got fired, too?
Bright side-I met a man. Thierry de Bennicoeur. How great is that name? Anyway, he’s sexy, six-hundred years old, and a tad suicidal, but no one’s perfect, right? And we have a deal-he’s gonna show me the ropes of the vampire world, and I’m supposed to help him end his existence. Or maybe I’ll just try to convince him life is worth living – no small challenge with the mostly immortal, let me tell you. I’ll admit it’s a complicated relationship. But with any luck, I just might have a date for that wedding after all…
Hugs and Kisses,
Sarah


_______________
My thoughts:
The idea of this book is what sparked my interest--A girl, on a blind date, being turned into a vamp against her will. For some reason, the plot caught my eye. But, I read the book because I've read Michelle Rowen's Demon Princess series for YA's and I loved it.
  This book wasn't much different! It was exciting and new, and I really enjoyed it! I finished it in about five hours (reading non-stop), and I thought that each page flowed smoothly and was written nicely.
  The first chapter is action packed, and I was thinking 'Wow' by the second paragraph! I don't want to give too much away, but the main character, Sarah, waking up in a grave is definitely new...and cool!

  Sarah was a funny character: always finding something to joke about in even the worse situations had me laughing out loud on numerous accounts.
  Overall, this is a very cute, fast story that should captivate fans of anything 'vampire'. I know it did me. 4/5 stars.

Saturday, October 23, 2010

Fearscape

Fearscape- Simon Holt


Synopsis:

  The Vours: evil, demonic beings that inhabit human bodies on Sorry Night, the darkest hours of the Winter Solstice.
  It's been a year since Reggie first discovered the Vours, and the Winter Solstice is approaching once again. It will be another night of unspeakable horror for those unlucky enough to be taken by the Vours, because this time, she won't be able to stop them. The Vours have imprisoned Reggie in a psychiatric hospital, where she is subjected to a daily routine of unfathomably sadistic experiments. Her life is a living Hell, but she won't give up. They attacked her brother. They killed her friend. And Reggie will never stop fighting back.






________________
My thoughts:

Fearscape was a perfect ending to an amazing trilogy.
  Like its formers, the book draws you into the strange, scary world of Simon Holt.
  The Devouring series is by far one of the best series I've read for teens--ever! I absolutely love how each
page makes your head spin with ideas, and how great the imagery is! Its phenomenal how Simon Holt can make your blood run cold and make you fear what's in your own head!
  From time-to-time while I was reading Fearscape, I just kept thinking 'It can't get much worse!' but it did, and it surprised me each and every time.
  If you're a reader of the series (because who picks up the final book without reading the others?...) then you should know what's going on. I remember finishing Solstice and feeling this strong sense of dread, and I was just wondering how the situation with the Vours could lay out in a way that's believable and possible.
  I admit, one aspect of the book made me a little disappointed (though I won't say what...), but I understand Simon Holt's reasoning for it.
  The book keeps you captivated through and through, and it doesn't give you a chance to stop--because you just want to FINISH it and find out what's going on. I picked it up and only stopped when I realized it was three a.m., and I should probably try to sleep.
  Fans of horror and suspense will love this series. And if you're an avid fan of the 'weird' (like me) I suggest you pick up the first book...NOW! and get drawn into the amazing mind of Simon Holt. 5/5 stars!!

Nightshade

Nightshade- Andrea Cremer

 
Synopsis:
  Calla Tor has always known her destiny: After graduating from the Mountain School, she'll be the mate of sexy alpha wolf Ren Laroche and fight with him, side by side, ruling their pack and guarding sacred sites for the Keepers.
  But when she violates her masters' laws by saving a beautiful human boy out for a hike, Calla begins to question her fate, her existence, and the very essence of the world she has known. By following her heart, she might lose everything— including her own life. Is forbidden love worth the ultimate sacrifice?


__________________
My thoughts:


Nightshade.
  What can I say about a book that was so freaking awesome, I had chills?
  We all must admit that the 'werewolf' concept is getting old, along with the vampire one. And if you can honestly admit this, then you are probably groaning something like "Oh god, not another Twilight spin off..." And if you are, I have to stop you, right there.
  Nightshade makes Twilight pale in comparison. I just loved how there was a world in which supernatural things are at stake, but there wasn't any vamps to kill with that stake. (ha-ha)
  Andrea Cremer has woven a tale of (for lack of a better phrase...) just plain awesomeness! Her character, Calla, is such a strong character that it's impossible not to fall in love with her! She's so...normal, despite her wolfy traits (pun intended). Readers can pretty easily relate to her situation, because of how good the author describes it! There's no room for you to stop, after reading ten pages, and wonder, "What?" that's how perfectly its written!
  I haven't seen (read) a book in a while that managed to stump even me. Nightshade kept me guessing and enthralled, wondering how Calla's world was going to unfurl.
  If you love anything relating to werewolves, or you simply want a heroine who isn't completely clueless, please, grab this book.
  I'm damn sure that I'm anxiously waiting for the sequel, Wolfsbane!
  And, last but not least, the COVER! The graphic designer in me all but swooned at this beauty. The cover is wonderfully designed, and I give props to its designer! The cover is fitting, especially the beautiful lilly! (I hate to admit it, but I do judge books by their covers sometimes...It's a good thing this one is so eyeopening; or I may've never read this awesome book!) 5/5 stars!

