Friday, September 30, 2011

Beauty Queens by Libba Bray

Beauty Queens - Libba Bray

Synopsis:
The fifty contestants in the Miss Teen Dream pageant thought this was going to be a fun trip to the beach, where they could parade in their state-appropriate costumes and compete in front of the cameras. But sadly, their airplane had another idea crashing on a desert island and leaving the survivors stranded with little food, little water, and practically no eyeliner.
  What's a beauty queen to do? Continue to practice for the talent portion of the program--or wrestle snakes to the ground? Get a perfect tan--or learn to run wild? And what should happen when the sexy pirates show up?
  Welcome to the heart of non-exfoliated darkness. Your tour guide? None other than Libba Bray, the hilarious, sensational, Printz Award-winning author of A Great and Terrible Beauty and Going Bovine. The result is a novel that will make you laugh, make you think, and make you never see beauty the same way again.

________________
My thoughts:
Beauty Queens has it all: Beautiful girls, hot pirates, secret government conspiracies, guns, sequins, lip gloss. You name it, it's got it.
  I loved how different this book was! It really was like Libba Bray was "hosting" the novel, rather than writing. There's even commercial breaks, which is so different than anything I've ever read. I loved the footnotes and the "fact cards" on the queens. So cool! And the "messages from your sponsors" were really cool, as well. Loved how it was written in a totally new and surprising way. More authors should try that.
  You probably assume that, because the main characters are, in fact, beauty queens, they're all going to die and be the dumbest things when trapped on an island. Well, that may be true for some of the characters, but they're all really smart in their own ways and resourceful. Hell, I thought they'd all freak and start killing each other over the lip gloss. They proved to be pretty smart...for dumb beauty queens!
  In some cases, I was stumped on how smart they were. I consider myself somewhat of a great 'guesser' when it comes to books, but these chicks were one-upping me at every other turn. And lookin' good while doing it.
  The novel was pretty funny and quirky, and I ended up really liking it. The ending was pretty awesome, and I loved how each and every one of the queens had changed in some significant way in the end. Some surprising revelations, to add to the fun, as well. Loved it!
  Can we all be nerds and gaze at that gorgeous cover, too? I love how the queen is shown with her banner and, of course, an arsenal of lipstick! So funny, (in a book cover humor kind of way. Not funny, though, if there was a real person using a ammo belt for lipstick. That'd be weird.). 4/5 stars.

SILENCE, Chapter One



I know that the release is just FOUR DAYS AWAY, but you can read the first chapter of Silence, here! (click link, obviously).
  And did you know that a FORTH book has been announced?!

Follow Friday (6)


Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee.com and AlisonCanRead.com. It is a weekly meme where bloggers meet and follow one another! The rules are up at Parajunkee and Alison Can Read (linked above) and you can join, too!


This week's question:
"What book that hasn't been turned into a movie (yet) would you most like to see make it to the big screen, and who would you like cast as your favorite character?"

Oh, jeez. What a hard question! Damn! Okay, I think that the book-to-movie I want is...Just Listen by Sarah Dessen. Now, casting? I'm super hard at this because I have a mental-image of the characters and would hate to ruin them. Though the guy would have to be hot, kinda buff, a little on the menacing side yet totally adorable. And the girl would have to be pretty enough to pass as a former model...but not be all skin-and-bones because that would ruin the movie.
  Maybe Robbie Amell from that Nickelodeon show as Owen? Maybe. What do you think? (If you've read the book, of course!)

New followers get followed back. :D

Thursday, September 29, 2011

Booking Through Thursday (6)

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Deb that anyone can participate in! Click the image to be directed to the page.

This week's question asks:
"1. What do you think of reading aloud/being read to? Does it bring back memories of your childhood? Your children’s childhood?
2. Does this affect the way you feel about audio books?
3. Do you now have times when you read aloud or are read to?"

What a question! (Or three). No, I do not like being read anything, nor do I like audio books. I, for some reason, just can't grasp everything if it's being read to me. I remember when we use to listen to audio books in my middle school English class. Every night after class, I would have to reread the print version of the novel in order to remember anything. (In case you're wondering what book it was it was The City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau.)
  Sure, being read to is okay as a kid, but to be honest, I don't remember being read to much. I was reading chapter books at a very young age (think Matilda. You know that movie? Yeah, that girl was me. Well, minus the cool powers) so there wasn't any reason to be read to.

  How about you?

Wednesday, September 28, 2011

The Iron Knight: Trailer!

I'm normally not one to like book trailers, but I love this one!
Can't wait to read it!

Tuesday, September 27, 2011

Banned Books Week


You had to have known this was going on, right?
  Banned Book Week, everyone! I love reading, and the thought of not being able to read books because of someone else's opinion, really irks me.
  Check out this site to read more about banned Books.

