Saturday, March 26, 2011

Stay

Stay- Deb Caletti


Synopsis:
Clara’s relationship with Christian is intense from the start, and like nothing she’s ever experienced before. But what starts as devotion quickly becomes obsession, and it’s almost too late before Clara realizes how far gone Christian is—and what he’s willing to do to make her stay.
  Now Clara has left the city—and Christian—behind. No one back home has any idea where she is, but she still struggles to shake off her fear. She knows Christian won’t let her go that easily, and that no matter how far she runs, it may not be far enough....


____________________
My thoughts:
Always a fan of Caletti, I was super excited to start Stay. Not only is the premise behind it so different than anything Caletti has written before, but because of that difference, I think it made the novel so much better. I really really really liked how it wasn’t the normal teenage stuff that Caletti normally writes about. This book made me think that she stepped out of her comfort zone, and allowed readers into a different side of her. And I must say this is my favorite Caletti novel so far! (Some of her books seem to have too many words crammed into them, but Stay is so different)
  A fresh, (not really new) but definitely different story from Caletti, Stay follows Clara, an eighteen-year-old high school graduate who’s on the run with her writer father from an abusive and obsessive boyfriend. I know what you’re thinking: so totally Lifetime. It’s not. Believe me when I say that I wouldn’t have read it and rated it so high if I didn’t believe that this was a book that was not to be passed up. If you’re a fan of reading about women finding themselves and starting fresh, then I think that adults and teens will both enjoy reading this book. It’s a book that I can totally see discussing with my mother, but also a book that I’ve already discussed and recommended to all of my friends.
  I didn’t really like how the book was written in alternating chapters between past and present. I like it better when authors just write all of it down in like, a few continuous chapters. So this book is laid out, I guess, in ‘memory’ format. The main character remembers her past (telling the reader) and then lives her present, trying to stay the heck outta sight of Christian, the boyfriend.
  I remember thinking a few times, ‘Oh, c’mon…and you STAYED with that dude?’ (*SPOILER*)But I also vividly remember feeling how tormented I felt when Christian started calling Clara. I was so worried that he had found her, and I was scared for Clara. I really wanted to jump into the book and slap the dumb out of that boy. (And somewhat out of Clara for always doing the clichĂ© thing and forgiving him in the Past chapters). When Christian found her, I was so freaking pissed. I couldn’t believe the gall of that guy, finding her and going there to confront her! Dude, really. Get a life!
  Finn was definitely that light in the bay, something that Clara totally wasn’t expecting was a romance while in hiding. It was a slow-going romance, but that’s what made it so cute! Clara was very guarded, sometimes expecting Finn to get angry when she didn’t keep her eyes riveted to his every moment that they were together. When Clara realizes that Finn is so NOT Christian, she loosens up, allows Finn in her life, and you really get to see Clara being…well…smart and herself. Someone totally different than who she was with Christian.
  Definitely loved the novel, as always, I loved the writing, and I was sad to see it end. But at least the ending was perfect! *5/5 stars (This book releases on April 19)

Thursday, March 24, 2011

Yesterday, I got a few more awesome books from my library. Only took about 2 weeks for them to get them in, but hey, whatever. Here's the (albeit small) list:
  • What's a Ghoul to Do? - Victoria Laurie
  • This Side of the Grave - Jeaniene Frost (YAY! CAT AND BONES!)
  • Killer Insight - Victoria Laurie
  • Betrayal (A Haunting Emma Novel) - Lee Nichols
So, so, so excited about the Jeaniene Frost and Lee Nichols ones. But I'm still waiting to read a bunch of other 'new' books that have been sitting in my TBR basket for the last month. Including the new Lauren Oliver book, and a few others like The Iron Witch & The Iron Thorn :D

Saturday, March 19, 2011

Cover/Title Reveal: ENSHADOWED- Kelly Creagh


  SO, if you read my blog, you should know that NEVERMORE (review is posted) was definitely one of my favorite novels of 2010. I was just browsing Goodreads, and seen that someone had marked this 'to-read'. I, too, had it marked, but I last time I seen it, it was still under "Untitled". Wellll, here's the cover, and title, of Kelly Creagh's (sure to be) awesome sequel to Nevermore. The cover is obviously above, and if for some reason you can't read the title on there or in the headline, the title is ENSHADOWED. (Which, hey, is totally perfect for the world I'm imagining that Miss Creagh throws you in at the end of Nevermore!)
  Beautiful, beautiful; I LOVE THAT COVER. It's still fitting to the last one. Some books are so drastically different than their formers. But the goth/and the blonde-chick theme is so perfect (since that's um...THE POINT OF THE MAIN CHARACTERS).