Friday, October 22, 2010

Past Midnight

Past Midnight- Mara Purnhagen


Synopsis:
  Let me set the record straight. My name is Charlotte Silver and I'm not one of those paranormal-obsessed freaks you see on TV…no, those would be my parents, who have their own ghost-hunting reality show. And while I'm usually roped into the behind-the-scenes work, it turns out that I haven't gone unnoticed. Something happened on my parents' research trip in Charleston—and now I'm being stalked by some truly frightening other beings. Trying to fit into a new school and keeping my parents' creepy occupation a secret from my friends—and potential boyfriends—is hard enough without having angry spirits whispering in my ear. All I ever wanted was to be normal, but with ghosts of my past and present colliding, now I just want to make it out of high school alive…




__________________
My thoughts:
I loved Past Midnight! Charlotte is such a cool character, and it's very easy to relate...Well, except that ghost follow her around, but, the book is still awesome!
  We've all seen a ghost show in some shape or form (be it Ghostbusters or Ghost Hunters...) so it's easy to imagine floating orbs and entities for this book. It's none of that 'OMG what is she saying? I don't understand!' readers can fairly easily imagine something believable, as I did.
  I really liked how the book was focused on the subject: ghosts. It wasn't completely revolved around Charlotte getting a boyfriend, nor was she a whiny, annoying character. She thought logically enough, and the author did an awesome job at describing each setting--I still have (ghost) images of Charlotte's adventures in my head for some reason...
  There isn't much I can say without giving away the book, so I think I will shut up. I recommend this book for a quick read, and for people who enjoy ghost stories. I definitely can't wait for it's sequel, One Hundred Candles!

Thursday, October 21, 2010

Where the Truth Lies

Where the Truth Lies- Jessica Warman


Synopsis-
  On the surface, Emily Meckler leads the perfect life. She has three best friends, two loving parents, and the ideal setup at the Connecticut prep school where her father is the headmaster. But Emily also suffers from devastating nightmares about fire and water, and nobody knows why. Then the enigmatic Del Sugar enters her life, and Emily is immediately swept away—but her passionate relationship with Del is just the first of many things that aren't quite what they seem in Emily's life. As the lies she's been told start to unravel, Emily must set out to discover the truth regarding her nightmare; on a journey that will lead her to question everything she thought she knew about love, family, and her own idyllic past.




__________________
My thoughts:
Where do I start?
  So much about this book made me angry and literally sigh in frustration. I can't even remember what about this book's description drew me into it enough to put it on my 'To Read' list in the first place.
  For starters, in the first part of the book (there are three) Emily meets Del--knows nothing about him!--and their first kiss is literally on page 60. Stupid, right? If you're like me, you believe in character development before anything changes. And really, readers learn little, if anything, about Del.
  Second thing: Emily gets herself pregnant by page 112. WTF? That's just stupid, in my opinion. Thus begins Part Two, which is just completely stupid and will probably make you want to slam your head into the wall, like it did me. Emily is so naive that she doesn't see signs of Del's drug use, they have protection-less sex, and she's just one of the most clueless characters I've ever been introduced to in a book. She was like...stupid beyond stupid.
  The entire 'summer' in the book spans one chapter. And in this summer, Emily "hides" her kid, gives birth to it, and puts it up for adoption. Yea, like someone's parents are going to let their daughter run off to New York with a girl who is, in my opinion, shady, and not even notice she's pregnant? How freaking unrealistic is that?
  Another thing, what was with the cuddling? Emily and her roommates are always cuddling, which is really weird. Okay, it’s normal to cuddle with someone you're dating, but a roommate or best friend? Really sick, if you ask me. I also had a hard time figuring out why in the world Stephanie (Emily's BFF) was so...obsessed with her twin brother. It actually sickened me how weird this character was.
  The whole book made me want to...I don't know, rip it in half? And the only reason I really finished it, was so I could write a review that told what happened. So, obviously, I'm not suggesting this book to anyone who believes in...well, normal situations and believable characters.
  I have never read any of the author's other books, and really, I don't think I ever will. (Sorry for the hateful review...but if anything, I always speak my mind.) 1/5 stars.