  And of the "Most Frequently Challenged Books of the 21st Century" I've read, and am surprised to know are banned/challenged books:
  1. Go Ask Alice by Anonymous
  2. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky (banned/challenged every freakin' year since '04!)
  3. Forever by Judy Blume
  4. Twilight (series) by Stephenie Meyer
  5. Crank by Ellen Hopkins
  6. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
These are just the most challenged, but I know of a few more from my own schools/libraries that have been questioned or banned. Come on people, these are books! Most of these are banned for real life situations. Face it: sex, drugs, drinking, murder, self-exploration; all these things are facts of the real world. Censoring them out isn't going to make them stop. You should be happier that kids would rather READ about these things than experience and TRY them out.
 
  Anyways, READ A BANNED BOOK! AND FEEL FREE TO TELL EVERYONE ABOUT IT!
  Quick fact: I love every one of those books listed above.
  What banned books do you guys love?

Teaser Tuesdays (7)


Teaser Tuesday's is a weekly meme hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading (click the image above to be directed to her page). Anyone can participate! Here are the rules:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open it to a random page
  • Share two "teaser" sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO REVEAL SPOILERS! (Be sure not to spoil the book for others!
  • Make sure your sentences don't reveal something important!)
  • Include the title and author to, so that other participants can add the book to their TBR lists if they like your teasers!
My teaser this week is (shockingly) from an adult book...Again. Sorry! It's just that I'm always reading adult novels on Tuesday's by some freak luck.
  Anyways, this book is pretty awesome, if you like the urban fantasy stuff. Which I do. I really like it, and I'm breezing right through it!
 
  My (carefully chosen, so not to reveal anything) teasers are:

"I opened my mouth to scream, but my voice was gone, strangled, lost in my own throat.
  And that was the last thing I remembered."
--page 96 of Under Wraps by Hannah Jayne.

:D

Monday, September 26, 2011

It's Monday! What are you reading? (6)



What Are You Reading? Is a weekly post hosted by Sheila over at Book Journey (click the image to be taken to her page) where blogger's share the reads they've read this past week and what they're hoping to read this week.

This past week I've managed to read: (linked are reviews)

  1. Flawless by Carrie Lofty
  2. Devil's Business by Caitlin Kittredge
  3. Hellbent by Cherie Priest
  4. Model Spy by Shannon Greenland
  5. The Apocalypse Gene by Carlyle Clark & Suki Michelle
  6. Stay With Me by Paul Griffin
Pretty good, though it did take me longer to read Flawless than I liked. I just can't get into e-books! Thankfully, my parents are almost at their cracking point on buying me an e-Reader, so hopefully this will change soon!

This week is such a great release for books, I'm afraid to write anything down. I have plenty of my own books to read, but I really want five or six different books from my library that come out this week. I'll write a list, but I'm not sure I will read them (I may end up reading some other books all together).
  Also, does anyone know why the September Galley Grab newsletter never went out? Or is it just me?

  1. Beauty Queens by Libba Bray (currently reading)
  2. Down to the Wire by Shannon Greenland
  3. One Grave at a Time by Jeaniene Frost (on order from library, who knows how long it'll take)
  4. Touch of Frost by Jennifer Estep (then there's the other Estep novel this week! REALLY want that one)
That's my tentative list. Sorry, though I never know what to read. I choose based on the weather, my mood, day of the week...Just kidding ;) though I kind of do have a hard time choosing my own books to read. That's why I like library books--at least then I read by due date, so the list is made for me!

What are you reading?

Sunday, September 25, 2011

This Week in Books (8)

Oh, no. This is such a great week for books, I'm going to HAVE TO break my "library fast" and get at least four of these titles! And to think, I was going to read the books I own all week. Curse you, great book releases!
  Oh, please, someone take my library card!

This fine, fabulous week gives us these great, beautiful (mostly) covered novels. Not to mention all the adult releases that I don't have room for! This so makes up for last week's gimpy list!




Seriously, guys. This is the WEEK for books!
Happy Sunday & happy reading!

Stay With Me by Paul Griffin

Stay With Me - Paul Griffin
Where I got my copy: Publisher, through LibraryThing's Early Reviewers

Synopsis:
An urban romance that will capture your soul, break your heart, and restore your faith in the human spirit
  Fifteen-year-olds Cece and Mack didn't expect to fall in love. She's a sensitive A student; he's a high school dropout. But soon they're spending every moment together, bonding over a rescued dog, telling their secrets, making plans for the future. Everything is perfect. Until. Until. Mack makes a horrible mistake, and in just a few minutes, the future they'd planned becomes impossible. In this stark new reality, both of them must find meaning and hope in the memories of what they had, to survive when the person they love can't stay.
  From award-winning writer Paul Griffin, Stay with Me is both heartbreaking and uplifting, filled with characters (both dog and human) that will forever change the way you look at the world.

