Tuesday, June 28, 2011

Cover/Description Reveal: THE CALLING- Kelley Armstrong

The second in the Darkness Rising series! Here's The Calling;


Like the first, I love the simplicity! And by lightening up the girl's eyes, it gives her a creepy effect! Looks awesome! (Kind of like when that witch on Supernatural saw Castiel in a vision, and then she was blind? Her eyes were all white. So weird, and cool!)
  Here's the GR description (and this drops in April of 2012--when the date is final, I'll post it!):

"Maya Delaney’s paw-print birthmark is the sign of what she truly is—a skin-walker. She can run faster, climb higher, and see better than nearly anyone else. Experiencing intense connections with the animals that roam the woods outside her home, Maya knows it’s only a matter of time before she’s able to Shift and become one of them. And she believes there may be others in her small town with surprising talents.
  Now, Maya and her friends have been forced to flee from their homes during a forest fire they suspect was deliberately set. Then they’re kidnapped, and after a chilling helicopter crash, they find themselves in the Vancouver Island wilderness with nothing but their extraordinary abilities to help them get back home. Plentiful action and romance in this second installment in the Darkness Rising series will keep readers enthralled to the very last page!"

Monday, June 27, 2011

BLINDSIDED!
The ending of Karsten Knight's WILDEFIRE, is one seriously unforeseen twist!
You should check it out; if you like AWESOME books.
It releases July 26, 2011.
And that sequel BETTER be coming out soon!


(Oh, and quick: I just want to address my lack of reviews--I'm not done reviewing! Never fear...I'm just...waiting for a book to speak so passionately to me that I must review. Which is kind of my deal. I don't review crap books *cough, cough* anymore, so only the GREATEST books shall be reviewed from this point forward. You see, when I review, I start rambling and stuff. SO, in order for that to happen, I have to RELATE to a book in the first place. I guess I'm saying that this post's title mention is a book I don't relate to...seeing as how I'm not a god, nor do I control the fire/thunder/wind/plants/etc (as much as I want to. Seriously. Weather powers would so rock. Do you understand what you could do? Like...blow people the heck away from you when they bother you! Gah! Awesome!).
  So...um, yea. Sorry, that rambling thing I got goin' on? It needs to be adjusted promptly.

Cover/Description/Release Reveal: HALLOWED- Cynthia Hand


This is the cover to Cynthia Hand's sequel to Unearthly; titled Hallowed!
Cover thoughts: I love it! I love how it's still on-par with the other cover, and the text still looks awesome as hell! The cover girl looks like a young Natalie Portman, so bonus! The only improvement I'd do is tone that hue down a little, so that we can see the cover better. But other than that, I love it! ;)

This releases on January 24, 2012, and here is GR's description:

"For months part-angel Clara Gardner trained to face the raging forest fire from her visions and rescue the alluring and mysterious Christian Prescott from the blaze. But nothing could prepare her for the fateful decisions she would be forced to make that day, or the startling revelation that her purpose—the task she was put on earth to accomplish—is not as straightforward as she thought. Now, torn between her increasingly complicated feelings for Christian and her love for her boyfriend, Tucker, Clara struggles to make sense of what she was supposed to do the day of the fire. And, as she is drawn further into the world of part angels and the growing conflict between White Wings and Black Wings, Clara learns of the terrifying new reality that she must face: Someone close to her will die in a matter of months. With her future uncertain, the only thing Clara knows for sure is that the fire was just the beginning."


I can't wait for this! I loved Unearthly, and can't wait to see what happens with Clara and Tucker (I still hate Christian. That egotistical dummy. Watch Clara do something stupid and loose Tucker for Christian. Blah.)

Sunday, June 26, 2011

Okay, my book nerdiness is telling me to mention that the book I'm currently reading (Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini) is (nearly) 500 pages of PURE AWESOME.
  I'm not even half way done, and I'm having a sensory-overload. I love this stuff!

Wednesday, June 15, 2011

Book Update: ENSHADOWED- Kelly Creagh


A few months ago I blogged this cover, along with the title of Nevermore's sequel. Remember? Well, I have a update:

The book releases on JANUARY 24, 2012 (Update: 1.22.12) AUGUST 28, 2012!!!
It's called ENSHADOWED (I can't quit repeating it! I love it that much!)
And the description is up on Goodreads! Yay!:

"While Varen remains a prisoner in the dream-world, Isobel is haunted by his memory. He appears to her in her dreams and soon, even in her waking life. But is she just imagining it? Isobel knows she must find a way back to Varen. She makes plans to go to Baltimore. There, she confronts the figure known throughout the world as the Poe Toaster—the same dark man who once appeared to Isobel in her dreams, calling himself "Reynolds."
  Isobel succeeds in interrupting the Toaster's ritual and, in doing so, discovers a way to return to the dream-world. Soon, she finds herself swept up in a realm which not only holds remnants of Poe's presence, but has also now taken on the characteristics of Varen's innermost self. It is a dark world comprised of fear, terror, and anger.
  When Isobel once more encounters Varen, she finds him changed. With his mind poisoned by the dream world, he becomes a malevolent force, bent on destroying all—even himself. Now Isobel must face a new adversary, one who also happens to be her greatest love."