Wednesday, March 16, 2011

Cover Reveal: Crossed- Ally Condie


OMG. Have you ever seen something that's so freaking plain and AWESOME?! NO YOU HAVEN'T. Okay, whoever did this cover, MUST MUST MUST get a hold of me. You need proper praise. Freaking awesome. I can't get over how cool this is. Much cooler than the last!
  And you ask: "Sierra, how is this cool?" To which I reply: "LOOK AT IT! That shattered-orb of awesome explains why it's awesome!" Duh! ;)

Saturday, March 12, 2011

Wither

Wither- Lauren DeStefano


Synopsis:
By age sixteen, Rhine Ellery has four years left to live. She can thank modern science for this genetic time bomb. A botched effort to create a perfect race has left all males with a lifespan of 25 years, and females with a lifespan of 20 years. Geneticists are seeking a miracle antidote to restore the human race, desperate orphans crowd the population, crime and poverty have skyrocketed, and young girls are being kidnapped and sold as polygamous brides to bear more children.
  When Rhine is kidnapped and sold as a bride, she vows to do all she can to escape. Her husband, Linden, is hopelessly in love with her, and Rhine can’t bring herself to hate him as much as she’d like to. He opens her to a magical world of wealth and illusion she never thought existed, and it almost makes it possible to ignore the clock ticking away her short life. But Rhine quickly learns that not everything in her new husband’s strange world is what it seems. Her father-in-law, an eccentric doctor bent on finding the antidote, is hoarding corpses in the basement. Her fellow sister wives are to be trusted one day and feared the next, and Rhine is desperate to communicate to her twin brother that she is safe and alive. Will Rhine be able to escape--before her time runs out?


__________________
My thoughts:
Wither is just another one of those novels. You know, the ones that make your thoughts and mind spin from the total awesomeness of it? Yea, unquestionably one of those!
  If there is one dystopian novel to read this year, I definitely think that Wither is the one to read. With the influx of all these vampire romances and cookie-cutter teen books, Wither stands alone in its own category…I call it: AMAZING. (Genius title, right?)
  There isn’t a character, page, or sentence that didn’t make me love this book more. C’mon; forced into marriage with two sister-wives and finding solace in a servant in the home you are forced into? What more can you freaking ask for?
  Of course, everyone is puzzled by the concept of ‘sister-wives’ and I like how this author really explores each side of the wives. We get to know them, even though the book is in Rhine’s POV. I really do feel that you get to know each of the characters well, and it isn’t all focused on one thing…Well, it is…but not in the sense that the entire book is about just one thing. At every moment, it’s like tons of things going on at once…It’s almost impossible to put the book down.
  The main character, Rhine, is one of those characters who isn’t shallow, trivial, nor is she empty-minded. (Without giving too much away,) Rhine spends the entire novel thoughtfully constructing means of escape. Me? I would have jumped from a window, ran, and seen where it took me. So, Rhine is so clear-headed when it comes to thinking. She thoroughly examines every possible way, and she doesn’t jump into things (maybe once in the novel did I want to slap her, but we worked it out).
  I think that I really liked this book mainly because (that I know of) there isn’t another teen book that includes a sister marriage, surreptitious romance, and a weird-husband-with-an-even-weirder-father. Seriously, people, this book has all of the weird concepts (that you probably normally wouldn’t consider) that you can imagine.
  And, unlike most debuts, it’s not written flimsy-like! It actually reads pretty well, and there are very few mistakes that I found.
  The ending is something else to think about. While I liked it (any book with a cliff-hanger or weird ending is my kind of book), I just keep thinking about all the things that could possibly go wrong. But that’s a good thing! Since there are going to be more books, in which the author can clear up all of my worries (I hope…).
  To conclude: the book was craftily written, and definitely deserves a chance with anyone who loves dystopian and YA novels. *4/5 stars

Tuesday, March 8, 2011

XVI

XVI- Julia Karr


Synopsis:
Nina Oberon's life is pretty normal: she hangs out with her best friend, Sandy, and their crew, goes to school, plays with her little sister, Dee. But Nina is 15. And like all girls she'll receive a Governing Council–ordered tattoo on her 16th birthday. XVI. Those three letters will be branded on her wrist, announcing to all the world–even the most predatory of men–that she is ready for sex. Considered easy prey by some, portrayed by the Media as sluts who ask for attacks, becoming a "sex-teen" is Nina’s worst fear. That is, until right before her birthday, when Nina’s mom is brutally attacked. With her dying breaths, she reveals to Nina a shocking truth about her past–one that destroys everything Nina thought she knew. Now, alone but for her sister, Nina must try to discover who she really is, all the while staying one step ahead of her mother's killer.