_________________________
My thoughts:

This is by far, one of the most realistic novels I've read in months.
  The characters in Stay With Me aren't your cookie-cutter teens trying to find love. They live in the "real world", they work in the real world, and well, they love in the real world.
  When Mack meets Cece, he falls hard. Same for her. At first, you can see this rocky relationship working out. You can imagine them being there for each other, getting past both of their rocky pasts for each other.
  Then one day, Mack messes up. Hell, I didn't see this coming! All of a sudden, Cece and Mack can't be together. Not because they refuse, but because the circumstances prevent them from ever really being together again.
  I don't want to spoil it, so I'll stop trying to summarize.
  The writing is a little hard to get into at first. Not the writing, actually, but the way the characters speak. After about fifty pages though, you get really sucked in. I read the first forty pages, then didn't stop reading until I was done. I can't tell you of a novel I've read recently that sucked me in so much I read nonstop.
  I loved the characters, and though some readers may hate the ending, I understood it. Didn't stop my eyes from misting over a bit, but hey, so what?!
  Loved it, loved the characters, loved their interactions with each other, loved the friendships (with both humans and dogs!) and I wish there would be some kind of sequel. 4/5 stars

Friday, September 23, 2011

Follow Friday (5)


Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee.com and AlisonCanRead.com. It is a weekly meme where bloggers meet and follow one another! The rules are up at Parajunkee and Alison Can Read (linked above) and you can join, too!

This week's question:
"Do you have a favorite series that you read over and over again? Tell us a bit about it and why you keep on revisiting it?"

Yes, I do! Though I mention it so much, I'm starting to feel like a bit of a broken record. My series of choice is the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead. For some reason, I just love these books. I love the main characters, the story line, and I really really like the main lead, Dimitri (talk about H.O.T.). I'm a sucker for 'blood suckers' so really, I love rereading tons of vampire-themed series. I will admit to having read the Twilight Series more than a few times (um...does six count as a few?!).
  I'm not quite sure why I keep rereading it, aside from my abject love for it. It's strange, some people I know never reread a novel, but I think I reread this series at least once every year. I guess when you find a great series, you just don't want to give it up! (Or God forbid forget something!)

  How about you? What's the series you've read and read and read so much you know some chapters by heart?
  Leave your links to your post, or your answer and be sure to follow! I will follow all new followers back :D
  (I need some new blogs to read!)

Thursday, September 22, 2011

Cover Reveal: BITING COLD - Chloe Neill

Another cover reveal, readers! I sure do love seeing covers, don't you? Especially when they're as gorgeous as this one.
  This is for the sixth Chicagoland Vampires novel by the awesome Chloe Neill, titled Biting Cold. I know I'm still waiting for the fifth, but this cover definitely cools me down ;) [hey, I never said I was good at jokes!] 
This is a scheduled release for August/September of 2012.



Oh, and as promised, I present to you...







I know, I'm so lame I love it ;)

Booking Through Thursday (6)

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Deb that anyone can participate in! Click the image to be directed to the page.

This week's question is probably one of my favorites! It is:
"Do you carry books with you when you’re out and about in the world?
And, do you ever try to hide the covers?"


My answer:

Yes, on both accounts. You cannot catch me without a book. I even take them to dinner (but I don't try to hold them open anymore, since the spaghetti incident which was horrible. And it was a library book.)
  The covers that I try to hide are normally to romance novels, or the general adult novels that feature other author's quotes about being sexy and hot and romantic and all that weird stuff (that we all love). Or hey, just people who are half naked. Keep in mind, I'm sixteen, so when my parents see covers with racy people on them, and the words "sexy and hot" they get a little awkward. I cannot tell you how much my dad made fun of me (and told everyone) when he finally looked up the word 'succubus' which is featured on every one of Richelle Mead's Georgina Kincaid series novels. I swear to god I'm still going to be trying to live that down when I'm thirty.
  Not that succubus' are nasty (um, wait, they are). But we have a really old, college dictionary that literally made succubus' sound like vile, dirty, not for fifteen-year-old-eyes things. Which, hey, most of them aren't. But in the case of these novels, they really aren't that bad. Then my sister made it worse by saying, "But the main character isn't bad, really. And she can't have sex with her boyfriend, so what's the big deal?!"
  Seriously. I kid you not.

How about you? Ever hide covers you are embarrassed to be in possession of?
:D

Tuesday, September 20, 2011

Teaser Tuesdays (6)


Teaser Tuesday's is a weekly meme hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading (click the image above to be directed to her page). Anyone can participate! Here are the rules:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open it to a random page
  • Share two "teaser" sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO REVEAL SPOLIERS! (Be sure not to spoil the book for others!
  • Make sure your sentences don't reveal something important!)
  • Include the title and author to, so that other participants can add the book to their TBR lists if they like your teasers!
My teaser this week is from another adult novel (YA's be warned). I'm reading a historical romance called Flawless by Carrie Lofty. This is the first novel by this author that I've read, and I'm loving it so far! This is an ARC, and releases on September 27 of this year. I so love a good historical romance! :D

My teasers:

"Mouth open, he kissed her again and flicked out his tongue, indulging in her salty taste. He lingered there, nipping little bites along that taut tendon, up, up, to the elegant curve of her jaw."

--page 109 of Flawless by Carrie Lofty
What are your teasers?

Monday, September 19, 2011

It's Monday! What are you reading? (5)


What Are You Reading? Is a weekly post hosted by Sheila over at Book Journey (click the image to be taken to her page) where blogger's share the reads they've read this past week and what they're hoping to read this week.

