Saturday, April 30, 2011

Shift

Shift- Jeri Smith-Ready


Synopsis:
Aura’s life is anything but easy. Her boyfriend, Logan, died, and his slides between ghost and shade have left her reeling. Aura knows he needs her now more than ever. She loves Logan, but she can’t deny her connection with the totally supportive, totally gorgeous Zachary. And she’s not sure that she wants to.
  Logan and Zachary will fight to be the one by her side, but Aura needs them both to uncover the mystery of her past—the mystery of the Shift.
  As Aura’s search uncovers new truths, she must decide whom to trust with her secrets…and her heart.




_____________________
My thoughts:
If you've read Shade, Shift's predecessor, then you know what's going on. You know that (*SPOLIER*) Logan is dealing with shading-out and basically becoming a not-so-nice ghost at some points. You know that Aura, the MC, is dealing with her feelings for losing her first love and best friend, and now the arrival of a certain Scotsman. And you know that, while Aura is the suspected start of this whole ghost-seeing phenomenon, Zachary (the Scottish dude who sometimes wears kilts) is the suspected end of said phenomenon. They're complete opposites, and hell, when you get a little over a hundred pages in, you'll understand what I mean. (*END SPOILER*)
  I don't want to spoil the book for anyone, so I'll make this as vague as I can! (I'll mark all spoilers—if there are any—so please, tread at your own risk!)
  I really, really, enjoyed Shift. Maybe even more than Shade, since we don't have to learn all about the ghosts and the shading and all that jazz. We get to see Aura being Aura, Logan being Logan, and of course (my favorite!), Zachary being his cute Zachary-self.
  My only real complaint about the sequel is that we, again, must hear Aura whine. I know, I know, I would be just like her too if my first love up and died and came back and…haunted me. (But it's not really haunting, is it, with the haunter whispering I love yous at every chance he gets, now is it?) Anyways, I was sick of hearing about how she missed him in this case, and then was all over Zach in the next instance.
  Aura's also super-forgiving. (It gets annoying, when she does it for like, everything.) I don't know, maybe this is her fatal flaw? Sometimes, I wanted to close the book and be done with it. But, my love for Shade made me continue.
  *SPOILER* If you're reading this, it's because you want to know something secret, aye? Well, another thing that kinda grossed me out was...Aura's prom date (ah-ha, and you thought I'd mention him!) and what she did with him. (Dude, get your mind out of the gutter...it's not nearly as bad as it sounds!). Oh, and even though I like Zach dearly, he was a total jerk at times, and I definitely wanted to hit him with a book. *END SPOILER*
  As always, I enjoy the author's insight on music. Her adult series is the same way, and being the obsessive music junkie that I am, I always appreciate someone who appreciates music like Jeri Smith-Ready does. I know I saw mention of some of today's hottest new artists, and this author definitely gets cool points from me because of it.
  All in all, Shade was a fabulous book, despite my complaints. I really hope that the author DOES NOT write another book because of the ending of this one. It was perfect and bittersweet, and I was smiling a little (the last line is so perfect...really) as the pages got smaller and smaller.
  I would definitely recommend this to fans of Shade, anyone who likes a good mystery/ghost story/romance-on-the-rise, or just anyone who likes YA! Really, if you are picking this up without having read Shade, I don't suggest it. There are very few cases when Aura "remembers" from the other book, and you'll definitely be left wondering. This also isn't really a "light read" at little under 400 pages, there's a lot of stuff going on.
  One more spoiler to end this with: (*SPOILER*) Ahh, I loved Zach again at the end! But the kilt...definitely brightened my day! (*END SPOLIER*) Okay, that's it. I promise.

Friday, April 29, 2011

Better late then never, eh?
The April Galley Grab Newsletter went out at around 5 p.m. tonight. I just got it though, since I honestly don't sit on my computer for longer than like, two hours a day (total). Here's MY list (meaning the ones I'm going to read--bolded--and the ones that I maybe will read--not bolded). Unfortunately, some of them expire Monday, and while I can read a 500+ page book in a day, I just don't like to. So I'll probably end up getting most of the books in this month's letter at the library. Then, another one of the books I wanted had the same link as some other book below it. Damn, and I wanted that one! :(


