Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Tiger's Voyage, First Four Chapters




Colleen Houck, the author of the awesome Tiger saga, has posted the first four chapters of the newest novel, Tiger's Voyage on her website! You can read them here. (That link takes you directly to the PDF of the chapters, by the way.)
  I absolutely love these novels, and I can't wait until this one releases! It drops on November 1. (NO! Such a long wait!)
  In the meantime, what do you think of the cover? The new one is on the left, the old on the right. Personally, I think they should have kept the old cover that was back from Colleen's CreateSpace days--or at least something like it. The two tigers fighting is just...great for the series. You have to be a reader to understand ;) but both the white (go white!) and black tigers are gorgeous. The dragon on the new cover though...I can't say I understand that reference. Guess we'll have to wait to find out, eh?
  Okay, I'm shutting up now so I can go read those chapters!

Lack of Wednesday's


Wednesday's are one of the only day's I'm not dedicated to doing a book-meme. And why is that, you ask? Wednesday has been my favorite day of the week since third grade. Why? Well, because, look at it like a school week. You go Monday through Friday, so Wednesday is the middle day of that dreaded school week. I would always think of it as two days over, two to go then the weekend!
  So, Wednesday's are my reading-dedication days. I read every day, but Wednesday's are my day to relax and read, without having to worry about posting a blog post. Reviews I try to do two-weekly, and I currently have a large TBR stack, as well as five or six "owned" books. So...reading is a must. Tomorrow, there will be more, since I'm finally going to Borders for some of those 70% off sales. Well, that is if my Borders is open.
  I also started school this week, and while the first two weeks are light loads, I'm trying to get use to the classes. Oh, and my tech class is killing me. They want me to use the free-lagging software, GIMP, when I'm a Photoshop user. I can't use GIMP. Besides, Windows 7 and GIMP are not two things you don't want to try to marry together. My computer has crashed GIMP so many times I'm getting scared.
  Have a lovely Wednesday, blogging people. For I am. (Sorry, talking funny because of my current-read, Soulless by Gail Carriger, which has a lot of weird-dialog.)

Tuesday, August 30, 2011

Teaser Tuesdays (3)


Teaser Tuesday's is a weekly meme hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading (click the image above to be directed to her page). Anyone can participate! Here are the rules:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!
My teaser this week was kind of hard to find. I had a great one picked out, then I realized that it was a bit of a spoiler, so I chose another. I wouldn't want to spoil a book for anyone! I hate when that happens to me!

My teaser's are:

"The room was a library, obviously rarely used; thought volumes lined the walls, they were grimed with dust, as were the velvet curtains that hung across the windows. When the door shut behind them, the light in the room dimmed; before Tessa could say anything, Magnus snapped his fingers and twin fires leaped up in the fireplaces on either side of the room."
--page 234 of Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare

What are your teasers?

Monday, August 29, 2011

It's Monday! What are you reading? (3)


What Are You Reading? Is a weekly post hosted by Sheila over at Book Journey (click the image to be taken to her page) where blogger's share the reads they've read this past week and what they're hoping to read this week.

  I got some good books read this week!

  1. Ain't Too Proud to Beg / Susan Donovan
  2. Trust Me on This / Jennifer Crusie
  3. The Boyfriend List / E. Lockhart
  4. Mercy / Rebecca Lim
  5. Undone / Rachel Caine
  6. Bloodlines / Richelle Mead
  7. Graveminder / Melissa Marr
  8. Strange Bedpersons / Jennifer Crusie
Most of the books I read I LOVED! Bloodlines was amazing, and I can't wait for the sequel!
  This week I start school, but I'm still going to be reading! Lighter load, maybe, but I will be reading. I love opening books and reading in the classes that are easy. Don't you?
  This week, I hope to read:

  1.  Clockwork Angel / Cassandra Clare (currently reading)
  2. Soulless / Gail Carriger
  3. Rosemary and Rue / Seanan McGuire
  4. Ghost Town / Rachel Caine
  5. Putting Makeup on Dead People / Jen Violi
  6. Mad About Mia / Millie Criswell
  7. Magic on the Storm / Devon Monk
I have more books on-order from the library, and a bunch of e-books that I hope to read sometime. I didn't get to read Damned and it releases tomorrow, so I will probably just get that from the library sometime :)
  What have you been reading?

Hunger Games "teaser" Trailer

Last night, the MTV VMA made the show worth while for us book-nerds. The first 'snippet' of The Hunger Games was shown, and you can see it, here:



What do you think?

Sunday, August 28, 2011

This Week in Books (4)

This week is a great week for book releases! I have two lists for this week (August 28--September 4) one is the YA list, and the other is the adult list :)
  Some of these titles I can't wait to get my hands on. There were a few more books, but two of them had changed release dates that I wasn't aware of.
Anyways, enjoy! I hope you all find some books to read!



Those covers are all so gorgeous! (Well...maybe one of them is kinda bad, but I won't mention that...). I will have to get Damned sometime, because despite my efforts, I just haven't had time for e-books this month!

  Here's the adult list :)




That's it! I have a lot of books to get this week! :) Happy Sunday!