This week has flown by! I feel like I've been reading non-stop! I missed my library sale this weekend because we had fairs going on--called the Balloon A-fair. Where there are rides and games set up at Sunbeau Valley (it's really a horse farm) and then in the evening, hot-air balloons are set off (I guess that's the phrase for it). Also, the day of the fair, there is always a parade uptown--so I spent my weekend listening to the live music.
  Anyways, that's my weekend--but let's get to the books!
  I'm still waiting on my copy of David Levithan's Every You, Every Me, so I'm not going to add that to my list this week--If it takes much longer to get here, I'm going to get it from the library!
 
  This past week, I read:
  1. Mad About Mia - Millie Criswell
  2. Unknown - Rachel Caine
  3. Working Stiff - Rachel Caine
  4. Blood Bound - Rachel Vincent
  5. Unseen - Rachel Caine
  6. Bargains and Betrayals - Shannon Delany
Finally! I'm almost back up to my daily read of one book! I actually did read all those Rachel Caine's--so when I finally stopped, I had to take a breather and come down from a Caine high. I have to read only the latest Morganville Vampires novel to be caught up--in all her series. It's only taken me half a year...

  This week, I'll be reading:

  1. Flawless - Carrie Lofty (reading; e-book)
  2. Devil's Business - Caitlin Kittredge (yay!)
  3. Hellbent - Cherie Priest (double yay!)
  4. The Apocalypse Gene - Carlyle Clark & Suki Michelle
My list is short, because I still have a LOT of books I own to burn through, so I don't want to make a set list because I never really know what book to read first when I own so many!

How about you? What have you read last week? This week? Leave answers, or your link to your own post! :D Happy Monday! (Though are they ever? Happy, I mean?)

Sunday, September 18, 2011

This Week in Books (7)

Ah! I'm so late today on posting this! Sorry. I got so caught up in watching the third Spiderman movie--the only one I had yet to see, that I almost spaced my blog! (I know, tragic.)
  I'm about to start an e-book, so I was thinking that I had something to post, and thankfully, my brain proved me right and reminded me on what was to be done today. Have I ever mentioned how horrible my memory is? It's like some things go right over my head (though mostly it's names...I'm still trying to remember my oldest brother's girlfriend's name...and he's been dating her for over a year!).

This week there are only three releases. But hey, good things come for those who wait, right? Maybe...though I hate waiting. I'm the most impatient person in my house.
  And the titles are...




**You know you want to know the full author list! It is: Melissa Marr, Kelley Armstrong, Rachel Vincent, Sarah Rees Brennan, Jeri Smith-Ready, Mary E. Pearson, Jennifer Lynn Barnes, Jessica Verday, Claudia Gray, Jackson Pearce, Carrie Ryan, Rachel Caine, Kami Garcia, Margaret Stohl, Kimberly Derting and Ally Condie** Whew! What a line up!

Happy reading!
I seriously need to find me some YA books--I have three more adult novels to get through before I can even think about touching my YA stack, so bare with me!

Saturday, September 17, 2011

Cover/Description/Release Reveal: BLOOD ON THE BAYOU - Stacey Jay

Seems there are a lot of cover reveals this week! This is for an awesome adult series I read. (I really need to get one of those parental advisory images to include with all adult series...hmm...)


The description for Blood on the Bayou:

"The second book in a new urban fantasy series featuring mosquito-sized fairies with poisonous bites that drive humans insane.
  It's only been three weeks since Annabelle helped solve the murder of Grace Beauchamp, and in the process, she discovered a secret world of invisible, magic-working people who have decided she might have what it takes to join their ranks.
As best as she can determine, Annabelle’s attack by a group of fairies has infected her with paranormal ability she did not previously possess, including being able to mentally move objects and heal wounds. Her new abilities appear to have few negative side effects, aside from creepy dreams. But would that change if she stopped injecting herself with the mystery drug delivered to her by the even more mysterious Tucker, one of the Invisibles? Leery of trusting criminals with her health, Annabelle wishes she had someone she could talk to about the changes in her life. Enter Hitch, FBI agent and Annabelle’s ex, who’s back in Donaldsonville on an off-the-books investigation. Hitch suspects that there’s a government-funded illegal lab that’s developing a controversial fairy-killing spray that could adversely affect the existence of every living thing in the delta—including humans. And Hitch and Annabelle will have to find a way to work together if they're going to find a way to shut it down."

This releases March 27 of 2012. (Boo! I want this NOW!)

Cover/Description Reveal: INSURGENT - Veronica Roth



People, set your eyes on the awesomeness that is the cover for Insurgent, the sequel to Veronica Roth's Divergent!
And...my nerdness sets in! This is GORGEOUS! I LOVE that tree!
I seriously am dying for this book, but the description will have to suffice for now ;)

"One choice can transform you—or it can destroy you. But every choice has consequences, and as unrest surges in the factions all around her, Tris Prior must continue trying to save those she loves—and herself—while grappling with haunting questions of grief and forgiveness, identity and loyalty, politics and love.

