Monday, October 31, 2011

Title/Cover/Description/Release Reveal: BODY AND SOUL by Stacey Kade

Wow, a first here, with all four announcements! True, some (or, well, all) of these could have been updated without my knowledge, but I just got the feed update from the author's website about the cover...and I noticed that in my TBR list, the title/release was missing...so yeah, moving on...Take a look at this:


How cute! Seeing as how there isn't much (cool) editing going on aside from the gradual opaciaty change, well, I have nothing to say ;) Like it though, makes us all hopeful that the ending will be a happy one (like Pride and Prejudice, which I just finished).

Body and Soul by Stacey Kade (The Ghost and the Goth, #3)
Release: May 1, 2012

Description:
"The Ghost
I’ve been trapped in the body of Lily “Ally” Turner for a month now. Talk about a fashion crisis on an epic scale. What worries me more, though, is sometimes I catch Will looking at me like he thinks I’m Lily...or that he wishes I were. Without the good looks of my former self, I don’t know who I am, or if who that is is good enough. I need out of this mess. Now.
  Will and I have been looking for a solution, one that would separate me from Lily without killing her. But it’s not going well. Then, when it seems like things couldn’t get any worse, we run into Misty, my former best friend and boyfriend-stealer extraordinaire, who claims she’s being haunted...by me. Seriously?
  I’m determined to get to the bottom of who’s pretending to be the spirit of Alona Dare (while I’m pretending to be someone else) and then get the heck out of this body. Or die trying...

  The Goth
I’ll admit it. It’s really weird to look at Alona but see Lily. I do know the difference, though, contrary to what Alona might be saying. And Alona is more than a pretty face to me, not that she would believe that.
  Our one lead for some help in this messed up situation might be a page torn from the yellow pages-—the “Psychics” section-—I found in my dad’s stuff. One of the “fakes” seems a bit more real-—and odd-—than the others. Before I can investigate further, though, Alona is off and chasing a ghost that’s probably nothing more than a figment of Misty’s guilty imagination. Now Lily’s family is freaking out because she didn’t come home, my mom is ordering me to stay out of it, and something is definitely wrong with the person formerly known as Lily “Ally” Turner..."



:D

Just Your Average Princess by Kristina Springer

Just Your Average Princess - Kristina Springer
Where I got my copy: Macmillan Children's InGroup

Synopsis:
Jamie Edwards has loved everything about growing up on a pumpkin patch, but ever since her cousin Milan Woods arrived, things have really stunk. Jamie can’t imagine it was easy for Milan to leave her life back in Los Angeles and move to Average, Illinois, population one thousand. But it’s kind of hard to feel sorry for her since (a) Milan’s drop-dead gorgeous; (b) she’s the daughter of two of Hollywood’s hottest film stars; (c) she’s captured the attention of everyone in town, including Danny, Jamie’s crush since forever; and (d) she’s about to steal the title of Pumpkin Princess right out from underneath Jamie.

_________________
My thoughts:
This tiny little book packs a punch. Or well...a pumpkin...(okay, that was lame. Good thing I'm not a comedian!).
  Jamie is...just your average (ha-ha) girl. One who happens to live on a farm, work on a farm, and jeez, even LOVE both of those things. Sure, I love pumpkins and I make a mean pumpkin pie, but working on a farm, no matter how nice it sounds takes guts. (OMG. Guts. Pumpkin-guts? Damn, I'm on a roll! Roll! Ha!)
  She has to pick pumpkins, fill in for people when they're on break and really do a bunch of other stuff around her family's farm/fun-place (it has petting zoos and haunted farm-houses, too. So it's not totally weird.)
  She has a crush on Danny, the twenty-year-old boy who's worked at the farm forever (though she doubts he even likes her like that). She's running for Pumpkin Princess this year, something she's dreamed about since she was little. And then...tragedy strikes. Her famous and beautiful cousin, Milan shows up, seemingly ready to steal everything out from under her!
  I live in a household of siblings--I understand what it's like to be out shined. That's why I think I really connected with this character. Her cousin, Milan is less than nice and generous...sound like anyone you know? (C'mon, everyone has someone in their lives who just isn't...nice). I honestly think that most teens will connect with the main character.
  This novel is so cute; and funny too. I really like Jamie's mind (how she thinks, you know?) she's sweet and kind and everything you expect a country-bumpkin to be. She possesses all the wit and humor that this author knows how to write, too. (Her book, The Expressologist, is pretty cool, too!) She really grows throughout the novel, in the best of ways, and I really enjoyed reading about her.
  This is a small book, so this is a small review. There isn't much more I can say without ruining the plot. But...I did love the ending. It surprised me a little bit, but I enjoyed it nonetheless.
  Oh, and the cover is so adorable! I can't get over it. 4/5 stars

It's Monday! What are you reading? (10)


What Are You Reading? Is a weekly post hosted by Sheila over at Book Journey (click the image to be taken to her page) where blogger's share the reads they've read this past week and what they're hoping to read this week.

Happy Halloween!
I haven't been getting many books read because of my huge Jane Austen project, but here is what I managed this past week:

  1. Just Your Average Princess by Kristina Springer
  2. A Beautiful Dark by Jocelyn Davies (loved this one)
  3. Kiss the Bride by Patricia (Meg) Cabot
  4. Magic at the Gate by Devon Monk
  5. A Werewolf in Manhattan by Vicki Lewis Thompson
This week, I'll be trying to get read (if I get  my research done!)

