Tuesday, July 26, 2011

I just recieved an ARC of Amy Kathleen Ryan's GLOW.
Can't wait to read this!
Just finished reading the first two issues of Richelle Mead's Dark Swan/Storm Born comic.
Read the review here.

Sunday, July 24, 2011

The Hidden

The Hidden - Jessica Verday
Releases: September 6, 2011

Synopsis:
A love that knows no bounds.
  Abbey knows that Caspian is her destiny. Theirs is a bond that transcends even death. But as Abbey finally learns the full truth about the dark fate that links her to Caspian and ties them both to the town of Sleepy Hollow, she suddenly has some very hard choices to make. Caspian may be the love of her life, but is that love worth dying for?
  Beautifully spun, emotionally gripping, and irresistibly romantic, The Hidden will leave you breathless.

__________________
My thoughts;
A fateful reader such as myself is always sad to see a series end.
  The Hollow trilogy is no exception.
  The Hidden starts right where The Haunted left off, answering some questions that we all had at the end of the second book, but leaving most unanswered until much further into the book.
  As with every end to nearly every series, this book clears a lot of those wondering questions up. I felt satisfied with the answers given, and loved this book as much as I loved the other two.
  Very little complaints coming out of my thoughts. Except...the ending. I did not like the ending, I actually thought that it was...stupid. The way Jessica Verday chose to plan out this book left me kind of angry. I don't want to spoil it for anyone, but the last two chapters just angered me. Now, nearly over a week since reading the book, I understand and accept the ending the author chose, and I realize it was for the best. Probably. Maybe.
  Abbey and Caspian were still so cute together, but Abbey was a little annoying throughout the entire book. Oh, and without spoiling it (hopefully), but when November 1st came around (if you read the series you know what I'm referring to) I was smiling throughout. Loved those chapters with a corporeal Caspian!
  The writing was still on par with the other books, as well. I like Jessica's writing style; she's down to the point without being vague and doesn't really have too much of that annoying "memory" crap that all other authors have. C'mon, if you've read the other books, do you really need an author to recap the entire previous book's contents in 10-pages-or-less? I'm glad Jessica Verday didn't do any of that.
  Listen (or read...whatever) to the description given. It's much better than this review, anyways. The book was beautifully woven and emotionally enthralling. Oh, and that irresistible romance mentioned? Definitely there. I wish I had my own Caspian. Without all those choices about life/death. That would suck.
  Oh, and the cover is gorgeous! Why though the first book featured a girl and the other two inanimate objects confuses me, but I love it all the same! Can't wait to read more by this author, since this series closed so nicely. 5/5 stars.

Friday, July 22, 2011

Gallagher Girls, Book Five

Has been announced!
Once I finished the fourth book, and I thought it was the final, I did some snooping.
This book has been months in the making, so here's the Goodreads page. Which is a big deal, to a book nerd like me.
Once the cover is final, I'll probably post it.
But here.

Oh, and it's called, Out of Sight, Out of Time. (LOVE it.) And releases on March 20 of 2012.
(oh, also, if you didn't know, this is written by the awesome Ally Carter.)

Thursday, July 21, 2011

Succubus Revealed, Chapter 1

Read the first chapter of Richelle Mead's final Georgina Kincaid novel, here.
I can't believe the series is over! I just hope there's a happy ending for Georgina and Seth.

Wednesday, July 20, 2011

Cover Reveal: Spell Bound- Rachel Hawkins


Annnnd what's a cover without a description/release?
From Goodreads,

"Just as Sophie Mercer has come to accept her extraordinary magical powers as a demon, the Prodigium Council strips them away. Now Sophie is defenseless, alone, and at the mercy of her sworn enemies—the Brannicks, a family of warrior women who hunt down the Prodigium. Or at least that’s what Sophie thinks, until she makes a surprising discovery. The Brannicks know an epic war is coming, and they believe Sophie is the only one powerful enough to stop the world from ending. But without her magic, Sophie isn’t as confident.
  Sophie’s bound for one hell of a ride—can she get her powers back before it’s too late?"

This releases on March 13 of 2012.