Tris's initiation day should have been marked by celebration and victory with her chosen faction; instead, the day ended with unspeakable horrors. War now looms as conflict between the factions and their ideologies grows. And in times of war, sides must be chosen, secrets will emerge, and choices will become even more irrevocable—and even more powerful. Transformed by her own decisions but also by haunting grief and guilt, radical new discoveries, and shifting relationships, Tris must fully embrace her Divergence, even if she does not know what she may lose by doing so."

Goodreads is telling me it drops in May of 2012. :D

A Life Revealed by Suzi Katz

A Life Revealed - Suzi Katz
Where I got my copy: The author, through Goodreads Giveaways :)

Synopsis:
Tragedy can strike in a split second. But what if that tragedy brings with it both heartache and mystery? After her parents are killed, seventeen-year-old Chloe Jacobs discovers that she's been part of the Witness Security Program her entire life. While enduring twenty-four hour protection from U.S. Marshals, Chloe secretly searches through her tangled family history...and realizes that in order to find the truth, she'll have to fight for her safety, dreams, love...and ultimately her life.

_________________________
My thoughts:

First off, I want to thank the author and Goodreads for the chance to read this book. I won it a few months ago, but just now found the time to crack it open.
  I liked A Life Revealed, but I didn't love it. The main reason I liked it was the premise. It's about a girl, named Chloe, who's parents are killed in a car accident (or so readers believe for the first few chapters). Later on, Chloe learns something shocking: her, and her family have been in the Witness Protection Program for nearly Chloe's entire life. She didn't know about this, so you can probably imagine her shock when realizing that not only has she just lost her parents, but she now has to go into hiding, because her parents weren't in a car accident--they were murdered.
  After that, (which is about five or six chapters in) the book is really mass of problems. Chloe has to change her name, shut out her friends to sever all ties, and eventually move away because her life is in danger.
  Then there's Christopher, on of the marshals who is protecting her whom she falls in love with.
  That's about all I can reveal (ha-ha, no pun intended!) about the premise without spoiling more of the book.
  Okay, that was all why I liked the book. The reason I didn't like the book was mainly because there wasn't much detail. It felt like the main character was barely thinking about anything aside from mediocre things, when in the real world, anyone would be running around screaming.
  There was a definite feel of disconnect for me throughout the entire book. Then the ending, which is a rather large cliffhanger. I think there's another novel out (or planned) but I can't promise I will read it. Even though the ending was rather abrupt, I just don't think I liked this one enough to read more about these characters.
  Like the cover, though! At first glance, I thought that the girl was in a ditch...dirty hands, hair fanned out. But that's not dirt, its charcoal from her art, so, I like the cover more. 3/5 stars.

Friday, September 16, 2011

Follow Friday (4)


Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee.com and AlisonCanRead.com. It is a weekly meme where bloggers meet and follow one another! The rules are up at Parajunkee and Alison Can Read (linked above) and you can join, too!

This week's question:
"It's that pesky magic book fairy again! She has another wish: What imaginary book world would you like to make a reality?"

Oh, man! This is such a hard question. Since my books of preference are ALWAYS fantasy books, there has to be over five-hundred worlds I wish I could make a reality! I really love the Vampire Academy world, but then there's those annoying vampires that are somewhat evil...So, probably the world that Caitlin Kittredge created in her (awesome) Black London series. I know, if you've read it, it sure isn't an ideal world. But I LOVE the way magic is so gritty, and I love how unforgiving every demon/mythical being is. It's pretty awesome!
  Then again, maybe the Allie Beckstrom series by Devon Monk...in her world, magic requires you to pay a price, so no magic use is free. Both worlds are so cool, so it's a bit of a draw ;)

What about you? Leave your link (to your FF post), follow, and I'll follow back! :D

Thursday, September 15, 2011

Booking Through Thursday (5)

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Deb that anyone can participate in! Click the image to be directed to the page.

This week's question:
"Have you ever finished a book and loved it so much you went right back and started re-reading it again?"

Yes! Multiple times! But the one that I remember the most is the first book in the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead, titled, appropriately, Vampire Academy. I didn't start reading this series until after the first four books were already released, so I had a lot to catch up on. But the first one was so surprisingly good that I immediately re-read it, and I've re-read it, from cover to cover at least three times since then.

What about you? Leave answers, or links to your own BTT! :D

Wednesday, September 14, 2011

Cover Reveal: By a Thread - Jennifer Estep

I, until literally moments ago, thought that Spider's Revenge (which releases on the 27th of this month), was the final Elemental Assassin novel by Jennifer Estep. Now, there are seven books contracted, this one featured below being the sixth. It's called By a Thread, uncase you missed the subject title. I'm not including the description, because for some reason it's already posted and I just spoiled Spider's Revenge for myself (curse you, wandering eyes!) but, you can click the book's title above to be directed to the Goodreads page, and ultimately, the description. Note that you have been warned that the description of this novel is a HUGE spoiler for the previous novel. Well, if you read the series, that is. This one drops in February of 2012 (the 28th, I believe).