  1. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (almost done! Like 75 pages to go!)
  2. Spider's Revenge by Jennifer Estep (I'm 90 pages in...somebody tell me it's worth reading. So far I'm bored with this. This series is too freakin' long!)
  3. Absolutely, Positively by Heather Webber
  4. Mind Over Monsters by Jennifer Harlow (wish I was reading this, for Halloween!)
  5. How to Host a Killer Party by Penny Warner
:D All my Halloween books showed up...but I can't read them! Garrh.
Happy reading!

Sunday, October 30, 2011

This Week in Books (13)

Hello fellow goblins...or vampires, princesses, zombies; whatever you were/are going to be for Halloween! Yesterday was Trick-or-Treat in my county, as well as the Oktoberfest Fest, and I saw my share of, well, everything. I'm pretty sure I seen a 40-year-old man dressed as Tigger from Winnie-the-Pooh, so yeah. Seen it all!
  Three releases this week. And guess what?! They ALL SOUND AMAZING! I can't wait to see how the Strange Angels series ends (um, team Graves anyone?!) and Tiger's Voyage better be epic, because I'm not so happy with how that last book ended. I can admit to being a crying mess those last few chapters!
  The final book pictured sounds amazing, and is synopsis-ed as a "Pride and Prejudice" like-novel.  Well, I'm currently reading P&P (for that big school project. I'm also reading three separate Jane Austen biographies, some social histories on England and so on) and I'm starting to see the appeal. Sure, the first half of the novel is boring, but I just hit the half-way mark, and it seems to be picking up ;)

Without further rambling:



Saturday, October 29, 2011

Cover/Description/Release Reveal: BEWITCHING by Alex Flinn


Cool cover, right? Kind of creepy--my favorite kind!
  I've always loved how the text is on Flinn's books, but it looks a little cooler on the word "bewitching". The background looks absoutely divine behind that dress--I'm seriously loving the editing going on here! (Though that moon looks a little to fake for my taste. I think I see a square around the moon--where the originial image ends. Maybe it's just me.)
  What do you think?

  Bewitching by Alex Flinn (Kendra Chronicles, #1)
  Release: March 14, 2012

Description:
"Kendra Hilferty, the witch who curses Kyle Kingsbury in Beastly, tells about her immortal existence-how she discovered she was a witch and the various ways she has used her powers to help people throughout the centuries. (Unfortunately her attempts have often backfired.)
  As it turns out, Kendra has actually had a hand in "Hansel and Gretel," "The Princess and the Pea," and "The Little Mermaid"-but these are not the fairy tales you think you know! Kendra's reminiscences are wrapped around a real-time version of "Cinderella," except the "ugly" stepsister is the good guy.
  With dark twists, hilarious turns, and unexpected endings, Bewitching is a contemporary read for fairy-tale lovers, fantasy fans, and anyone looking for more Alex Flinn."

Friday, October 28, 2011

Follow Friday (9)


Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee.com and AlisonCanRead.com. It is a weekly meme where bloggers meet and follow one another! The rules are up at Parajunkee and Alison Can Read (linked above) and you can join, too!

This week's question:
"If you could have dinner with your favorite book character, who would you eat with and what would you serve?"

I can't just pick one character! There are so many, I would have to host a banquet with a wonderful buffet...But since I kind of hate cooking "for the masses" (ha-ha) I would totally enlist the help of said dinner guests. Then again, since most of my favorite characters are in fact vampires and/or werewolves, I'd be kind of at risk...right? Eh, most of the guys could have me ;)

What about you? :D

Thursday, October 27, 2011

Booking Through Thursday (10)

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Deb that anyone can participate in! Click the image to be directed to the page.
This week's question asks:

"What’s the hardest/most challenging book you’ve ever read? Was it worth the effort? Did you read it by choice or was it an assignment/obligation?"

Not sure if plays are considered books, but Macbeth by William Shakespeare. I hated that book, still do. Every time I had to read it (as per assignment, mind you) I wanted to bash my head into the wall. I don't care what everyone says about Shakespeare being like, the greatest poet/writer of all time, I dislike his work immensely. The only thing worth it was the 'A' I got on the paper about the book.
  Of course, I have to read another one of his books next semester...go figure.

Wednesday, October 26, 2011

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

Lola and the Boy Next Door - Stephanie Perkins

Synopsis:
Budding designer Lola Nolan doesn’t believe in fashion . . . she believes in costume. The more expressive the outfit -- more sparkly, more fun, more wild -- the better. But even though Lola’s style is outrageous, she’s a devoted daughter and friend with some big plans for the future. And everything is pretty perfect (right down to her hot rocker boyfriend) until the dreaded Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, return to the neighborhood.
  When Cricket -- a gifted inventor -- steps out from his twin sister’s shadow and back into Lola’s life, she must finally reconcile a lifetime of feelings for the boy next door.

_____________________
My thoughts:

I don't know what to say. Seriously, I just finished Lola and the Boy Next Door, and yet I'm rendered speechless! I just can't praise this author enough.
  If you aren't reading Stephanie Perkins, well...you're literally missing out.
  I feel kinda torn between which of her novels is better, but Lola shines shines shines, people. The characters, the funky way the main character dresses, the quirky and adorable boy-next-door. The rocker boyfriend, the English boy and the American girl. Gurr! I love them all!
  If I had to choose one word to describe Lola, it'd be fabulous. The novel is just beautiful. I swear I want marry this book.
  Lola is such a different character (literally, everyday she's a new one!) that you can't help but fall in love with her. She's funny, she's so relatable, she's the most original character I've been introduced to this year. I love her outfits and how they remind me of the greatest actresses in the world. I love how she can wear a blue or a green wig and rock it like no one's business.
  Cricket, the boy next door is so freakin' cute and awesome I can't explain it. Seriously, he's so adorable I love him more than ANY other male in a novel. He's better than the badass boys any day. I want a Cricket! And though I liked Lola's boyfriend, Max, for a little while (of course he gets the sympathy card since his GF is all off falling for another boy) I ended up seeing him for who he was all along. Boo, you suck Max! (And whooooo! you rock Cricket!)
  Read this. Because it's awesome and I like telling fellow book-nerds what to do.
  Okay, I'm starting to sound annoying with all  my praise, I shall reel myself in for the sake of my sanity.
  I can't wait to read more Perkins, and I've no doubt she'll  manage to top herself...AGAIN! 5/5 stars!