Monday, October 18, 2010

Nevermore

Nevermore- Kelly Creagh


Synopsis:
  Cheerleader Isobel Lanley is horrified when she is paired with Varen Nethers for an English project, which is due—so unfair—on the day of the rival game. Cold and aloof, sardonic and sharp-tongued, Varen makes it clear he’d rather not have anything to do with her either. But when Isobel discovers strange writing in his journal, she can’t help but give this enigmatic boy with the piercing eyes another look.
  Soon, Isobel finds herself making excuses to be with Varen. Steadily pulled away from her friends and her possessive boyfriend, Isobel ventures deeper and deeper into the dream world Varen has created through the pages of his notebook, a realm where the terrifying stories of Edgar Allan Poe come to life.
  As her world begins to unravel around her, Isobel discovers that dreams, like words, hold more power than she ever imagined, and that the most frightening realities are those of the mind. Now she must find a way to reach Varen before he is consumed by the shadows of his own nightmares.
  His life depends on it.


_____________
My thoughts:
  How do I accurately describe a book to you that is so good it surpasses all expectations, and all of the books that I've read recently? Well, Nevermore is that book. It's the kind of book that draws you in, and refuses to let go--well, at least not until you finish it.
  When I picked it up, I thought 'Okay, goth meets cheerleader...can't be good'. But, I got a story I didn't expect. Kelly Creagh managed to, somehow, make the story not only interesting, but also freaky and heartwarming (rare aspects, nowadays, I think). The way she wove all of the Poe stories/poems into the book was awesome. I've never seen anything else like it, how you could read a small excerpt and be like 'Holy crap, this is perfect for this!'
  Isobel and Varen are such totally different characters (from totally different worlds...), that grasping onto the idea of them together is a little hard. But I'd say that their differences are what makes the book so damn likable.
  Each turn of the page makes your mind whir, trying to conjure up a new image that's fitting. I must say, your brain will get a workout! At times, there are pages that you just can't imagine up an image, without causing a headache...that's how awesome it is.
  I loved the concept: Goth, Cheerleader, Poe, and I was definitely drawn in. I read over one hundred pages in the first sitting--and finished it entirely by the second. The book is lengthy, but not one page drones on.
  I was...left with a feeling of melancholy with the ending. I didn't see it coming, and I'm pretty sure I gasped when I figured it out.
  I'm definitely waiting, (albeit not to patiently) for the sequel.

Wednesday, October 13, 2010

Elixir

Elixir- Hilary Duff


Synopsis:
As the daughter of a renowned surgeon and a prominent Washington D.C. politician, Clea Raymond has felt the glare of the spotlight her entire life. And though she dreads the paparazzi who track her every move, she herself is a talented photojournalist who takes refuge in a career that allows her to travel to the most exotic parts of the world.
  But after Clea’s father disappears while on a humanitarian mission, eerie, shadowy images of a strange and beautiful young man begin to appear in Clea’s photos—a man she has never seen in her life.
  When Clea suddenly encounters this man in person she is stunned—and feels an immediate and powerful connection. As they grow closer, they are drawn deep into the mystery behind her father’s disappearance and discover the centuries-old truth behind their intense bond.
  Torn by a dangerous love triangle and haunted by a powerful secret that holds their fate, together they race against time to unravel their past in order to save their future—and their lives.


_______________
My thoughts:
When you think of Hilary Duff, you automatically think 'Lizzie McGuire', right? So, it's probably weird for you to think that she's written a book--well, at least, I did.
  Elixir was captivating, and not anything that I'd imagine Hilary Duff could write. I'm not dissing her, but it's just that I thought this would be some stupid story about a snobby-rich girl. True, the main character, Clea, was rich, but I didn't get the sense that she was snobby at all. 
  She was a pretty cool protagonist, and I liked her rational-way of thinking. To be honest, she thought things out more thoroughly than I would have! Me, I would have jumped and freaked at just about every turn of events (I mean, taking a snapshot of your room and seeing some strange dude standing in your closet would have me screaming like a banshee and running out of the house).
  True, the story line kind of reminded me of Alyson Noel’s Immortals series a little bit, but I filed all my negative comments away, in order to stop comparing all the characters.
  The book was entrancing, and I finished it in under a day. I enjoyed it through-and-through, and although the ending is a little disappointing, I think there is going to be a second one in the near future (although I can't find any information on it...yet).
  I suggest that every person who likes strange tales of love give this book a try. Set aside your views/opinions on the new author, and give her a shot (without envisioning Lizzie Maguire’s little animated character writing this book on an overly-sized computer). 4/5 Stars