I LOVE this cover, though. But the cover for Spider's Revenge is so much cooler ;)
  This is an adult series, so, as always, you've been warned!! I know that Jennifer recently released a YA novel (which I have yet to read, sadly) but don't go on a binge of Estep-awesomeness and think "I'm so reading her adult novels!!" when you're less than prepared.
  Adult novels, in my book (or mind...?) are nearly always acceptable for YA's (like me) over the age of 15. I know, I know, read whatever you want. But don't be surprised when you come across...ah, hem...content that is less than suitable for younger readers.
  Either way, this is probably my favorite adult series. In case you're wondering ;)

Tuesday, September 13, 2011

Teaser Tuesdays (5)


Teaser Tuesday's is a weekly meme hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading (click the image above to be directed to her page). Anyone can participate! Here are the rules:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open it to a random page
  • Share two "teaser" sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO REVEAL SPOLIERS! (Be sure not to spoil the book for others!
  • Make sure your sentences don't reveal something important!)
  • Include the title and author to, so that other participants can add the book to their TBR
  • lists if they like your teasers!
This week my teaser is from a book (a second in a series) called Unknown by Rachel Caine. My teaser was carefully chosen, because the section from which it was taken is one of my FAVORITES in any novel--ever. It is so weird, so...strange, that I seriously had a dream about it last night.
  Without further ado:

"My severed hand spasmed, and then it began to move, like a separate and living creature. Tentatively at first--stiff little jabs of the blackened fingers--and then it dug its nails into the wood and curled, looking suddenly like nothing so much as a spider preparing to leap."
--page 151 of Unknown by Rachel Caine.

Makes you wonder, doesn't it?
What are your teasers? :D

Monday, September 12, 2011

It's Monday! What are you reading? (4)



What Are You Reading? Is a weekly post hosted by Sheila over at Book Journey (click the image to be taken to her page) where blogger's share the reads they've read this past week and what they're hoping to read this week.
  I'm so late posting this this morning, so, sorry! This week has been kinda crazy--my Internet keeps messing up, but Time Warner Cable swears the problems will be fixed no later than Friday, so I guess I can endure!

  This past week I read:

  1. Sweetly by Jackson Pearce
  2. The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore
  3. Magic on the Storm by Devon Monk
  4. Second Grave on the Left by Darynda Jones
  5. Mad About Mia by Millie Creswell
Looks like I got all the titles read that I wanted to read! Go me! (haha)

This week I have a LOT of titles I am dying to read! I have Every You, Every Me by David Levithan (thanks Random Buzzers!) on the way, so I hope to be able to crack that open and read sometime before next Monday! Then again, I have tons of books I got from Borders, so my parents are refusing to let me get anything from the library.

  I will be trying to read this week:
  1. Unknown by Rachel Caine (Ah! Finally! I've been dying for this one!)
  2. Working Stiff by Rachel Caine (um...two Rachel Caine's?!)
  3. Bargains & Betrayals by Shannon Delany
  4. Blood Bound by Rachel Vincent
  5. Devil's Business by Caitlin Kittredge
That's going to be it for this week, because I have around 16 titles that I own to choose from, so I don't want to just pick one! :D
Happy reading! And happy Monday (or what's left of it!).

Sunday, September 11, 2011

This Week in Books (6)

There are some pretty good releases this week that I am dying to read! Then again, I still have a bunch of books to read that I bought/won/received, not to mention all the e-books I need to read soon!
  I'm also going to tack on a quick note: I may not get to post everyday this week. I know, I may miss those cool meme's that I love doing, but we're having connection problems in this part of my town. It's literally been raining for a week, and Time Warner Cable (which is what we have for Internet, phone, cable) keeps having issues with the service. I don't know what's going on, but our cable keeps going out, and our phone has been down for like, twelve hours. The Internet is still working, but it's spotty at best! So I apologize in advance if I miss some posts!
  Though they will be mostly meme's, because I only have one review written up. I haven't read a teen book in a few days! :(

This week, we have releasing:




And, as always, these are just the titles I'm going to be reading. I had a few more, but by the looks at them I will never read them, so why post about them? I love spreading the word about books and all, but I'm not going to promote something I'm not ever going to read!

  Happy reading!

Friday, September 9, 2011

I Just Keep Getting Books!

I just got some more books--in the mail this time, so I thought I'd do I real quick post about them. I feel bad for the mailman though, because the first book on the list below was in a huge box, and the mailman had to leave it on top of the mailbox, while the two envelopes for the other books were crammed into the mailbox. (Was that confusing...?)

Anyways, be sure to check these titles out!


  1. The Fox Inheritance by Mary E. Pearson (this is an ARC, though it did come out last week. So I'm a little bummed that it was mailed so late. Good thing I didn't order it from the library, though!)
  2. The Apocalypse Gene by Suki Michelle & Carlyle Clark (I'll be reviewing this for the release next month, and there will also be an author interview, so be sure to check back!)
  3. Jarred Into Being by Pat Lawrence (Not too sure if I'll review this--it isn't a YA novel. Though if I like it, you will definitely be hearing more about it. It sounds a little strange, but hey, I love strange!)

Follow Friday! (3)


Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee.com and AlisonCanRead.com. It is a weekly meme where bloggers meet and follow one another! The rules are up at Parajunkee and Alison Can Read (linked above) and you can join, too!