Tuesday, October 25, 2011

Teaser Tuesdays (11)


Teaser Tuesday's is a weekly meme hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading (click the image above to be directed to her page). Anyone can participate! Here are the rules:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open it to a random page
  • Share two "teaser" sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO REVEAL SPOILERS! (Be sure not to spoil the book for others!
  • Make sure your sentences don't reveal something important!)
  • Include the title and author to, so that other participants can add the book to their TBR lists if they like your teasers!
My TT this week is from a book that I'm sure is going to make my "gold" shelf soon!
  Zee teaser:

"And before I had a chance to do a single thing, to figure out the slightest way to control whatever surged within me, there was a thunderous crack as the side of the water tower split open like the simplest seam and water burst onto the roof.
  The two rogue angels stopped in mid-fight and stared."
--pg 248 of A Beautiful Dark by Jocelyn Davies

:D

Monday, October 24, 2011

Cover/Release Reveal: TIMEPIECE by Myra McEntire



I swear to god I squealed when I saw this! I thought that Hourglass had a cool cover, but O.M.F.G. I'm a total nerd, but DAMN!!!
  Somebody find the mastermind behind this cover and thank him/her. Finally, some talent!
  (The quality is a little low, sorry! I will fix that as soon as I can find a better quality image!)

Timepiece by Myra McEntire (sequel to Hourglass)
Releases: June 12, 2012

It's Monday! What are you reading? (9)


What Are You Reading? Is a weekly post hosted by Sheila over at Book Journey (click the image to be taken to her page) where blogger's share the reads they've read this past week and what they're hoping to read this week.

This past week, I read:

  1. Shadow Blade by Seriessa Glass
  2. The Pledge by Kimberly Derting
  3. Every You, Every Me by David Levitan
  4. Crazy For You by Jennifer Cruzie
  5. Deeply, Desperately by Heather Webber
  6. Fools Rush In by Kristan Higgins
  7. The Specialists: Native Tongue by Shannon Greenland
  8. Kindling the Moon by Jenn Bennett
  9. Amplified by Tara Kelly
Yeesh, I read a lot last week! Shows how much time I have on my hands ;) This week is OGT (Ohio Graduation Test) make-up week, so I have no assignments since I passed all of my OGT's last year. Yay me.

This week's (subject to change) list includes:

  1. Just Your Average Princess by Kristina Springer (currently-reading)
  2. Tempest by Julie Cross
  3. Carrier of the Mark by Leigh Fallon (that is, if it comes in at the library)
  4. A Beautiful Dark by Jocelyn Davies (that is, if it comes in at the library)
That's a small list, but I don't have anything available at the library right now, so you know, I may just have to read through my own books/e-books.

Happy reading!

Sunday, October 23, 2011

Cover Reveal: UNTIL I DIE by Amy Plum


If you're a nerdy-mc-nerd-nerd like me, you are literally dying at this cover! GAH! I thought that the cover for Die For Me was awesome...jeez, then this must be EPIC! Look that at! It's (insert bad word that rhymes with ducking) awesome!

Until I Die by Amy Plum (sequel to Die For Me)
Release: May 3, 2012 (!!)

Leave me alone, I must go swoon. Anyone have any smelling salts...?

Cover/Release Reveal: MASQUE OF THE RED DEATH by Bethany Griffin


*Sigh* Definitely adding this to my favorite cover art folder! Finally, someone found some artistic talent! Though why the heck her face is all blacked out is beyond me. Looking at that bugs me. Grrr. Good thing it's redeemed by that awesome text!

Masque of the Red Death  (I got tired of trying to incorporate the title in the above statement. It's already in the subject, so I always have to think how the heck to add it. This fixes things!)
Release: April 24, 2012

Description:
"Death is impossible and living is impossibly hard for seventeen-year-old Araby Worth in Bethany Griffin‘s The Masque of the Red Death, a sexy, post-Apocalyptic reimagining of Poe’s gothic horror story of the same name.
  The year is 1870 and a deadly virus has decimated the population of North America. Masked corpse-collectors travel the streets, removing the bodies before the contagion can spread. Though Araby tries to escape it all with drugs and parties, even at her most intoxicated she can’t forget her brother’s death-or her guilt for causing it. But things begin to change when William, the fascinating proprietor of the club where she searches for oblivion, and Elliott, nephew of the insane dictator, enter her life. One wants her heart, the other her name.
  Convinced that he has won over his uncle’s army, Elliott believes that having Araby on his arm will charm the populace into supporting a new government. After all, her father is the inventor of the mask which prevents the spread of the plague-for those who can afford it. In return, Araby asks that he make protective masks available to all citizens, which could save the lives of Will’s young siblings, whom she has come to care about.
  But nothing is what it seems. A new contagion called the Red Death is sweeping the city. The revelation that Araby’s father may have created the new virus in his laboratory puts Araby’s life in danger. The mob wants her. The rebels want her. And both boys want her. In this two-book series, what and who Araby chooses may just decide the fate of humanity."