Tuesday, October 12, 2010

Venom

Venom- Jennifer Estep


Synopsis:
What kind of assassin works pro bono?
  It’s hard to be a badass assassin when a giant is beating the crap out of you. Luckily, I never let pride get in the way of my work. My current mission is personal: annihilate Mab Monroe, the Fire elemental who murdered my family. Which means protecting my identity, even if I have to conceal my powerful Stone and Ice magic when I need it most. To the public, I’m Gin Blanco, owner of Ashland’s best barbecue joint. To my friends, I’m the Spider, retired assassin. I still do favors on the side. Like ridding a vampire friend of her oversized stalker—Mab’s right-hand goon who almost got me dead with his massive fists. At least irresistible Owen Grayson is on my side. The man knows too much about me, but I’ll take my chances. Then there’s Detective Bria Coolidge, one of Ashland’s finest. Until recently, I thought my baby sister was dead. She probably thinks the same about me. Little does she know, I’m a cold-blooded killer . . . who is about to save her life.


________________
My thoughts:
  Finally! That's the exact thought that was in my head when I got my greedy little hands on this book. I'm a faithful reader of the Elemental Assassin novels, and Venom was one awesome addition!
  I couldn't wait to start Venom, and when I did, I wasn't disappointed. This book includes all of the action of its formers, but with just a bit more of a kick. I thought that this one was a little better than the last, since that idiot Donovan Caine was gone. I loved Owen! He was so much different than Donnovan--and he understands Gin (he wasn't constantly judging her, either).
  I liked the element of the book; the idea of it. Gin protecting her vampy friend was interesting, but I still kept thinking how much I wanted her to finally get her hands on Mab Monroe and finish this battle. Throughtout the book, there's a few characters from the other books that get built on. Learning more about side-characters is always interesting, no matter what you may think; and you'll find yourself rooting for them.
  Venom didn't have as many 'love scenes' as the other two, but the romantic level is totally different between Gion and Owen and Gin and Donovan. I liked how the book was focused on the plot, and not romancing it up.
  Gin was just as kickass, awesome, and resilient as before, and it amazes me how Jennifer Estep can make her readers feel adrenaline rushes along with Gin. Its rare that I can find a series that raptures me in longer than the first book. I must say, I'm dying to read the next one.

Demon Princess: Reign or Shine

Reign or Shine- Michelle Rowen


Synopsis:
As if trying to fit in at a new school isn't stressful enough, sixteen-year-old Nikki Donovan just found out that her long-lost father is, in fact, the demon king of the Shadowlands—the world that separates and protects us from the Underworld. When she is brought there by the mysterious—and surprisingly cute—messenger Michael, she learns that her father is dying, and he wants her to assume the throne. To complicate matters, a war is brewing between the Shadowlands and the Underworld, her half-demon qualities are manifesting, and her growing feelings for Michael are completely forbidden. Ruling a kingdom, navigating a secret crush, and still making it home by curfew—what's a teenage demon princess to do?




______________________
My thoughts:
  When I got this book, admittedly, I was excited to read it. I'd read the synopsis on Goodreads, and I was thinking how great of a book it was going to be. And, unsurprisingly, it was.
  The aspect of the story wasn't anything new--I've read tons of demon-related books this past year, but I have to say that this was one that I rank in the 'best' list. I liked Nikki; she was funny, and she thought logically. She wasn't irrational (cough; cough, Bella Swan), and her feelings were relatable and believable.
  Michael was interesting: not your normal arrogant a**hole that seems to take the lead in a lot of popular YA novels. And the other characters were well developed. I did figure out what was going on pretty easily (with Nikki's dad and aunt), so I wasn't surprised with the ending. But everything played out nicely, and I give props to the author, for having witty dialog and great writing skills. 
  The cover is a little flashy--so bright I feel kind of dizzy just looking at it, and it could have been a better representation of the book itself (not just Nikki).
  If you like books that are quick, easy to understand, and include: demons, cute boys & mystery, then this is the book for you. 4/5 stars