Saturday, August 27, 2011

My review for Aron Warner's Pariah: Issue #2, can be found here. **

**Wondering why I don't just post it here? Graphic novels, in my mind, aren't books. So...this is a 'book' blog, is it not? ;) **

Friday, August 26, 2011

Cover/Description Reveal: This is Not a Test - Courtney Summers


The cover and the info have been posted for Courtney Summer's new novel, This is Not a Test! I love that title, and the cover is gorgeous! Here's the description, from Goodreads:

"It’s the end of the world. Six students have taken cover in Cortege High but shelter is little comfort when the dead outside won’t stop pounding on the doors. One bite is all it takes to kill a person and bring them back as a monstrous version of their former self. To Sloane Price, that doesn’t sound so bad. Six months ago, her world collapsed and since then, she’s failed to find a reason to keep going. Now seems like the perfect time to give up.
  As Sloane eagerly waits for the barricades to fall, she’s forced to witness the apocalypse through the eyes of five people who actually want to live. But as the days crawl by, everyone’s motivations to survive begin to change in startling ways and soon the group’s fate is determined less and less by what’s happening outside and more and more by the unpredictable and violent bids for life–and death–inside.
  When everything is gone, what do you hold on to?"


  Does that not make you want to read?
  I love Courtney Summers-- her novels are amazing!--and I really can't wait to read her take on the zombie apocalypse (which we all know is coming. I watched a 2-hr UFO show last night on History...and there were cases where people said the CIA told them that it was a UFO: and it never happened. Freaky, right?)!
  This releases in 2012!

Succubus Revealed, Chapter 2

For those more "mature" readers, or hey, adult readers, the second chapter of Richelle Mead's Succubus Revealed has been posted. This releases next Tuesday, on August 30.
  Click here!
  I can't wait for this one to come out--it's the ending of a lovely series, yeah, but I'm sure the main characters will get a happy ending (they'd better!).

Follow Friday! (1)


Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee.com and AlisonCanRead.com. It is a weekly meme where bloggers meet and follow one another! The rules are up at Parajunkee (linked above) and you can join, too!

The question this week is:
  In books like the Sookie Stackhouse (True Blood) series the paranormal creature in question "comes out of the closet" and makes itself known to the world. Which mythical creature do you wish would come out of the closet, for real?

I'd like for all kinds of creatures to "come out of the closet" but I think that vampires and shifters (not just werewolves; like all kinds of shifters) to come out. It'd be cool, but I have to say, the first time I see a vamp/shifter, I'd probably freak out a little bit. :)

This is my first FF, so, leave me a comment (just to say hi!), follow, and I will follow you back :)

Thursday, August 25, 2011

Fury by Elizabeth Miles

Fury - Elizabeth Miles
Release: August 30, 2011

Synopsis:
Sometimes sorry isn't enough....
It’s winter break in Ascension, Maine. The snow is falling and everything looks pristine and peaceful. But not all is as it seems...
Between cozy traditions and parties with her friends, Emily loves the holidays. And this year’s even better--the guy she’s been into for months is finally noticing her. But Em knows if she starts things with him, there’s no turning back. Because his girlfriend is Em’s best friend.
On the other side of town, Chase is having problems of his own. The stress of his home life is starting to take its toll, and his social life is unraveling. But that’s nothing compared to what’s really haunting him. Chase has done something cruel...something the perfect guy he pretends to be would never do. And it’s only a matter of time before he’s exposed.
In Ascension, mistakes can be deadly. And three girls—three beautiful, mysterious girls—are here to choose who will pay.
Em and Chase have been chosen.


______________________
My thoughts:
I've found another one! A book that is just so great, you want to reread and reread and loose yourself in the story, the awesome characters, and the mystery all over again.
  This is a different kind of supernatural/paranormal YA novel. No, really. And a book this good doesn't come often.
  The story is focused on three formidable girls called Furies. Ty, Ali and Meg. They basically seek vengeance on people who have caused pain and damage to other people. Basically...karma. Make sense?
  The two main characters (aside from the Furies) are Chase and Em. Chase, who is plagued by the urges to be normal and fit in with his rich peers, is targeted because of a secret that's kept even to readers until about halfway through the book. Em, the other lead, is targeted because of her bad choices throughout the book (going after your BFFs boyfriend? Aw, c'mon! We all know you just can't do that!).
  The Furies seek vengeance. And boy, do they seek it well.
   I freaking loved Chase's character, how at one point, he was totally infatuated with Ty, and at the next realized that she was bad for him. But he just couldn't seem to not forgive her! It's the ultimate kind of lust for a person; a person who is literally out to ruin you, and yet you just can't leave them alone.
  I really, really liked that about this book.
  Then you have Em, who isn't really plagued by the Furies at first. You know, it's simple and just borderline weird when it comes to her encounters with the Furies. It isn't like she starts falling in love with one of the Furies (like Chase) but she is being harassed, followed, and basically scared a lot in the book.
  I liked Em to a certain extent. I didn't like how she was messing around with her best friend's boyfriend, but I understood her feelings. She's in love (or so she thinks) with Zach, so, hey, why not jump at the chance to spend some time with him? Yea, we all know that doesn't ever turn out the way we hope.
  I really can't go on anymore about the premise, or I will ruin the book.
  Needless to say, this is one of my favorites.
  I loved that Elizabeth Miles has managed, for ONCE IN YA to create her OWN idea for characters. Not sirens, or vampires. Furies! The Furies are based on Greek mythology...and yet they aren't boring! There are so many books based on Greek/Roman mythology that make us all yawn a little bit.
  This book should renew your faith in these types of books.
  Definitely recommended for fans of mythology (but really light mythology)  mystery, karma, and, well, good books. 5/5 stars.