Again, sigh! Sounds so freakin' cool, right?!

This Week in Books (12)

Four releases this week, since I'm no longer including adult novels in this weekly thing.
  Argh, I have to read a really lame book this week for school. Not going to name it, because I will likely be harped on by a bunch of girls who love the book. Lammee. Good thing that this project is worth half my grade for the semester...and we get from now until January to complete it. (Literally. It's 600 points. So that's actually more than half my grade. Drats.)

Books, Sierra, the books? I'm here to learn about books!
  Yeah, yeah, okay. Sorry, inner-self. Though if you're my inner-self you already know about these titles...right?
  Shut up. Just shut up. (Haha, I really hear that a lot. Not from myself but from people I know. I guess I talk a little too much.)
  Of course, last week I was running out of books so I put like 15 on hold from the library...then I got a bunch of books in the mail from Macmillan (Amplified, pictured below, was one of them) and one from St. Martin's (Tempest, not pictured), so I'm kind of being buried in books!



Happy reading, fellow nerds! :D

Friday, October 21, 2011

Follow Friday (8)


Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee.com and AlisonCanRead.com. It is a weekly meme where bloggers meet and follow one another! The rules are up at Parajunkee and Alison Can Read (linked above) and you can join, too!

Late post, I know, but let's get on with it! :D

Q: What superhero is your alter-ego?
A: Oh, no. This question is no good for me. I'm not into the whole super-hero thing. I've always hated movies in which people "save" people (I like the vigilante movies, though), and I've never read a comic in my life. Though I do enjoy the Spiderman movies with Tobey Maguire. So I guess you could say Spiderman...
  Movie-wise, I really love that movie, The Punisher. Could that dude be considered heroic? Gah, I need to improve my artillery of heroes! :D

Thursday, October 20, 2011

Booking Through Thursday (9)

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Deb that anyone can participate in! Click the image to be directed to the page.

This week's question:
"Do your reading habits change when you’re on vacation? Do you read more? Do you indulge in lighter, fluffier books than you usually read? Do you save up special books so you’ll be able to spend real vacation time with them? Or do you just read the same old stuff, vacation or not?"

My answer:
I don't vacation much, but when I do, I always take the lighter-happier themed books with me. No tragedies here, when I'm vacationing! Assuming I have time to read, I will always cart around books that focus on themes that promise happy endings. Do you know how many books you can find that are about vacationing, too? It's weird that I can always find a book that has a setting in/around the area I'm vacationing!

How about you?

Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Cover/Description/Release Reveal: SPELLCASTER - Cara Lynn Shultz



Lookie at what just got a cover/description/release! Spellcaster by Cara Lynn Shultz, the sequel to the awesome Spellbound!

This cover is GORGEOUS! And, if you cant read the little teaser/quote thing it says "She's found true love...But can she keep it?"

This releases on March 27, 2012 (!) and the description:

"Finding your eternal soulmate - easy. 
  Stopping a true-love-hungry evil - not so much…
  After breaking a centuries-old romantic curse, Emma Connor is (almost) glad to get back to normal problems. Although...it's not easy dealing with the jealous cliques and gossip that rule her exclusive Upper East Side prep, even for a sixteen-year-old newbie witch. Having the most-wanted boy in school as her eternal soul mate sure helps ease the pain-especially since wealthy, rocker-hot Brendan Salinger is very good at staying irresistibly close....
  But something dark and hungry is using Emma and Brendan's deepest fears to reveal damaging secrets and destroy their trust in each other. And Emma's crash course in über-spells may not be enough to keep them safe…or to stop an inhuman force bent on making their unsuspected power its own"

Errg. I want this damn book!

The Catastrophic History of You & Me by Jess Rothenberg

The Catastropic History of You & Me - Jess Rothenberg
Where I got my copy: Publisher, through Library Thing Early Reviewers
Release: February 21, 2012

Synopsis:
BRIE'S LIFE ENDS AT SIXTEEN: Her boyfriend tells her he doesn't love her, and the news breaks her heart—literally.
  But now that she's D&G (dead and gone), Brie is about to discover that love is way more complicated than she ever imagined. Back in Half Moon Bay, her family has begun to unravel. Her best friend has been keeping a secret about Jacob, the boy she loved and lost—and the truth behind his shattering betrayal. And then there's Patrick, Brie's mysterious new guide and resident Lost Soul . . . who just might hold the key to her forever after.
  With Patrick's help, Brie will have to pass through the five stages of grief before she's ready to move on. But how do you begin again, when your heart is still in pieces?

_________________
My thoughts:
Catastrophic is the perfect word needed to describe this novel. It literally has it all! Love, anger, betrayal, forgiveness, acceptance. I loved this book to no end, and damn, I wish there was a sequel (not that it's needed...I just loved the characters so much!).
  The novel follows  Brie (yup, like the cheese) who, shockingly, dies of a broken heart following the breakup from her first love, Jacob. If that alone isn't enough to grab your interest, well, see ya. I dare you to find a better novel.
  After her death, Brie is, well, a ghost. Watching her memories in her mind, reliving her first kiss. Checking in on her family/friends. She's not alone, though. There are other people there with her in her afterlife...especially the awesome Patrick. He's so mysterious, even I was stumped. His character's endgame (as in what eventually the readers learn along with the MC) brought tears to my eyes. And that's a huge feat, people. Like, huge.
  I loved the premise: that Brie ultimately needs to go through the five stages of grief in order to move on from her ghostly afterlife, and I loved how she literally did just that. Her emotions were believable and I couldn't imagine the actions being any clearer. I loved the time she spent with Patrick, and heck, he's so swoon-worthy and romantic I'm jealous!
  The writing is brilliant, and if I didn't know this was a first time author I'd swear she'd been writing for years. The characters couldn't get more believable and lovable. I seriously liked every character--even the dog! I hated the boyfriend, Jacob, and the best friend, Sadie for a while, but soon I got over it and I think I can honestly say that I did enjoy their characters.
  I loved how each chapter is headed by a lyric/title of a very good song. Reminds me of another awesome novel, Audrey, Wait by Robin Benway!. Kudos!
  This novel is hilarious, beautiful, heartbreaking and healing. I loved it so much, I think I may go read it again. 5/5 stars.