Friday, July 15, 2011

First for everything, right?
Yea, graphic novels now. I am movin' on up. (But not to the east side. Wait...I think I live on the east side. Whatever, never mind.)
Check out my review of Aron Warner's Pariah (Issue 1), here.
Thanks to Sea Lion Books for allowing me a chance to read this!

Bloodlines, First Chapter

The first chapter of Richelle Mead's Bloodlines is up!
Awesome!
Seriously conflicting feelings about the ending to Jessica Verday's The Hollow trilogy.
Loved it, hated it, still thinking about it.
Damn.
;)

Thursday, July 14, 2011

We all know you wanna know the July Galley Grab titles I'm gunna be reading, right?

Read on:

The Hidden- Jessica Verday (ARE YOU FREAKING KIDDING ME? OMFG!)
Drink, Slay, Love - Sarah Beth Durst
Sacrifice - Melinda Metz (I'll have to read Crave first to read this one)

& there was only one adult novel I wanted to read, but it says the license is expired or some crap. But that's cool. I have a few (like, 7?) titles left over from last month, and a bunch of library books still, and a bunch of books I own...So yeah, I'm good on books. (But I'm still dying to get the second book in the Mortal Instruments series. I know, I started late. BUT HELL. I'm glad I finally conceded and got the damn book! Now it's about time for The Hunger Games...)

Happy reading! (I know I am...Starting that Verday book NOW!)

Wednesday, July 13, 2011

Cover/Release Reveal: A MILLION SUNS- Beth Revis


Yes, yes, the quality sucks. As soon as it's better, I will replace this image.
But, the cover! So...nice. (Can't say I like it that much.)
And the plot is still being kept secret, but the release is set for JANUARY 10, 2012.

Saturday, July 9, 2011

Beastly (Film vs. Book)



Finally got around to watching the film adaptation of Alex Flinn's Beastly tonight!
  I racked my brain for a good half hour before starting the movie, to remember the book. I read it back in '09, I believe. I did remember basically EVERYTHING (I'm that good) but here are my thoughts...
 
  Vanessa Hudgens as Lindy? = Horrible book-to-screen translation. I recall a description of Lindy in Flinn's novel being wayyy different than that of Hudgens...But whatever.
  Alex Pettyfer's perfect for the role of Kyle. Nuff said. That makeup was soo much cooler than Flinn's description, which I remember being nasty. (I'm starting to love this guy. He's popping up everywhere in books-to-movies. I Am Number Four? One of the BEST books-to-movies EVER.)
  Neil Patrick Harris is by far, the best on-screen blind guy in the world.
  Mary-Kate Olsen's outfits are witchly, gorgeous, wispy and picture worthy. I loved all of them. And all the wigs! They looked so fake it was fitting.
  Who did this soundtrack? This person must be praised. It fit well.
 
  Overall book to movie rating: 4/5 (minor details were missed, but overall it was great!)

Friday, July 8, 2011

Cover Reveal: The Golden Lily- Richelle Mead (Bloodlines, 2)

I know, as well as you, that this book's predecessor isn't even out yet. But Richelle Mead just posted the sequel's cover, so here it is:


All that white makes it seem angelic. But knowing Mead it definitely isn't! More info from the source (the author herself) can be found here.
Can we all just take a moment to gaze at the beautiful cover that is Brodi Ashton's Everneath?


I am in editing HEAVEN!
This is one of the most gorgeous, perfectly edited book covers I have ever seen. And I've seen a lot!
This debut releases on JANUARY 3, 2012. I can't wait for this!

Wednesday, July 6, 2011

We'll Always Have Summer

I have one final (I think!) post regarding Jenny Han's Summer series!
  I got the final book, We'll Always Have Summer, earlier this evening, and I just finished it. Whew, what a book! (5/5 stars!)
  Without giving too much away (by that I mean, DON'T READ MY OTHER POST, it will reveal spoilers for this book!) it had some twists, heartbreak, and then, of course, the happy ending that everyone (read: I) love.
  But I gotta say, we could have eliminated this entire book, had the main character not been so indecisive. Then again, the book was good. Whimsical, unbelievable, and kinda sad (in a somewhat good way). But hell, I did love it.
  And I can't resist. Cover your eyes if you have yet to read this...(I'll add some spaces for effect):
















GO CONRAD! WHOOP-WHOOP.
I never, never, never, never (can I keep saying never?) thought I'd see the beautiful day when you fessed up, not only to Belly, but to yourself. I loved your chapters, and looked forward to them so much I was pantomiming the 'hurry up' signal through all of Belly's chapters.