This week's question:
"Have you ever wanted a villain to win at the end of a story?  If so, which one??

That's a bit of a tough one. See, I've read so many books, I'm having a hard time remembering villain novels. So, since I can't remember, I'm going to have to say no. I do know though that there are some novels I've read in which the "bad" guys get killed off, while the "good" ones live, and I wish the good ones had died because I kinda hate them. But, then where would happy endings be? There wouldn't ever be any! (Muahahhahah! I love tragedies!)

What about you? Answer the question, or leave a link to your Follow Friday!
I will always follow back new followers :)

Thursday, September 8, 2011

Book Haul

I finally got to Borders tonight, and whew! It was so BARE! There were books, yeah, but a lot of them were really old or non-fiction. I even saw two books missing covers, and one with the cover torn clear off! Now, who would do that to a brand-new book?!
  Surprisingly, the "most stocked" YA novels were Last Sacrifice by Richelle Mead, and all of the Twilight novels, by Stephenie Meyer.
  Nearly all of the YA books were gone, aside from fifty copies of some really weird looking Borders Exclusive novel. There had to be at least 100 manga novels scattered around the place--it was a mess!
  I only spent a little over twenty bucks, and got 11 novels. (I remember one time getting FIVE books for around fifty bucks (more like sixty)--this is a huge out-of-business-sale going on!) And, despite all the ones I saw, I only purchased ONE book I've already read (and only because it was like my favorite adult fantasy novel, like, ever).
  Anyhow, here are the lists! (I really need to find room for my books, so I'm not linking the titles right now. Sorry!!)

In YA:
Love on the Lifts - Rachel Hawthorne
The Miles Between - Mary E. Pearson
Almost Final Curtain - Tate Hallaway
The Education of Hailey Kendrick - Eileen Cook
Beauty Queens - Libba Bray

& in adult:
Under Wraps - Hannah Jayne
Warrior - Marie Brennan
Tethered - Amy MacKinnon
The Mistress's Revenge - Tamar Cohen
Nocturne - Syrie James
Bloodshot - Cherie Priest (which is the one I've read)

Now, I have to go Goodreads some of these adult novels--there's nothing I hate more than picking up the second or third in a series without the first.
  Happy reading! :)

Bloodlines by Richelle Mead

Bloodlines - Richelle Mead

Synopsis:
The first book in Richelle Mead's brand-new teen fiction series - set in the same world as Vampire Academy.

When alchemist Sydney is ordered into hiding to protect the life of Moroi princess Jill Dragomir, the last place she expects to be sent is a human private school in Palm Springs, California. But at their new school, the drama is only just beginning.

Populated with new faces as well as familiar ones, Bloodlines explores all the friendship, romance, battles and betrayals that made the #1 New York Times bestselling Vampire Academy series so addictive - this time in a part-vampire, part-human setting where the stakes are even higher and everyone's out for blood.



___________________________
My thoughts:

I. Loved. This. Book.
  No. I'm serious. And I may be struck down with lightning, or heck, maybe you'll kill me yourself but I...kind of liked Bloodlines better than VA. I know, I know! VA is my ultimate-love series. I love it so much, all of my books have cracks in their spines from my loving care (or lack thereof). But Bloodlines is just...better, because we've already learned all the boring vamp-politics and rules crap in VA, so Bloodlines can have an actual storyline and awesome chapters!
  Bloodlines follows Sydney, an Alchemist we meet for the first time in Mead's Blood Promise (correct me if I'm wrong). She's funny, and you know why? Because she isn't trying to be. Characters who don't try to be funny, or, really, authors who write the characters not trying to be funny, always are funny. Sydney, in this case, is just really kind of naive when it comes to the world, so she's learning, and it's funny.
  I'm not an Adrian fan. I disliked him in the VA series because he was distracting Rose from Dimitri. But in Bloodlines, I love him. He's hilariously awesome, and I think that Mead did a good thing deciding on using him as a male-lead. He deserves some face-time. And he deserves a better ending than Rose gave him.
  Note: I realized while reading Bloodlines that Rose is a cheating-whore. But I ignored this while reading VA because of my never ending love for Rose/Dimitri. I dislike Rose a little bit now. I still love Dimitri, though. Sorry, Rose.
  I liked the book, but I have a question that won't leave me the heck alone: If Jill is a Morori, why the heck don't guardians protect her? Why is an Alchemist even needed? Maybe this is explained, and maybe it makes sense to someone, but I re-read the first chapter like, three times and I still can't find the logic. Logic is needed, please, enlighten me!
  I'm getting ahead of myself. Let's keep this decent by saying you should read it, because it rocks, and because Richelle Mead is a genius, and because Adrian rocks, and because Sydney rocks, and because I'm telling you so and because I'm tired of writing a review when I'd much rather be reading more books.
  Note: Bloodlines is a spin-off from Richelle Mead's Vamprire Academy Series (the same world, secondary-characters-turned-lead and confusing vamp-politics) and while it is not required reading, this novel would make more sense if you've read that series. Just saying. Oh, and also, by having read the previous series, when characters make a cameo appearance, you can squeal in delight. And the ending will make your mind spin, and your eyes pop out of your head while straining to find more words where there aren't none. (Please, for the sake of my eyes, release the sequel already!) 5/5 stars.