That final paragraph is enough to make me...well, more excited for this book's release! I freakin' can't WAIT!

Thursday, June 9, 2011

Cover/Description Reveal: WINGS OF THE WICKED - Courtney Allison Moulton


I like the cover. Those blades are sick!
(oh, and if for some reason you didn't know, this is the sequel to ANGELFIRE.)
The release isn't posted yet, still set as '2012' but here is the description from GR:

"Life as the Preliator is harder than Ellie ever imagined.
Balancing real life with the responsibility of being Heaven’s warrior is a challenge for Ellie. Her relationship with Will has become all business, though they both long for each other. And now that the secret of who she really is has come out, so have Hell’s strongest reapers. Grown bold and more vicious, the demonic threaten her in the light of day and stalk her in the night.

She’s been warned.
Cadan, a demonic reaper, comes to her with information about Bastian’s new plan to destroy Ellie’s soul and use an ancient relic to wake all the souls of the damned and unleash them upon humanity. As she fights to stay ahead of Bastian’s schemes , the revelations about those closest to her awaken a dark power within Ellie that threatens to destroy everything—including herself.

She’ll be betrayed.
Treachery comes even from those whom she loves, and Ellie is broken by the deaths of those who stood beside her in this Heavenly war. Still, she must find a way to save the world, herself, and her love for Will. If she fails, there will be hell to pay."

Interested, yet? Angelfire was one of my favorite reads of this year, and I can't wait for this one! :D

Saturday, June 4, 2011

Ordinary Beauty

Ordinary Beauty- Laura Wiess


Synopsis:
How can you make someone love you when they won’t?
  And what if that person happens to be your mother?
  Sayre Bellavia grew up knowing she was a mistake: unplanned and unwanted. At five months shy of eighteen, she’s become an expert in loneliness, heartache, and neglect. Her whole life she’s been cursed, used, and left behind. Swallowed a thousand tears and ignored a thousand deliberate cruelties. Sayre’s stuck by her mother through hell, tried to help her, be near her, be important to her even as her mother slipped away into a violent haze of addiction, destroying the only chance Sayre ever had for a real family.
  Now her mother is lying in a hospital bed, near death, ravaged by her own destructive behavior. And as Sayre fights her way to her mother’s bedside, she is terrified but determined to get the answer to a question no one should ever have to ask: Did my mother ever really love me? And what will Sayre do if the answer is yes?


_________________
My thoughts:
I loved this book.
  It was no surprise, really, since I've read and loved all of Laura Wiess's novels. Each one more and more powerful, heart wrenching and true that I can't believe it. At the end of each, I'm left shocked, though not surprised at the depth and trueness of them. This author has a knack for taking the gritty, dirty aspects of the real world, and shaping them into beautifully written and deep novels that stick with you, hours—days—after reading.
  Ordinary Beauty is my new favorite Wiess novel. Hell, it’s my new favorite novel. Period. It follows Sayre, a seventeen-year-old girl whose mother struggles with, and loses the battle to, drugs and alcohol. It speaks of the turmoil that a child feels when her mother neglects and ignores her, how terrible it feels when you realize, not for the first time, that your own mother doesn't love you. We follow Sayre through her battle with visiting her own mother, sick and dying in the hospital, and we struggle along with her as she comes to grips with her life as her mother so disgustingly shaped it.
  Readers are taken on a journey that's full of heartbreak, painful realizations, tears, and the whole nine yards. Wiess manages to, again, take something as common as a parent neglecting a child for their own needs, and morphing it into one of the best book's I've read this year. I can't tell you of a book I've felt more in-tune with than Ordinary Beauty. You can't help but feel Sayre's loss and pain, can't help but cry along with her, and you can't help but feel the same towards the people around her as she herself feels. Anyone who has experienced, or anyone who hasn't experienced some of the similarities in their lives will love this book. I know I did.
  Sayre, in my mind, is a real character. I don't know how Laura Wiess managed to make her so vivid a character, but she did.
  Throughout this book, I must've gone through 30 tissues—I'm a sap, when it comes to child neglect, what can I say?
  Anyone who enjoys real stories should give this one a chance.
  Oh, and being the cover-junkie I am, let me reflect on how perfect this one is. The girl looks like an actual, seventeen-year-old who has seen and faced hardships in her life. None of those beautiful cover-models. This girl looks real—and it makes the book, if possible, more relatable.



5/5 stars/ Ordinary Beauty releases on June 14, 2011
(Link and synopsis' are now from Goodreads; just letting you know!)

Wednesday, June 1, 2011

Cover Reveal: THE IRON KNIGHT- Julia Kagawa

OH. MY. FREAKING. GOD.
But in all honesty, did I expect anything LESS?!
HELL NO.
Look at that awesomeness. ;)
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...