Booking Through Thursday (2)

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Deb that anyone can participate in! Click the image to be directed to the page.

This week's question:
"When is the last time you read a history book? Historical biography? You know, something that took place in the past but was REAL."

I love history. In fact, it's one of my best subjects in school aside from English. But, I'm one of those people who reads history out of necessity. Since historical-fiction isn't real, I can't say that I read history-related texts too often. The last time I remember reading a history book, that wasn't for school, was a book that focused on the 1920s--true, I had gotten the book to flip through for a project in school, but then I did this strange thing: I read the entire book. I didn't need to, for I only needed facts to summarize, but I was just so interested in the topics, the fashions, and the way people were, that I read a non-fiction, history book. Weird, right?

Leave your links in reply, or simply answer the question.

Wednesday, August 24, 2011

Book Discussion: Favorite Teen Novels

I have yet to do one of these, and it's a topic I wanted to post about :)
So, if you would like to participate, it's really as simple as clicking 'comment'.

I'd like to know what your favorite novels are, and why.
Simple, eh?

Let me start this off.

Me: Sierra, what are some of your favorite novels?
Me, again: Well, self, I'd like to say that every novel I read is my favorite. But...then I'd be making a liar out of myself. Truthfully, I'm a horrible judger of books. Basically, it all comes down to endings of books for me. In order to get a 4 or 5 star rating, and earn a place in my 'golden' shelf (in my head, haha) the ending of a book has to be...EPIC. I can hate a novel for the entire book, then the ending is surprising, unforeseen, and WHAM, it's awesome to me!
  That's not the case for me though, for some of my favorite novels. I like to call my favorites the ones who have an original story line, awesome characters, (in which some are witty and sarcastic, like me) and an even awesome-r ending. It has to build up to something that is going to make me think, wow. Or, I can't wait to get the next book!
  Maybe you're still reading, and thinking, Sierra...do you know you talk a lot? And you STILL haven't answered your OWN question? Patience, grasshopper (quick fact: I've never seen the movie that famous quote comes from. Heck, I don't even know what movie it comes from. Wait...google says some TV show from the '70s or some crap, moving on...). I tend to ramble and loose my train of thought. It's a gift.
  ANYWAYS, to shut me up, I shall use a list (they always work. And they're in order. I like order.):
  1. Vampire Academy (The entire series...Except for Blood Promise...hello, boring!) - Richelle Mead
  2. Hourglass - Myra McEntire (Just read it.)
  3. Starcrossed - Josephine Angelini
  4. Any Sarah Dessen novel
  5. & any Meg Cabot novel
Now, onto the 'why' of my own question:
  • Vampire Academy has vampires. And a hot Russian teacher. Really, is there any more to be said?
  • Hourlgass was just...my favorite, for some reason. I don't know why...the story line isn't even that original, but I just love it!
  • Starcrossed is, again, another 'why the heck do I like this one...' Well, I did like the main character, I liked the castoffs (mean, I know) and the storyline was original. I loved it, and I want the sequel and I have a girl-crush on the author.
  • Sarah Dessen is...Sarah Dessen. The QUEEN of YA-lit. If you haven't read her yet, you need to. I mean, that slogan "Read her once and fall in love" is like, real. I read Just Listen, and was begging my older sister to PLEASE let me have all the others she owned by Sarah. I still love her novels :)
  • And, Meg Cabot. You may not know this, but I'm working my way down her list of books. The only Cabot series I have yet to read (for teens)...Princess Diaries! I have the first three, but I just haven't ever picked them up. I love the movie, and if it's on, it's on my TV. I can't believe that they got the cutie from Rooney in that movie! So cool!
So, that's my list for favorite books/why they are my favorites.
Let me know some of your favorite titles!

Tuesday, August 23, 2011

Teaser Tuesdays (2)


Teaser Tuesday's is a weekly meme hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading (click the image above to be directed to her page). Anyone can participate! Here are the rules:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!
I loved doing Teaser Tuesday's last week, and I was looking forward to doing it again this week! I'm glad Tuesday is finally here (and not only because the new Richelle Mead dropped today!).
  It's a good thing I have yet to finish my current read (I'm only 25 pages away!) because I would hate to write a spoiler from a page in a book I haven't read yet! So, instead of allowing my book to open 'randomly' I only let it fall within the section I've already read. I'd hate to spoil a book for myself! ;)

My teasers are:

"I long for him to talk to me, and whenever he even says hello, I feel a thousand times worse than I did before.
  I wish he was dead."
--page 197 of The Boyfriend List by E. Lockhart.
The full title of this novel is, The Boyfriend List: 15 Guys, 11 Shrink Appointments, 4 Ceramic Frogs and Me, Ruby Oliver. Pretty cool title!