Booking Through Thursday (4)

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Deb that anyone can participate in! Click the image to be directed to the page.

This week's question asks:
"What are you reading now?
Would you recommend it?
And what’s next?"

I am currently reading the forth Allie Beckstrom novel by Devon Monk titled, Magic on the Storm. I really love this series--it's fresh and really interesting. I'd recommend it for urban fantasy readers who love magic, the supernatural, and really original story lines. Of course, it's an adult novel, so, you've been warned ;)
  This edition's cover is absolutely gorgeous--the artist even included the 'magic-marks' that cover the main character's arms. I was really surprised when I got the book and saw all the detail!

  Up next I'll be reading Darynda Jones' latest, Second Grave on the Left. Really enjoy this series, too. I don't have any YA adult novels until I get to the library (or the bookstore!) but I do have one coming in the mail tomorrow, so I'll be reading that soon.

What are you reading this fine Thursday? :)

Tuesday, September 6, 2011

Cover Reveal: Out of Sight, Of of Time - Ally Carter

I said I'd post the cover to the fifth Gallagher Girl's novel once it was finalized, so here it is!



I'm aware it's small, and also aware that the quality isn't that great. I will post a newer, higher quality image once I can find it somewhere :)

Teaser Tuesdays (4)


Teaser Tuesday's is a weekly meme hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading (click the image above to be directed to her page). Anyone can participate! Here are the rules:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!
Since I just started my current read this morning, my teaser is from the very beginning of the book. Where I'm at now has a great teaser, but I've already seen it on three other sites last week. I like variety, and who doesn't love teasers from the same book as long as they're all unique?

My teasers are:
"And then he charges, his sword held high and cracking with power. He swings, and it comes down like a bullet, aimed for my throat, and I know that there's nothing I can do to stop the blow from decapitating me."
--page 21 of The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore (James Frey and Jobie Hughes)

What are your teasers?

Monday, September 5, 2011

It's Monday! What are you reading? (4)



What Are You Reading? Is a weekly post hosted by Sheila over at Book Journey (click the image to be taken to her page) where blogger's share the reads they've read this past week and what they're hoping to read this week.

This past week I started school, so it looks like I read a little less than I goal for. I'm taking an anthropology course this semester that's really awesome--but, as are most classes, time consuming. I really like the class, and I'm taking it because I've passed my required testing to graduate next year (I'm a junior) and now I really don't have to worry about taking "required" classes. I'm also taking an image design class, because as some readers know, I am a former editor of a resource blog for Myspace's and Facebook's (you know those sites, where you can get premade-everything? They were really popular on Myspace, but I don't know if they are anymore--I don't have a Myspace) I was the sole Photoshopper (haha) of the blog, but, I closed it down because Myspace changed and it was harder to do things.
  In my image design class, though, we have to use this free program called GIMP (maybe you've heard of it?) but I'm having a hard time, because I keep trying to do Photoshop actions and stuff, but then can't. It's driving me crazy--but my teacher is trying to help convert me from a Photoshopper to a GIMP-er. Which probably isn't ever going to happen...
  Anyways! You're here for BOOKS not my boring high school life! Sorry, I ramble a lot ;)

This past week I read:

  1. Clockwork Angel / Cassandra Clare
  2. Soulless / Gail Carriger
  3. A Life Revealed / Suzi Katz
  4. Ghost Town / Rachel Caine
  5. Putting Makeup on Dead People / Jen Violi
Yikes! I read half of what I read last week this week! Let's hope I find some time this week to read a little more, eh?

  I hope to read this week:

  1. Sweetly / Jackson Pearce (currently reading)
  2. The Power of Six / Pittacus Lore (really can't wait to read this one! I loved I Am Number Four!)
  3. Second Grave on the Left / Darynda Jones
  4. Mad About Mia / Millie Criswell
  5. Magic on the Storm / Devon Monk
I'm putting a smaller list down, because I don't want to list books I'm not going to read. It happens--sometimes I get so many books from the library that I can't (or don't) want to read them. Reading the first chapter, or first 50 pages normally helps just about anyone decide if they'll read a book, but me, sometimes I only have to get a look at writing styles and I'm backing out of reading it.
  I didn't get to Borders last week, so here's to hoping I will this week!

  What are you reading?

Sunday, September 4, 2011

This Week in Books (5)

This is actually a pretty great week for book releases. This week's books are releasing between today and next Sunday (though we all know most book releases are on Tuesdays--kind of like DVD releases).
  There is a pretty good list of YA novels, but only one lone adult novel. Though that's okay! That adult novel is the sequel to one of the best adult novels I've ever read in paranormal/urban fantasy for adults.
  Without further ado, here are the lists!




Really gorgeous covers this week--though my two favorite are After Obsession's and Shut Out's. Love them both so much!

And the short adult list:


Happy reading :)
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...