Tuesday, October 18, 2011

Cover Reveal: THE SAVAGE GRACE - Bree Despain


The cover for Bree Despain's The Savage Grace, people! This is the third--and final!-- in the Dark Divine series, which releases March 13, 2012. Fingers crossed for a happy ending! ;)

The description:
  "A troubled soul. An impossible choice. A final battle.
  Wrestling with the werewolf curse pulsing deep inside of her, Grace Divine was finally able to find her brother, but it nearly cost her everything.
  With her boyfriend, Daniel, stuck in wolf form and Sirhan's death approaching, time is running out for Grace to stop Caleb Kalbi and his gang of demons. If she fails, her family and hometown will perish. Everything rests on Grace's shoulders.
  The final installment in The Dark Divine trilogy brings Daniel and Grace's love story to a breathtaking conclusion."

Teaser Tuesdays (10)


Teaser Tuesday's is a weekly meme hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading (click the image above to be directed to her page). Anyone can participate! Here are the rules:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open it to a random page
  • Share two "teaser" sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO REVEAL SPOILERS! (Be sure not to spoil the book for others!
  • Make sure your sentences don't reveal something important!)
  • Include the title and author to, so that other participants can add the book to their TBR lists if they like your teasers!
Have I got a treat for you ;)
This week, by some miracle, I am reading TWO YA novels (which, normally I'm reading an adult novel...every freakin' Tuesday for like, 8 weeks!). My first teaser is from David Levithan's Every You, Every Me, and the second is from Kimberly Derting's The Pledge (which releases November 15, so ARC teaser!).
  Let's get on with it, shall we? We shall ;)
  The first quote looks weird, but the book is actually written with crossed out text. Cool, right?!

"But for a moment, it felt like finding a body.
  It felt like finding what you I needed to be found."
--page 47 of Every You, Every Me by David Levithan


And since The Pledge is an ARC, I figured I'd better tease you with something none-too-revealing ;)

"What if the rebellion continued to gain momentum, if the queen continued to feel threatened?
  How many more families would cannibalize their young?"
--page 25 (of the ARC, so it's subject to change) of The Pledge by Kimberly Derting

What have you got for me? ;D

Monday, October 17, 2011

Interview With the Authors of The Apocalypse Gene!

Today we have an interview with the authors of The Apocalypse Gene, Suki Michelle and Carlyle Clark. Their book released today, and you can click here to purchase, and here for my review.
  Let's get on with it, shall we?


Q: Tell us a little about yourselves.

A:
Carlyle: I am diametrically opposed to myself. What does that mean? I like Mixed Martial Arts, and I like the Symphony. I love Jay-Z & Chopin, football and musicals, going to events filled with people but only the ones where the point isn’t to socialize like movies & concerts, talking to myself and answering myself (normally in the voice of our insane cat who is of the species Impus Demonicus). I could go on. No don’t you’ve said to much already like always.

Suki: (He really DOES talk to himself in the imaginary voice of our cat.) I love weird people (obviously). I’m an outgoing, gregarious people person who, ironically, can’t tolerate people. I’m a borderline synesthete with odd-number-phobia, and I’m really annoyed that I’m too sensitive for scary movies because I love scary movies (Carlyle actually covers my eyes and says, “don’t look!”). My super power is to ask questions about a TV show exactly one second before it’s answered, an uncanny yet entirely useless skill.

Q: How did you two meet?

A:
Carlyle: We met on the Internet at an online writing workshop. We loved each other’s work, and that turned into loving each other. You might say it was love at first write. 

Suki: I’m going to find it impossible to forgive you for that pun, Carlyle. It was wonderful while it lasted. Bye!  (Kidding, of course.)

Q: How did you both get interested in writing?

A:
Carlyle: Everyone I knew, who watched me piranha through books and had designated me the group tale-teller told me I should write for a living. I finally took a creative writing class at a junior college and wrote a story the class really liked and I thought, hey I loved writing it and they loved reading it, so why not make a living out of love? Suki was already an accomplished poetess but reluctant to commit to fiction, calling herself dabbler when in fact she was dazzling with a sparklingly original “voice.”  So, I badgered and beguiled her into focusing on fiction.

Suki: He really did, and I’m so glad. Fiction is a lot more fun and a lot less high-brow. Plus, now people can actually understand what I write.

Q: What are your writing processes like?

A:
Suki is methodical and exacting and she needs to know how everything fits before she proceeds.  She’s a perfectionist and cannot be rushed. Carlyle favors the spray-n-pray technique. He just gushes out everything that skitters across his noggin, and then goes back and scalpels out all the stuff that doesn’t work. Coming from opposite ends of the spectrum, our conversations about writing can get, shall we say, passionate, but that makes for passionate writing too.