  What's your Teaser Tuesday?


Monday, August 22, 2011

Dead Rules by Randy Russell

Dead Rules - Randy Russell

Synopsis:

Till death
 
Jana Webster and Michael Haynes were in love. They were destined to be together forever.
 
Do
 
But Jana's destiny was fatally flawed. And now she's in Dead School, where Mars Dreamcote lurks in the back of the classroom, with his beguiling blue eyes, mysterious smile, and irresistibly warm touch.
 
Us
 
Michael and Jana were incomplete without each other. There was no room for Mars in Jana's life—or death—story. Jana was sure Michael would rush to her side soon.
 
Part

But things aren't going according to Jana's plan. So Jana decides to do whatever it takes to make her dreams come true—no matter what rules she has to break.


____________________
My thoughts:

Ghosts. I love them. Especially when the authors of ghost novels create such interesting and diverse characters, along with an interesting story line.
  In Dead Rules, Randy Russell does something I've never read about in a book before: a girl dies suddenly, becomes a ghost, and is so set on a perfect life and death long love with her boyfriend, Michael, she would consider killing him to do so.
  Sound interesting? If it doesn't, then...well, I'm not sure what to tell you.
  Dead Rules is, by far, one of my favorite ghost-related novels to date. I loved the main character, Jana, even though she was a tad bit obsessed with Michael.
  I loved all of the other characters, as well. They're the type of friends you want on your side in the after life. Each one has a strange (but true) tale of their deaths, and it kind of makes you afraid to go outside again, once you realize that oh, hey, my body could be cut in half with a piece of flying-metal!
  The ending was probably the best, though.
  As the saying goes: what goes around, comes around.
  I wish there was a sequel to this book, even though the ending was perfect. I just love the characters so  much! 5/5 stars.

One more thing:
Is it just me, or does the guy on the BACK of the cover look like Brian Molko? Yes...no...maybe I'm crazy?

It's Monday! What are you reading? (2)


What Are You Reading? Is a weekly post hosted by Sheila over at Book Journey (click the image to be taken to her page) where blogger's share the reads they've read this past week and what they're hoping to read this week.

  This past week I've gotten some great books read. Unfortunately, I didn't get all of the titles read that I wanted to last week, because I never got a chance to get the books!
  Anyways, here's the list from this past week!

  1. Always a Witch - Carolyn MacCullough
  2. Mockingjay - Suzanne Collins
  3. Dead Rules - Randy Russell
  4. Demons are a Ghoul's Best Friend - Victoria Laurie
  5. Fury - Elizabeth Miles
  6. Magic in the Shadows - Devon Monk
  7. Feast: Harvest of Dreams - Merrie Destefano
  8. Enclave - Ann Aguirree
It seems that I got one more book read than I try for, which is great!
  This week, I will be trying to read:
  1. Ain't Too Proud to Beg - Susan Donovan (currently reading)
  2. The Boyfriend List - E. Lockhart
  3. Graveminder - Melissa Marr
  4. Mercy - Rebecca Lim
  5. Trust Me on This - Jennifer Crusie
  6. Clockwork Angel - Cassandra Clare
  7. Undone - Rachel Caine
I currently have ten books in my 'TBR' basket, so the titles above may change. I get books from my library nearly every day, so I read them according to due date, and then normally by what I really want to read :) Since all ten books are due on the same day, I have a lot of choices to choose from!
 
  And, if I have time, I will be trying to read:
  • Damned - Nancy Holder & Debbie Viguié (didn't have time for this last week!)
  • Bloodlines - Richelle Mead (which I have to buy sometime this week)
That's it! Come back next week to see what titles I've read. I will be posting reviews this week as well (for Dead Rules, Fury & Enclave), so be sure to check those out!
  What have you been reading? :)

Sunday, August 21, 2011

This Week in Books (3)

 Time for another This Week in Books! I could title this something else, but, I like the title, and it's easy to remember. So, I made up a little image to go along with this weekly thing. It was a little different earlier, but my URL was unreadable when the image was scaled-down, so I had to go do some editing :)

  Anyways, let's get to the goods! This week's releases are great--next week's will be even better! August 30 seems to be a great day for book releases, so I will have a bunch of books to show off next week. In the meantime, this week's releases are pretty awesome themselves. You have the new Mead and Lore novels this week, and if you want to nerd it up (ah-hem, like me) go out and grab the Vampire Academy Graphic Novel (not pictured) the same day that Bloodlines releases. I can't wait to check it out, there are some sneak-peek images the author posted on her blog a few months ago, and a preview of the first few pages somewhere. And whoo! They look awesome!
  Here's the list! (I'm pretty sure they all release on Tuesday, if you're wondering!)




That's it! I can't wait to get some of these books!
In the meantime, I'm reading Enclave by Ann Aguirre, and, wow. This is pretty awesome!