:D

Tuesday, July 5, 2011

Book Haul

Haven't had one in a while! And when I go...I come back with twenty books ;)
Here's the AWESOME (seriously. I got like, all the titles I wanted, plus a bunch I had no clue my library had) list:




(Here are the ones on my actual list/at the library, waiting for me)
  • Too Good To Be True - Kristan Higgins
  • Trial by Fire - Jennifer Lynn Barnes
  • Hand-Me-Down - Lee Nichols
  • The Girl Most Likely To... - Susan Donovan
  • The Cinderella Deal - Jennifer Crusie
  • Talk Me Down - Victoria Dahl
  • 4 Bodies and a Funeral - Stephanie Bond
  • 5 Bodies to Die For - Stephanie Bond
  • 6 Killer Bodies - Stephanie Bond
  • Street Magic - Caitlin Kittredge
  • Hell Fire - Ann Aguirre
  • Total Eclipse - Rachel Caine
  • A Veiled Deception - Annette Blair
  • Magic to the Bone - Devon Monk
  • Sweetheart - Chelsea Cain (dying, dying, dying to READ THIS)
(and the ones I got on a whim--some of them were on my list, but not the one I took with me...if that makes a shred of sense):


  • The First Days - Rhiannon Frater (sounds like an awesome zombie book!)
  • Never Knowing - Chevy Stevens (!! this came out TODAY. I loved her debut!)
  • Divergent - Veronica Roth (have yet to see a friend on GR rate this lower than 4/5 stars!)
  • City of Bones - Cassandra Clare (after seeing this everywhere, hearing all the good raves, I got it.)
  • Blink & Caution - Tim Wynne-Jones (his The Uninvited was so weird...I had to get this!)
That's it! Check out the titles, and as always, happy reading!

Sunday, July 3, 2011

Summer Series by Jenny Han


Man, I'm DYING to read the conclusion of the Summer series by Jenny Han! (Which is called We'll Always Have Summer. I'm thinking about going to the store right NOW and buying all the books, since I've been reading them from the library. This series is kinda awesome!) I found out that this book has CONRAD'S POV, as the last one had Jeremiah's POV (which was annoying, because it made me question which prospect was better for Belly, the MC).
  I also found out (and this is a spoiler if you have yet to read the second book (or the first), that Jeremiah is going to propose, and Belly (oh, excuse me, Isobel) accepts. Then Conrad comes back with his awesomeness and tells Isobel that he totally loves her and then it's this huge WHO THE HECK DO I LOVE match that goes on inside Isobel's sometimes annoying head. I just hope that Conrad's chapters provide AWESOME insight, and tell ME what he REALLY feels about his BROTHER gettin' with the girl HE LOVES.
  AH! I really do hate love triangles, as I've mentioned before. But these guys are BROTHERS, so it's not really a love triangle (well, it is) but it feels like a competition of the two at times. It's all 'Ohh, I love Conrad! But Jere totally loves me, and he can say as much, unlike his brother who keeps it all bottled up inside for the sake of his pride...ohhh". But still. I remember going to the library, seeing these books and snorting, thinking, "yea, that looks lammeee" then I read some reviews by trusted people on GR and I'm all "OMG, I must read this!" and I waited over a month to get the second book, (one second, all six copies of the book were available at the library. The next, they were all gone. It's so weird!) and I read the entire thing last night. And I LOVED it so freakin' much. I hope the third (and *sob* final book) is BETTER and EPIC-ER.
  Damn, I'm rambling. Sorry. I'm so done now. Pinky promise. (Remember doing those as kids? Hell, I remember when I was like, seven and my friend and I would swear secrecy by spitting into our palms and shaking on it. I wonder if she knew I carried Purell around because she had so many secrets...)
  Anyways, that chick better NOT marry freakin' Jeremiah. Just saying.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...