Q: Is there any particular kind of music that you like listening to when writing, or that helps inspire you?

A:
Carlyle: I mostly listen to classical or jazz because anything with words distracts me. Suki requires absolute silence. Absolute. Under pain of death-glare, which Carlyle has experienced time and time again much to his chagrin.


Q: What inspired you to write this novel and why did you choose to write it?

A:
This is always the tough question because telling exact thing that inspired The Apocalypse Gene is a big spoiler. I can say that Suki is a medical transcriptionist, and the inspiration came after a long day typing medical report and Suki playing the what-if game. What if the world was is in the grips of a Pandemic, and the cure had nothing to do with medical science? I came on board because Suki was struggling with the plotting of the novel. I thought it was a brilliant idea. In fact, I was jealous I hadn’t thought of it myself, so it was a no brainer for me to team up with her.

Q: Why did you decide to write urban-fantasy for teens?

A:
We actually never made that decision. We just wrote the story we had in mind without thinking about how to classify it. As it went along, it dawned on us that if fit perfectly into the teen urban-fantasy genre, even if it didn’t have vampires or werewolves. We like to write fast-paced, dynamic scenes which the YA crowd enjoys, so it was natural fit.

Q: Where did you get the idea for the title?

A:
Again, that’s a spoiler so we can’t really explain it, but title makes a lot of sense. Saying more would reveal the crux of the story.

Q: What was the hardest thing to write about in this book?

A:
The hardest part was weaving in a rich backstory, which the reader needs to understand to fully appreciate the novel, without being boring or slowing down what Kirkus referred to as our “break-neck pace”.

Q: What was the easiest?

A:
For Carlyle, it was the action sequences and the humor, two things he really loves. For Suki it was creating vivid descriptions in as few words as possible (her poetic roots) and delving into the emotional worlds of Mikah and Olivya.

Q: What was one of your favorite scenes to write about in the book?

A:
To avoid a spoiler, we’ll pick an early one, which is when Mikah and Olivya first meet in the flesh after an online romance via their holo-sims (avatars). Kids in this world rarely get a chance to meet face to face because the streets are dangerous and everyone goes to virtual school, so it meant a lot to them.

Q: Your characters; tell us what inspired them.

A:
They sprang almost fully formed from a single conversation. We were wondering what a romance would be like if you couldn’t hide your feeling from the other person. Olivya and Mikah have that ability. They know, without doubt, when someone is lying. They can see and feel the emotions of others, and when someone lies, they know it.  When the meet, they’re instantly attracted and they can’t back away from feeling vulnerable because they’re totally onto each other from the first moment.

Q: Why did you choose to create characters with these characteristics?

A:
We found their talents fascinating, and it was an adventure to take them through all the conflicts we threw at them. We gave them these characteristics so we could watch them grow and change, and give them compelling character arcs.

Q: What do you hope that the readers of your novel take from it? What should they learn?

A:
What we hope you take smiles and good memories of a wild, fun ride. Most importantly, we want you to realize that it’s not only okay to be different - it’s wonderful.

Q: Can you tell us anything about upcoming titles you're writing/have written?

A:
Carlyle is working on an adult literary-meets-noir crime thriller with a working title of The Black Song Inside, which was a semi-finalist in this year’s Faulkner-Wisdom Awards for novel-in-progress, and a YA High Fantasy, working title The People’s Champion. He hopes to have both done by the middle of next year.

Suki has two novels in the works, a literary fiction story called A Constellation of Outcomes, and a YA urban fantasy called The Simpleton.

Both Suki and Carlyle have begun working on the sequel to The Apocalypse Gene, which will be completed next year.

Q: What books are you guys currently reading?

A:
Carlyle is listening to the audio book The Black Prism, by Brent Weeks during his commute and while playing fetch with their German Shepherd, and is reading Canticle by Ken Scholes.

Suki is listening to Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides, which is her prime motivation to get up and run in the morning.  She is also reading Under Heaven by Guy Gavriel Kay in the rare times when she has a spare moment.

Q: What is your favorite book?

A:
Now that is really, really tough, but Carlyle will have to go with Burning Angel by James Lee Burke. Suki would have to say Stones from the River by Ursula Hegi.

Q: What authors do you look up to most?

A:
Carlyle: Oh man, that’s a long list so I just list the few that I have read or will read everything they write, James Lee Burke, Steven Erikson, Brandon Sanderson. 
Suki: Leo Tolstoy for his ability create characters so you understand them on every level and Dean Koontz for his ability to tell a complex story in a very simple way.

Q: If you could spend one day with any one person, living or dead, who would it be and why?

A:
Carlyle would spend a day with Spartacus and ask him why instead of fleeing for freedom when he reached the Alps he turned back to march on Rome. I like to think it wasn’t for revenge but for freedom for everyone. The again maybe I don’t’ want to ask him. Sometimes it’s better to dream.
Suki would spend a day with her Mom who passed away before she had a chance to tell her how much she loved her.

Q: Can you share some advice for aspiring authors?

A:
Carlyle: Don’t follow the so-called “Write what you know” advice. It makes no sense, especially if you are writing speculative fiction. Write what you are passionate about. Join writers’ groups or online writers workshops (like we did) to get feedback from people who aren’t influenced by being your friend, or you mother, or your spouse, etc.
Suki: Be open to criticism. The critiques that hurt the most are the ones that can also teach you the most.  As Benjamin Franklin said, “The sting in any rebuke is truth.” 

It's Monday! What are you reading? (8)


What Are You Reading? Is a weekly post hosted by Sheila over at Book Journey (click the image to be taken to her page) where blogger's share the reads they've read this past week and what they're hoping to read this week.