Saturday, August 20, 2011

Library :)

Sorry I've been silent these past few hours! I thought Blogger was down, because every time I tried accessing the site, my browser just redirected me to a new page. I finally figured out that my anti-virus/spyware system was blocking the cookies from Blogger. So, I had to fix that and...You probably don't care. Sorry, I'm a total nerd. ;)
  Anyways, I made a trip to the library. I haven't gone in a while, because normally I have to order my books, and then I just pick them up. I only go to the library now about once a month--though I get books from the library daily. Does that even make sense?
  Here's the list!

YA novels:
  • Clockwork Angel / Cassandra Clare (They had this...and since I burned through the Mortal Instruments in just two weeks, I'm having Cassandra Clare-withdrawal!)
  • The Boyfriend List / E. Lockhart (This sounds pretty funny.)
  • Mercy / Rebecca Lim (Not sure about this, I hear good things...But I'm so tired of angels in YA-lit! They're becoming like vamps--overused!)
  • Enclave / Ann Aguirre (Seriously can't wait to read this! I love Ann Aguirre's Corine Solomon series, so I'm happy she's written a YA series, now!)
  • Putting Makeup on Dead People / Jen Violi (Got this yesterday, but, still. It's from the library!)

Adult:
  • Graveminder / Melissa Marr
  • Ain't Too Proud To Beg / Susan Donovan
  • Rosemary and Rue / Seanan McGuire
  • Soulless / Gail Carriger
  • Strange Bedpersons / Jennifer Crusie
  • Trust Me On This / Jennifer Crusie
  • Undone / Rachel Caine

I'm going to mix up when I read adult/YA, so that I'm not reading all adult one week and then all YA the next. I try reading them on opposite days. (YA one day, adult the next). I got some great titles, and I'm dying to start reading!
  That's it! Is there anything you guys got this weekend? (Maybe In Your Mailboxes? I'd do that meme, but I don't ever get books 'in my mailbox'. It's "in my hands from the library" or "off the shelf at the store". Haha.)

Friday, August 19, 2011

Friday Finds (1)


Friday Finds is a weekly meme hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading (click the image to be directed to her page) where readers can post about all the great books they've learned about throughout the week!
  This is my first FF, so, well, let's get started!

  This week, I found:


 
I found some great titles this week! I can't wait to read them! What did you find this past week?

Thursday, August 18, 2011

Bloodlines, First Four Chapters!

If you're a fan of Richelle Mead's Vampire Academy series, I'm guessing that you are dying to read her spin-off series, Bloodlines?
  The first book drops next Tuesday, and I can't wait to get it!
  In the meantime, though, you can read the first FOUR chapters, here.
  Let me know what you think!

Booking Through Thursday (1)

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme that anyone can participate in! Click the image to be directed to the page.

This week's question:
"You’ve just had a long, hard, exhausting day, and all you want to do is curl up with something light, fun, easy, fluffy, distracting, and entertaining.
What book do you pick up?"


Personally, when I'm picking up something light and easy, it's anything by Kristan Higgins, who is an adult author who writes hilarious romantic-comedy's in the real world. I love her works, and I can reread just about any of them and still love them!
  If I don't have anything by her on hand, I'm always up for a Richelle Mead novel. I've read the VA series so many times I've lost count.

This is my first BTT, so, leave your links to your own BTTs, or simply answer the question in the comments!

Wednesday, August 17, 2011

Great (End of) Summer Reads!

Summer's almost over and you'd like some new reads to check out before school starts. (Or, hey, do as I do, and read at every chance you get!)
  Since I read so, so much, I've compiled a few lists, so that everyone's tastes can hopefully be sated! These titles are all my favorites that I read between June and August. Let me know what you think of the books if you've read them, or are planning to! And if anyone has more suggestions, leave titles/authors in the comments!

For the awesome teen (ah-hem, like me) who loves paranormal/supernatural/romances, check out the following titles:



Or, hey, maybe you like YA novels that are more "serious" and have no ghosties and Greek gods. Well, how about these titles:




Not your style? Hmm...well, I love a good adult novel.  So...how about a few of those? There's some zombies, some cute romance, and...killer faeries! Ha!




What were some of your favorite summer reads?

Tuesday, August 16, 2011

Supernaturally by Kiersten White

Supernaturally (Paranormalcy, 2) - Kiersten White

Synopsis:

Evie finally has the normal life she’s always longed for. But she’s shocked to discover that being ordinary can be . . . kind of boring. Just when Evie starts to long for her days at the International Paranormal Containment Agency, she’s given a chance to work for them again. Desperate for a break from all the normalcy, she agrees.
But as one disastrous mission leads to another, Evie starts to wonder if she made the right choice. And when Evie’s faerie ex-boyfriend Reth appears with devastating revelations about her past, she discovers that there’s a battle brewing between the faerie courts that could throw the whole supernatural world into chaos. The prize in question? Evie herself.
So much for normal.
__________________
My thoughts:
--Begin somewhat confusing review.--
  What can you say about a book series that is so cute, and so different from any 'paranormal' book out there, that it deserves a category all of its own?
  Bleeping awesome, that's what.
  I LOVE the main character of these books. Evie is such a funny character, dumb in a funny way that makes her so smart. I love how in this book she's done (well, at first) dealing with the IPCA for a while, and being her own person. Before, she was realizing that she wasn't her own person: she was basically a pawn for a company that was harming paranormals, and she didn't like that.
  She wants to be normal.
  She wants...a locker.
  Kiersten White is now one of my favorite authors. No, it's not because she named and bedazzled a taser for her awesome character, or because she made the male lead among the cutest male leads ever. It's because she knows how to write interesting characters, an even more interesting story line, and well, funny books.
  In her world, most of the paranormals are just trying to get by. You have the evil bleeping (oh, and curse words are as 'bleep'. Maybe I should do that...) faeries, and the blood-sucking vampires, but then you have harmless trolls and gnomes who are literally just trying to make it in our world.
  It's kind of confusing, realizing that Evie lives with one of those blood-sucking vamps, but she's not evil...only some vamps are. Oh, then you remember that Evie use to DATE one of those evil bleeping faeries, and it gets a little confusing. But it's still worth the read. Really. It is.
  Basically, it's a book of Good vs. Evil. In better shoes. (There. My summary, people. I could delete this review and post that and it'd be bleeping perfect!)
  In her world, Evie, our awesome main character goes around tasing people.
  What the bleep more could you ASK for in a book?
  Oh, and I'll let you in on a little hint: THE COVERS ARE GORGEOUS. I love Supernaturally's cover, but the first book, Paranormalcy's cover, is like, really awesome. Like, really bleeping awesome. 4/5 stars.
  --End confusing bleeping review.--

Teaser Tuesdays (1)


Teaser Tuesday's is a weekly meme hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading (click the image above to be directed to her page). Anyone can participate! Here are the rules:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!
This is my first Teaser Tuesday's, so, here's to a buch more Tuesday's to come!

My teasers are:

"I stop long enough to pull Gale up beside me, and then we take off for the row of machine gun nests on the street side of the warehouse. Each looks to be manned by a few rebels."
--page 95 of Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins.

This is the final book in the Hunger Games trilogy, so read it only if you're interested in all three books. It won't make much sense otherwise!

Monday, August 15, 2011

August Galley Grab!

Some pretty awesome titles this month!

  • Swear - Nina Malkin (!! This is the second month in a row that they've released a title I'm DYING to read!)
  • Past Perfect - Leila Sales
  • Virtuosity - Jessica Martinez
  • Triangles - Ellen Hopkins

Cover Reveal: SURRENDER - Lee Nichols


This is the cover for the final Haunting Emma novel, Surrender by Lee Nichols!
This releases on December 6 of this year, and here's the description from Goodreads,

"After a devastating battle at headquarters in New York, the ghostkeeping world is in shambles. When Emma and Bennett return home, they are determined to defeat the wraithmaster, Neos, forever. But it's not going to be easy. Bennett's parents kick him out when they realize he is still using drugs to enhance his powers. Emma is convinced her aunt has come back from the dead to warn her of a new threat. And worst of all, Neos is using wraiths to possess the students at Thatcher Academy. If the ghosts manage to take over the entire school, even Emma won't be strong enough to stop them. But if either she or Bennett sacrifice his or her powers, they might be able to save the ghostkeeping world once and for all-and break the "ghostkeepers lose their powers when they fall in love" curse. The question is: who will be the one to surrender all power?
  Fast-paced and romantic, this conclusion to the Haunting Emma trilogy will thrill readers as it brings the ghostly mystery to a close."

The first chapter of this book is at the back of the second book, Deception, if you're interested.

It's Monday! What are you reading?



What Are You Reading? Is a weekly post hosted by Sheila over at Book Journey (click the image to be taken to her page) where blogger's share the reads they've read this past week and what they're hoping to read this week.
  This is my first What Are You Reading, so, let's hope I can stick to it!

This past week has been busy for me. I just opened this blog, and I had spent so much time getting it all put together. Then, since I imported my posts from my old blog, I had to re-link just about everything. Which I had forgotten, so when you clicked a link, it took you to my old blog, which was no good. That's fixed, so let's get on with it!

This past week I read: (click the linked titles to view reviews)
  1. Texas Gothic - Rosemary Clement-Moore
  2. Wolfsbane - Andrea Cremer
  3. Catching Fire - Suzanne Collins
  4. Supernaturally - Kiersten White
  5. Bone Gods - Caitlin Kittredge
  6. Bloodlust - Michelle Rowen
  7. City of Fallen Angels - Cassandra Clare
That's a lot of titles! And I'm happy with that outcome. It's one book a day, which is my goal, always!
  This week, I'm going to be reading:

  1. Always a Witch - Carolyn MacCullough (currently reading)
  2. Magic in the Shadows - Devon Monk
  3. Demons Are a Ghoul's Best Friend - Victoria Lauire
  4. Dead Rules - Randy Russell
  5. Mockingjay - Suzanne Collins
  6. Second Grave on the Left - Darynda Jones
And, If I have time, I'm going to try to read
  1. Damned - Nancy Holder & Debbie Viguié
  2. Fury - Elizabeth Miles
Come by next Monday to see if I read all the titles I was hoping for!

Sunday, August 14, 2011

How to Set Someone Straight

Both my sister and I have read the Twilight series (by now, who hasn't?) and most of our conversations pertaining to the books go much like this comic, here. Our roles vary according to the weather. (Kidding.)
  Funny, though, right?