Ordinary Beauty by Laura Wiess (can't believe it! Wiess is one of my favs!)
The Day Before- Lisa Schroeder
Eye of the Moon by Dianne Hofmeyr
Groundswell by Katie Lee
Jersey Law by Ron Liebman
More Than Meets the Eye by Michelle Janine Robinson
Possession by Elana Johnson
The Mermaid Garden by Santa Montefiore
Tigerlily's Orchids by Ruth Rendell

Wednesday, April 20, 2011

The Iron Queen

The Iron Queen- Julie Kagawa


Synopsis:
My name is Meghan Chase.
I thought it was over. That my time with the fey, the impossible choices I had to make, the sacrifices of those I loved, was behind me. But a storm is approaching, an army of Iron fey that will drag me back, kicking and screaming. Drag me away from the banished prince who's sworn to stand by my side. Drag me into the core of conflict so powerful, I'm not sure anyone can survive it.
This time, there will be no turning back.


______________
My thoughts:
Seeing as how all the books in Kagawa’s Iron Fey series are epically awesome, I had absolutely no doubt that the latest edition; The Iron Queen would follow in their footsteps. And, (pardon my totally weird expression) by golly, it did!
  If you’re a reader of the series, there is no way you cannot love the characters. They are so alluring, fresh, and real in their own ways, that it’s sometimes uncanny how much a person (um, me) can relate to them.
  Another thing that I really can’t get over: the Fey Realms in the books are so beautifully described that, even hours after setting the book down or aside, I had images in my mind and words floating around. I just wanted to know what was going to happen! Sometimes, I had to get out of bed at two a.m. just to finish another chapter (if that’s not how you know a book is good, I don’t know what the heck is).
  Julie Kagawa does a very nice job at describing things (um, I just said that, but I’m not done!) you could, probably, describe a fictional character in a hundred different ways. Each author probably has their own personal ways, and I must say that I love Julie’s voice! I like how she gives such detailed information. Normally, I might say that this was unnecessary information, but when an author creates their own ‘book world’ it is really crucial to describe things.
  Now that I’m done raving on the author, let me get to the characters: Meghan is so real, not just while reading, but even now, weeks after finishing the book, I’m sitting here thinking about what she’s doing. Is she chillin’ with Grimalkin or running the heck away from knights of the Winter court? Either way, I’m thinking about her (is that weird…?).
  Ash. Aw, Ash. I could probably use a hundred different of my own ways to describe him for you, but I will allow you, the reader (you’d better be one!), to get your own opinions. Suffice to say: I love that dude. He’s so cold, hot, and awesome… (Okay, I’m freaking myself out here, sorry!)
  The ending made me cry, but that’s a totally good thing! For like, ONCE in my life I didn’t see it coming. Normally, I would be all “Damn. I totally saw that coming. PLEASE tell me that the next book will have some inkling of surprise…” And hey, you have totally weird and well described little twerps running around, a freakin’ hot romance, and um, hello a seriously hilarious cat who randomly disappears at the most vital moments. What the hell more could you ask for?!
  Can we all please take a moment to gaze fondly at the cover? SO beautiful (but maybe I’m biased…I just really like vine-y and flower-y things! Add those to a cover, and it gets my vote each time).
  Totally looking forward to the next book, THE IRON KNIGHT, because come on, as if I’m going to stop now! (You can bet your you-know-what that I’ll be at Borders the second it comes out.) Thank you thank you thank you, Julie Kagawa, for writing such a spellbinding and awesome book! (*5/5 stars)

Tuesday, April 19, 2011


Just started the third book in Adrian Phoenix's The Maker's Song series.
Just can't seem to get into it, thanks to the frequent jump-of-roles that this author uses. These books are great—you just have to have a clear mind in order to understand them.
Anyways, I just saw that my library put the new Meg Cabot book, Abandon, in transit for me…and it doesn't even come out until next Tuesday ;)

Saturday, April 16, 2011

Just finished Lauren Oliver's Delirium. (4/5 stars, btw)
which brings me to 100 books read this year alone!
I think I'm going to have to up the ante on my goal of 200--like, to 400...?

Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Library

I haven't had to make a trip in weeks. And today was no different. I did though get two AWESOME books in for me that I had on hold. They are:
  Where She Went - Gayle Forman (SOO excited to start this awesome stuff)
  The Dark and Hollow Places - Carrie Ryan (soo sad to see this series end!)