Fly, week fly! It seems that way, doesn't it? ;)

This week, I read;
  1. Loose Screws by Karen Templeton
  2. Truly, Madly by Heather Webber
  3. Untraceable by Laura Griffin
  4. The Mockingjays by Daisy Whitney
  5. Touch of Frost by Jennifer Estep
  6. The Vengeful Dead by J.N. Duncan
  7. Educating Caroline by Patricia Cabot (Meg Cabot's alias)
I feel so great when I get my goal books done, don't you? Well, as long as it's seven titles (per week) I'm always happy!

This week, I think I'll read:

  1. Shadow Blade by Seressia Glass (currently-reading)
  2. Crazy For You by Jennifer Cruzie
  3. Death's Daughter by Amber Brown (yes, that Amber Brown! It's Tara from Buffy!)
  4. Anglophile by Laurie Gwen Shapiro
  5. Every You, Every Me by David Levithan
Of course, that list above is subject to change. Say, if I get better books from the library (psht, doubt it. I only have un-released titles on hold right now, and they keep canceling my request for the latest Elemental Assassin novel. Butt heads) or if I decide to read some of my own titles. I currently have about 15 titles of my own TBR and a few e-books from Galley Grab and various authors. Here's to crossing one's fingers about making myself read a e-book!

What are you reading?

Sunday, October 16, 2011

This Week in Books (11)

Week, where did you go?! I have a HUGE Brit-Lit  project starting this week so I dread this week starting. Boooooo. (And the people we can choose from to do our reports? NOT even in our text books!)
  Some pretty good titles this week, though!
  The covers are all (mostly) gorgeous, so hey, who isn't excited for awesome book covers? (Don't lie. Please. It's degrading.) Can you guess which ones make me swoon? ;)
  One book on the list though I'm not positive it releases this week. Goodreads tells me one date while Amazon tells me otherwise. Eh, either way, you get to know the title and hopefully add it to your TBR list, right? I seriously hate when dates are changed and I don't know about it. Sucks, doesn't it?

Zee books;



Friday, October 14, 2011

Follow Friday (7)


Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee.com and AlisonCanRead.com. It is a weekly meme where bloggers meet and follow one another! The rules are up at Parajunkee and Alison Can Read (linked above) and you can join, too!

This week's question:
"If you could have characters from a book meet and form an epic storyline with characters from a TV series, which characters would you choose and why?"

Oh, my god. Are you kidding me?! What a great question!
  Hands down, I would totally make Sam and Dean Winchester from Supernatural meet up with Bones and Cat from Jeaniene Frost's Night Huntress series to make an epic storyline. Forgetting the fact that both Bones and Cat are vampires and Sam and Dean well, kill vampires, of course! If these four get together, I'd probably die a little from happiness. ;)
  Sam and Dean are totally the most kick-ass paranormal killers on TV, and then Cat and Bones are my favorite vengeful vamps from a book series.
  (I'm seriously getting all excited imagining them all meeting up. Awesome!)

How about you?
Leave links, please :)
And any new followers get followed back, of course! :D

The Apocalypse Gene by Suki Michelle and Carlyle Clark

The Apocalypse Gene - Suki Michelle & Carlyle Clark
Where I got my copy: Authors, for review
Releases: October 17, 2011

Synopsis:
With Pandemic ravaging the globe, Olivya's psychic Sight compels her to see auras riddled with the colors of despair, and now her mother is infected.
  Olivya’s only hope is the mysterious Mikah, a powerful Empath who claims the Pandemic is linked to his clan, the Kindred, and their brooding, monstrous, Immortal Lord. But can she trust this boy who can manipulate her very emotions?
  With Mikah's aid, Olivya races to unearth Kindred secrets, desperate to find a cure, only to discover the Pandemic is far, far more than a mere disease..

___________________
My thoughts;
I really enjoyed The Apocalypse Gene. It was nice to take a break from the normal, fluff of YA--wait, did I say that? Oops, I must've gotten myself confused with some other chick. My bad. Needless to say, I read a lot of books that focus on the "strange" and the "fantasy" but I'd like to say that this novel...I really don't know what category to put in. (I'm saying that it's so original, there isn't a category that suffices. Spam, I confuse myself!)
  Imagine a world in which cancer is raging, all but ruling the world. You have people dying, dropping off daily, at rates that are really alarming. Then you have a girl named Olivya, who can see auras. (If you read my reviews regularly, you know I'm a sucker for the aura-readers!) Then you have a boy (a, ahem, gorgeous boy) named Mikah who can see and--here's the kicker--manipulate emotions!
  What I really, really loved about this novel is the way that technology is interwoven not only into the world itself, but in the way the main character, Olivya speaks and thinks. It's so cool to see, not normal cuss words, but things like spam and other computer-speak as slang. Really cool--especially for a techy-nerd like me.
  If the premise of the novel isn't enough to get your hard drive revving, well, I don't know what to tell you (you sure you're updated on all your software? Nah, I'll wait while you check...). This novel is original, and funky, and at some points, I was really stumped. This doesn't happen much--I'm great at figuring things out. This novel though? Spam, man, it kept me guessing! Loved that about it!
  The writing is phenomenally good for two debut authors. Normally you read those debut authors who are trying to get into their "writing grooves", but these authors read like they've been writing for years!
  Loved the story, loved the characters, and I would love it if there was a sequel! (3/5 stars)

You can get your copy, and read a sample chapter over at TheApocalypseGene.com
& be sure to stop by on Monday for an interview with the authors! (click here for the interview)

Thursday, October 13, 2011

Cover Reveal: GIRL OF NIGHTMARES by Kendare Blake


I have yet to read this book's predecessor, Anna Dressed in Blood, but the cover for the sequel, Girl of Nightmares, is freakin' awesome!