This Week in Books (2)

There are tons of meme's on book blogs (give me time, I will be joining a few, once I get my blogging going regularly), and I know there are ones for 'books coming out that week', but I'm going to title mine, "This Week in Books". There aren't always titles coming out every week, but I read a lot, so there should be at least one every week. (These will always be titles I'm going to read, and most of the time, I will read/review all titles I post. Since the book on the right is an adult novel, I won't be reviewing it.)
There are only two books this week that I'm pining for, and only one of them is a YA novel! They are...


  1. Bargains and Betrayals by Shannon Delany
  2. Second Grave on the Left by Darynda Jones
What books are you looking forward to this week?

Saturday, August 13, 2011

Wolfsbane by Andrea Cremer

Wolfsbane (Nightshade, 2) - Andrea Cremer

Synopsis:
When Calla Tor wakes up in the lair of the Searchers, her sworn enemies, she’s certain her days are numbered. But then the Searchers make her an offer—one that gives her the chance to destroy her former masters and save the pack—and the man—she left behind. Is Ren worth the price of her freedom? And will Shay stand by her side no matter what? Now in control of her own destiny, Calla must decide which battles are worth fighting and how many trials true love can endure and still survive.

_________________
My thoughts:

Starting off, I'm just going to throw it out there that I loved Nightshade, the first book in this series. But, I think I loved Wolfsbane just a little bit more.
  Here, we get to see the main character, Calla, be the strong alpha we know she is. She's the type of character who I admire: she's fierce, loyal, and above all, she's a freakin' badass. Sure, she was all of those things in the first novel; but in this one, there aren't elders looking over her shoulder, and she doesn't have to watch and contain herself as much.
  Wolfsbane picks up right where Nightshade ended. And that ending was something to think about, while awaiting this novel, right? I don't want to spoil anything, so I'll stick to the fringes of the novel.
  This book introduces a new cast of characters: you have the funny, always joke-cracking Connor, the hard edge warrior, Ethan (who, remember, shot Calla in Nightshade), Adne the new girl who is interesting, though I didn't love her, Silas the book nerd who I loved, and then Monroe; the guy gluing the people together. I liked him, even though I disliked his outcome in the book.
  All of the new characters are interesting, and I can't wait to see some of them in the next book.
  Shay's protectiveness of Calla kicks up a notch, and it was cute to read about his banter with Connor. I liked Shay more in this book, because, well...I don't know why. I just liked him more. He's a wolf now, so he's cooler.
  I know you're wondering what happened with the rest of Calla's pack. Well, no. I'm not telling. You have to read to find out!
  Though I will say that I disliked Ren in the first novel, and I kinda dislike him even more now. I really didn't see coming what came towards the end of the book, but hey, things happen for a reason. Which  makes the ending even more puzzling...I understand that Calla is dedicated and loyal to her packmates, but really? I can see this going wrong in so many different ways. I hope it doesn't, but hey, we'll see.
  I can't wait to read the next one, since this fabulous author really knows how to write the love/hate reactions to her endings! Who doesn't love cliffhangers just a little bit? 5/5 stars.

Thursday, August 11, 2011

Texas Gothic by Rosemary Clement-Moore

Texas Gothic - Rosemary Clement-Moore

Synopsis:
Amy Goodnight's family is far from normal. She comes from a line of witches, but tries her best to stay far outside the family business. Her summer gig? Ranch-sitting for her aunt with her wacky but beautiful sister. Only the Goodnight Ranch is even less normal than it normally is. Bodies are being discovered, a ghost is on the prowl, and everywhere she turns, the hot neighbor cowboy is in her face.
_______________
My thoughts:
Ghost stories are my favorite kind of stories. I think I've read every good one out there, and I'm glad I can add Texas Gothic to my list of great ghosty-reads!
  The main character, Amy Goodnight, is such a likable character. The opening line of the book alone is hilarious and draws you in so that you've read the first chapter even if you weren't meaning to (I got the book, opened it, and didn't stop until the first three chapters were done. And I wasn't even "reading" the book yet!).
  I really liked the relationship between Amy, her sister Phin, her eccentricities and humorous-un-humor, and the hot cowboy, Ben. He matches Amy snark-for-snark, and their meeting was one of the most memorable I've ever read.
  Aside from the ghosts, the book is really a mystery novel (um, Sierra, aren't ghosts mysterious? Yes, they are, self. Shut up, I'm trying to review, here!). I really liked how the author had really two or three different things going on at once. If the main character wasn't falling in bat crap, she was being scared to death by a ghosty at the edge of her bed. The action is non-stop.
  I loved the ending; how the author left Amy and Ben's relationship kind of untied. The closing lines are perfect, I believe. I also loved how the storyline is kind of different than what you are led to believe (I guessed it, but I've been reading YA forever!). It's like watching a really good ghost-movie. (Wow, that was cheesy.)
  Oh, and because I'm such a judger, the cover definitely adds to the mystique of the novel. The title alone has to make you want to read, then the smokey-cover just makes you think, I NEED THIS. Loved it! 4/5 stars.