Thursday, October 7, 2010

Forgive My Fins

Forgive My Fins- Tera Lynn Childs


Synopsis:
  Lily Sanderson has a secret, and it's not that she has a huge crush on gorgeous swimming god Brody Bennett, who makes her heart beat flipper-fast. Unrequited love is hard enough when you're a normal teenage girl, but when you're half human, half mermaid, like Lily, there's no such thing as a simple crush.
  Lily's mermaid identity is a secret that can't get out, since she's not just any mermaid—she's a Thalassinian princess. When Lily found out three years ago that her mother was actually a human, she finally realized why she didn't feel quite at home in Thalassinia, and she's been living on land and going to Seaview High School ever since, hoping to find where she truly belongs. Sure, land has its problems—like her obnoxious biker-boy neighbor, Quince Fletcher—but it has that one major perk: Brody. The problem is, mermaids aren't really the casual dating type—the instant they "bond," it's for life.
  When Lily's attempt to win Brody's love leads to a tsunami-sized case of mistaken identity, she is in for a tidal wave of relationship drama, and she finds out, quick as a tailfin flick, that happily ever after never sails quite as smoothly as you planned.


___________________________________
My Thoughts:
This book is perfect if you like the Little Mermaid. Me? I don't like that movie, nor do I like the idea of a chick with a fin. It's weird, but I do appreciate and give kudos to Tera Lynn Childs for coming up with something original. Too many books are of the same concept, and its refreshing to read about a new world that no one has probably thought about since they were eight.
  Lily is basically obsessed with this Brody guy, and she knows absolutely nothing about him--aside from the fact that he loves water like her. And I have to admit to hating how weird Lily was when thinking of Brody. Like Quince says somewhere in the book, it's shallow for her to think that Brody is going to be her knight-in-shining-fins.
  I liked Quince (the next-door neighbor), even though he comes off as a weirdo pervert in the beginning of the book. He brought the laughs--not that Lily wasn't funny, because she was. Her thinking-process alone is laughable, and her use of underwater words were different from how teens normally use swear words.
  There was some terminology that I had a hard time grasping, and imagining an underworld kingdom was kind of difficult, because I kept thinking 'This is so stupid!' But if you just stop your mind from judging, and just read, then you should breeze though this short book. (Well, short in my opinion. Most books I read are at least 300 pages)
  So, I liked it, and 3/5 stars seems appropriate. (I can't guarantee though that I will read its sequel, Fins Are Forever, which drops in June 2011)

Wednesday, October 6, 2010

Firelight

Firelight- Sophie Jordan


Synopsis:
A hidden truth.
Mortal enemies.
Doomed love.
  Marked as special at an early age, Jacinda knows her every move is watched. But she longs for freedom to make her own choices. When she breaks the most sacred tenet among her kind, she nearly pays with her life. Until a beautiful stranger saves her. A stranger who was sent to hunt those like her. For Jacinda is a draki—a descendant of dragons whose greatest defense is her secret ability to shift into human form.
  Forced to flee into the mortal world with her family, Jacinda struggles to adapt to her new surroundings. The only bright light is Will. Gorgeous, elusive Will who stirs her inner draki to life. Although she is irresistibly drawn to him, Jacinda knows Will's dark secret: He and his family are hunters. She should avoid him at all costs. But her inner draki is slowly slipping away—if it dies she will be left as a human forever. She'll do anything to prevent that. Even if it means getting closer to her most dangerous enemy.
  Mythical powers and breathtaking romance ignite in this story of a girl who defies all expectations and whose love crosses an ancient divide.


________________________________________________
My thoughts:
The most remarkable thing about this book is the cover. I absolutely love how the 'draki' scales were incorporated onto the image. Unlike most covers nowadays, this one looks like it was actually made not on a time crunch and by someone who knows what the hell they're doing. (but that's just the graphic designer in me talking.)
  I liked the book. I even went as far as to give it 5/5 stars on Goodreads. But, like so many other readers, I was finding Twilight-like relations throughout the whole book. Something about how Will looks at her, and all this other stuff.
  I was really annoyed with the very beginning of the whole "Jacinda-and-Will" thing. She acted completely out of character all the time. She was thinking things that made my eyes roll. (Jacinda, you had TWO CONVERSATIONS with the boy, believe me, you aren't in love!) It got so annoying at one point that I almost bashed my own head in with the book.
  But, once I put aside my criticism, I liked the book. I liked how Jacinda wasn't a freakin' vampire or faerie. She was something that even I, a sci-fi lover, had a hard time imagining her as. I still can't figure out how big a damn draki would be, or how Jacinda and the other draki's look. I liked how she could breathe fire; *Spoiler!* it was kinda awesome that she burned a pack of crazed cheerleaders when they jumped her in the bathroom. I wish I had that talent--not that I've ever been jumped by a pack of cheerleaders or anything.
  The ending of the book was another shocker. I was gaping by the time I closed the book and set my little eyes on the acknowledgements page. I definitely can't wait for the next one, and I'm hoping it's like this one, and not short of action.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...