  Can't wait to read either of them. They're probably so freaking awesome! :D

Monday, April 11, 2011

Cover/Title/Description/Release Reveal: SWEAR- NINA MALKIN



SWEAR, the much anticipated (to me, at least) sequel to Nina Malkin's awesome SWOON. The cover is above, the release is on Ocotber 18 of this year, and the description is as follows: (from GR)

"A promise broken. A bond betrayed. It’s been six months since ghost-turned golem Sinclair Youngblood Powers confessed his love, stole Dice’s heart, and disappeared from Swoon, perhaps from existence. Despite the hurt, Dice has been moving steadily toward ordinary. Dreams of Sin still plague and pleasure her sleep, and the mark of Sin’s love remains on her skin, still sore. But Dice has been throwing herself into music, finding solace in song and sometimes even in the arms of her band mate, Tosh. Life seems almost…normal. The last thing Dice wants is to mess with anything remotely supernatural. But when her best friend’s boyfriend goes missing, Dice has no choice but to become very much involved. She knows that his disappearance was no accident, and it somehow has everything to do with Sin. Because Dice can feel it: Sin is back. And the promises and deceptions he left in his wake have returned to haunt him.
  What do you do when an oath of devotion threatens to destroy the one you love?"

And after the bittersweet end of Swoon, I'm dying for this!
I love the cover, and the quote: 'Some love bonds. Some love destroys.' So fitting!
Yay, Sin is back!

Sunday, April 3, 2011

Cover/Title/Description/Release Reveal: BEAUTIFUL CHAOS- Kami Garcia



Few things, which I shall list:

TITLE of the next Caster Chronicles novel by the amazing duo, Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl is; BEAUTIFUL CHAOS
THE COVER: Is, obviously above. And it's just as cool as the others! (though, the first is the best, since I love trees!)
THE RELEASE is set for: OCTOBER 18 (mark your calendars, people!)
& THE DESCRIPTION (from Goodreads) is as follows:

"Ethan Wate thought he was getting used to the strange, impossible events happening in Gatlin, his small Southern town. But now that Ethan and Lena have returned home, strange and impossible have taken on new meanings. Swarms of locusts, record-breaking heat, and devastating storms ravage Gatlin as Ethan and Lena struggle to understand the impact of Lena's Claiming. Even Lena's family of powerful Supernaturals is affected - and their abilities begin to dangerously misfire. As time passes, one question becomes clear: What - or who - will need to be sacrificed to save Gatlin?
  For Ethan, the chaos is a frightening but welcome distraction. He's being haunted in his dreams again, but this time it isn't by Lena - and whatever is haunting him is following him out of his dreams and into his everyday life. Even worse, Ethan is gradually losing pieces of himself - forgetting names, phone numbers, even memories. He doesn't know why, and most days he's too afraid to ask.
  Sometimes there isn't just one answer or one choice. Sometimes there's no going back. And this time there won't be a happy ending."


Of course, this could have been posted a month ago for all I know. I JUST NOW seen someones updated 'TBR' on my Goodreads dash and seen that in my TBR notepad, the title and release were still as "#3 unannounced" so yea.
  Hopefully, everyone cares as much as I do about this news. I feel like it takes forever for book info to release, but hey, it's not like that for everyone! I'm just a book-freak :)

Friday, April 1, 2011

Cover Reveal: RECKONING- Lili St. Crow

Image quality sucks, I know. This is from Goodreads, and I don't have Photofiltre/Photoshop on my laptop yet, so find better quality if you want. UPDATE: 5/5; GR posted a better quality image :)
  Of course, readers of the STRANGE ANGELS series are still waiting for DEFIANCE (April 19!!), but hey, who wouldn't wanna see this lovely cover? Of course, I think this is the same model, (whoever she is, she's perfect for the role of Dru!) not sure though.

The description is also on Goodreads...and for those of you who don't have one:

  "The electric finale in New York Times bestselling author Lili St. Crow’s Strange Angels series!

  "Nobody expected Dru Anderson to survive this long. Not Graves. Not Christophe. Not even Dru. She’s battled killer zombies, jealous djamphirs, and bloodthirsty suckers straight out of her worst nightmares. But now that Dru has bloomed into a fullfledged svetocha—rare, beautiful, and toxic to all vampires—the worst is yet to come. Because getting out alive is going to cost more than she’s ever imagined. And in the end, is survival really worth the sacrifice?

DRU ANDERSON’S NOT AFRAID OF THE DARK.
BUT SHE SHOULD BE."

:D
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...