Wednesday, August 10, 2011

This Week in Books

Books that release this week that I can't wait to get!


  • Juliet Immortal- Stacey Jay
  • All You Desire- Kirsten Miller
  • Siren's Storm- Lisa Papademetriou
  • A Long, Long Sleep- Anna Sheehan
These all released yesterday, in case you're wondering.
What books are you looking forward to reading this week?

Tuesday, August 9, 2011

Spellbound by Cara Lynn Shultz

Spellbound - Cara Lynn Shultz

Synopsis:
What's a girl to do when meeting The One means she's cursed to die a horrible death?
Life hasn't been easy on sixteen-year-old Emma Connor, so a new start in New York may be just the change she needs. But the posh Upper East Side prep school she has to attend? Not so much. Friendly faces are few and far between, except for one that she's irresistibly drawn to—Brendan Salinger, the guy with the rock-star good looks and the richest kid in school, who might just be her very own white knight.
But even when Brendan inexplicably turns cold, Emma can't stop staring. Ever since she laid eyes on him, strange things have been happening. Streetlamps go out wherever she walks, and Emma's been having the oddest dreams: visions of herself in past lives—visions that warn her to stay away from Brendan. Or else.

____________________
My thoughts:

I'm going to start this off by saying how funny the main character, Emma, is. Really, I was laughing my butt off in the first chapter alone. It only got better! This author really knows how to apply some angst-filled humor. I loved it!
  This is one of the few books I can honestly say I enjoyed, from cover to cover. There wasn't one page I got tired of reading. Emma's story was just so engrossing it sucks you in. You can't wait to find out what the deal is with her medallion (necklace, charm, whatever. It's this cool, gothic-like piece of ancient history that really ties the entire story together), and what's going on with this thousand-year-old-curse. That concept alone made the book's mystery factor shoot up into 'OMG' areas.
  Okay, moving on from the always lovable, Emma, lets get onto the most important factor in the book...
  BRENDAN!! He was so...ADORABLE! Even when he was being a jerky idiot I loved him. And when he kept standing up for Emma and being all protective, I kind of swooned! I loved him! He puts the book's OMG factor at around a billion. Really liked Brendan's character. And the romance between him and Emma was so cute and realatiable.
  Actually, the entire cast is lovable! From Emma's quirky friends, Cisco and Angelique, to the bitch-of-the-novel Kristin and Emma's too-cute cousin, Ashley, I kind of loved them all.
  I really liked the (semi) final confrontation with the jerky psycho of the story (what good tale doesn't include a guy who's off his rocker?). But I liked it more that the author left some ends untied, which totally means SEQUEL!
  Also, the final-final chapter, with Angelique, was really cool. Oh, and the playlist! Have you seen a better composition of artists? This author is awesome!
  Can't wait to read more from this author, and more of these characters!
  (Almost forgot...THE COVER. I love it. Nuff said.) 5/5 stars

First Post

It took me a few weeks, but my all book blog is finally up-and-running!

Hello, and welcome to The Best Way Out is Through Reviews! I'm Sierra :) Nice to meet you. (I know, cheesy. Sorry.) I kind of suck at talking about myself, so head on over to the 'Meet the Author' tab if you'd like to get to know me!
  It took me around a month to get this blog all set up, because I'm one of those people who loves to change things frequently.
  There are a bunch of reviews already posted, thanks to my old blog. As well as book news, cover releases, and descriptions. I just simply imported and edited all of my previous reviews. But now, since this is an all book blog, I will be posting more reviews. I'm going to try for daily, if not, then every other day. (We'll aim for three/four a week to start).
  If you'd like, follow the blog, as it is always welcome! And of course, leave me a comment and I will follow you back, because I love following people!
  Thanks for visiting!
  (I don't think I've used this many exclamation points in a single post in years.)

Saturday, August 6, 2011

Cover/Description/Release Reveal: LIFE ETERNAL, YVONNE WOON



Love, love, LOVE this cover! It's so...dreamy! (and my nerd-ness sets in...)
This is the sequel to the awesome, DEAD BEAUTIFUL, by the awesome Yvonne Woon.

Annnnd, here's the description:
  "Renée Winters has changed. When she looks in the mirror, a beautiful girl with an older, sadder face stares back. Her condition has doctors mystified, but Renée can never reveal the truth: she died last May, and was brought back to life by the kiss of her Undead soul mate, Dante Berlin.
  Now, her separation from Dante becomes almost unbearable. His second life is close to an end, and each passing day means one less that she will spend with the boy who shares her soul.
  Just when Renée has almost given up hope, she learns of the Nine Sisters—brilliant scholars who, according to legend, found a way to cheat death. She can’t shake the feeling that they are somehow connected to her dreams, strange visions that hint at a discovery so powerful, and so dangerous, that some will stop at nothing to protect it.
  Renée thought she knew the truth about life and death. But there is a secret woven through history that holds the only hope for Dante and Renée. Unless they find answers soon, their time together is doomed to be cut short."

  This is set to release on February 24, 2012.  Long wait, I know, believe me. I can't wait to get this!
  Click the image, it's linked directly to the book's Goodreads page, because I rock like that. ;)
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...