________________
My thoughts:
This book had a lot of promise for me. After reading the synopsis, I wanted to read this book immediately. The premise sounded great and new and it sounded like something I would definitely remember and love. But, I held off reading it for a few days ‘good things come for those who wait’ and all, but the book, in conclusion, wasn’t something I would want to read again. It goes slow, and some chapters/pages could definitely have been canceled from the script.
  Being XVI (16) means that girls in this novel are marked—or more accurately, inked—with their age on display for anyone who cares. The teens are led to believe that they will be more respected and adored with this age, but really it just lets people know that you are the age at which they can have their way with you.
  The main character, Nina, has very strong views, and I did feel that she was a stable character. But, she was also whiney and slightly annoying with her ‘OMG-I-can’t-turn-sixteen-because-my-life-will-end!’ outlook that really made me roll my eyes and wonder where the book was going.
  Sandy, Nina’s best friend, was nice at the beginning, but then she turned into a hormone-raving-mad teenager that really makes me snort with laughter. So, that was nice, to have something to laugh at since the entire book is so damn serious. Even when Nina was hanging out with Sal, every moment was plagued by the constant thought of what was to come.
  Even after the death of her mother, Nina really didn’t seem to be so emotional. I get that she was trying to be strong for her little sister, but hey, we all have to grieve, and I just felt that Nina accepted it too easily. True, she spends nearly the entire book trying to catch her mother’s killer, but a good cry now and then may’ve helped loosen up this high-strung character.
  I won’t lie, I liked the book; key word being ‘liked’. I didn’t find it memorable, I didn’t connect with the characters, and I didn’t feel the need to even finish it. But I did, and I must say the ending was nice. I liked what happened, and it definitely left me wondering if there will be a second one or not. The author definitely left room for more story, but I don’t think that this reader will be reading it. *3/5 stars

Friday, March 4, 2011

Across the Universe

Across the Universe- Beth Revis


Synopsis:
A love out of time. A spaceship built of secrets and murder.
  Seventeen-year-old Amy joins her parents as frozen cargo aboard the vast spaceship Godspeed and expects to awaken on a new planet, three hundred years in the future. Never could she have known that her frozen slumber would come to an end fifty years too soon and that she would be thrust into the brave new world of a spaceship that lives by its own rules.
  Amy quickly realizes that her awakening was no mere computer malfunction. Someone-one of the few thousand inhabitants of the spaceship-tried to kill her. And if Amy doesn't do something soon, her parents will be next.
  Now Amy must race to unlock Godspeed's hidden secrets. But out of her list of murder suspects, there's only one who matters: Elder, the future leader of the ship and the love she could never have seen coming.


_________________
My thoughts;
I freaking LOVED this book.
  Beth Revis redefines dystopian novel. Not only was the idea of the book just so brilliant, but I honestly loved everything that happened. Not once did I consider putting the book down. (And hey, perks: one of my favorite Beatles songs is the title…how cool is that?)
  Amy is a really cool, clueless-without-being-clueless character that I definitely loved. But, what I think was what drew me into the book was that it was about space. I’ve always had a weird fascination with anything weird (make sense?)—and freezing people only to unfreeze them three centuries later is definitely my kind of weird.
  Amy, while being interesting and my favorite character could have had more foundation to her life. I mean, we all know what Earth looks like—I don’t need her takes on how green the grass and how wide and blue the sky is. I want real things that I don’t know…for some reason I just felt she wasn’t solid; so that’s one of my only complaints.
  I didn’t like Eldest. He was a jerky, megalomaniac brat that pissed me off on more than one occasion. Elder on the other hand was another favorite character of mine.
  There’s a murder mystery, interwoven beautifully with a little bit of romance and all things weird-and-freaky that really makes this book stand out in today’s standard of YA novel, so if any of those genres interests you, you should definitely give this a go.
  And c’mon, admit it, the cover is gorgeous! It definitely draws your eye at the store, and makes you wonder ‘hmm…what’s that?’ so the author gets extra points for such a lovely cover.
  I really can’t wait for the next one: I’m dying here, imagining what might possibly happen! *4/5 stars

Wednesday, March 2, 2011

I just saw...


And I have never, in my life of books, seen a movie SO MUCH LIKE THE BOOK as was this. Gave me chills, how easily I knew what was around every corner. One major thing that was changed that made me kinda angry, was that Henry (John's father in the movie) was killed off earlier than in the book. C'mon! I love Timothy Olyphant, even more than I do Alex Pettyfer, and I was sad to see him go. :(
  I really liked the added Six parts. Seeing her basically covering Four's (John's) ass by burning his house made me kinda happy. Her character, is awesome. I totally can't wait for The Power of Six...(Does anybody know if all of the books have been optioned/signed for movies?) The book and film ended in a nice cliffhanger.
  Oh, and THE MUSIC ROCKED. I heard some Adele, The Black Keys, possibly some 30 Seconds to Mars? Awesome.
  Book to movie rating: 4/5.
  Character relations: 3/5 (John...hmm...)
  Overall: 4.5/5 (LOVED IT!)

  Oh, and I know I'm a little late, but HAPPY BIRTHDAY, JULIE. Sorry. I was busy making your cupcakes & brownies to post a blog. I'm glad you loved I Am Number Four...even though you were skeptical when I told you Four was from another planet...

Cover Reveal: The Pledge- Kimberly Derting


One of the most awesome, and beautiful covers I've ever seen! (I must admit though, I had no idea about this book until the author posted the image on her blog and it showed up on my Blogger dash.) Derting's THE BODY FINDER series is freaking epic, so I can't wait for this one! It drops on November 15 of this year :)
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...