Booking Through Thursday (8)

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Deb that anyone can participate in! Click the image to be directed to the page.

This week's question:
"If you could get a sequel for any book, what would it be?"

Oh, god. There are just SO many books that really deserve sequels. And knowing the authors, there will be sequels sometime. Like when I'm 30. (You know the authors who write a book, then release a follow-up like, years later? Bullcrap.)
  Anyways, I really love Sarah Dessen's novels. And each and every one of them is awesome, and I love how the author mentions most of the characters in her other novels...but my favorite one, Just Listen, totally should have a sequel. I'd love to know how Annabel and Owen are--how Annabel's sister's are, how Owen's family is. Just how everyone's doing! Then again, since they all end with happy-endings, maybe I don't want to know what's happening...(Well, all of Dessen's novels have happy endings aside from Someone Like You, right? Ah, that one KILLED ME!)
  I actually wrote "journals" for my sister's English class (yeah, I'm such a nerd I do a lot of her homework...willingly. What? I'm a pretty good writer when it comes to English and history!) that were about Owen's thoughts/battles during the duration of Just Listen. It was awesome, and I (I mean, uh, my sister) got an A on the paper ;)

How about you? What book(s) do you want a sequel for?

Tuesday, October 11, 2011

Teaser Tuesdays (9)


Teaser Tuesday's is a weekly meme hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading (click the image above to be directed to her page). Anyone can participate! Here are the rules:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open it to a random page
  • Share two "teaser" sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO REVEAL SPOILERS! (Be sure not to spoil the book for others!
  • Make sure your sentences don't reveal something important!)
  • Include the title and author to, so that other participants can add the book to their TBR lists if they like your teasers!
You just can't catch me with a YA book on Tuesday's, it seems!
This week's teaser is a little more than two sentences, but hey, it's dialog!

"She clawed at the gravel.
  "Help! Stop!"
  A hand clamped around her ankle and dragged her back."
--page 4 of Untraceable by Laura Griffin


What are your teasers? Leave your links!

Monday, October 10, 2011

It's Monday! What are you reading? (7)


What Are You Reading? Is a weekly post hosted by Sheila over at Book Journey (click the image to be taken to her page) where blogger's share the reads they've read this past week and what they're hoping to read this week.

This week has flown by! I have a lot of school stuff this week, but then again what high school student doesn't? I did hit up the library yesterday (jeez, that sounds weird!) so I should have some great reads this week ;)

Last week I read:

  1. One Grave at a Time by Jeaniene Frost
  2. Sins of the Angels by Linda Poitevin
  3. The Catastrophic History of You and Me by Jess Rothenberg
  4. Succubus Revealed by Richelle Mead
  5. Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins
  6. The Specialists: The Winning Element by Shannon Greenland
Now, I would have gotten seven books done...had I not made an awesome from scratch (literally. The crust, the filling; everything!) pumpkin pie that turned out great (which kinda surprised everyone, because I kinda blew-up the oven with the last cake I made. Though I make the best cookies from scratch, I swear!). Even if I all but did give myself a heart attack by making it. Never thought that would be so darn difficult!

This week, I shall read:

  1. Loose Screws by Karen Templeton (currently-reading)
  2. Notes From the Blender by Trish Cook & Brendan Halpin
  3. Truly, Madly by Heather Webber
  4. Into the Wild Nerd Yonder by Julie Halpern
  5. Death's Daughter by Amber Benson (My mom literally grabbed this off the shelf at the library. Yes, I go to the library with my mom; so what? Anyways, this author played Terra on Buffy! Really weird, right?)
That's it. Though I have a LOT of other books, I don't want to make a set-list because I have a lot of stuff to do this week :D

Happy reading!

Sunday, October 9, 2011

This Week in Books (10)

This is so late, and I'm sorry! Though I do have a reason. I've been making a completely from-scratch pumpkin pie for the last three hours. Seriously. And this was my idea!
  Turned out awesome, so I'm happy about that!

Anyways, two books this week :) Good. Because I made a trip to the library and got a good stack of books. Maybe I'll post their titles later.

This week we have:



Happy reading, fellow nerds :D

Friday, October 7, 2011

October Galley Grab!

If you participate in Simon & Schuster's Galley Grab program, you know that last month's newsletter never made our emails. This month's did--and it's the earliest I've ever gotten mine!
  Here are the titles that I'll be (trying) to get read:

YA:


and in adult:



That's the list, but then again, I just got LOLA AND THE BOY NEXT DOOR from the library (as well as a few others) so I think I'll *have* to read that first!
Happy reading, everyone!


Note: I'm not participating in Follow Friday today. Next week, though! :D

Thursday, October 6, 2011

Booking Through Thursday (7)

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Deb that anyone can participate in! Click the image to be directed to the page.

This week's question:
"What’s the oddest book you’ve ever read? Did you like it? Hate it? Did it make you think?"

But, there are so many books! Argh!
I'll make this simple: the oddest book I've ever read is Frankenstein by Mary Shelley. I had to read this last year for my English lit class and I HATED it. The book isn't that big either, but (my copy) the text was so crammed together I wanted to slam my head into a wall. It made no sense at some points, and hell yes it made me think. Think why I chose that book over the other three selections.
  That sounds like I really disliked the book. I didn't, in the end. I kept telling everyone what REALLY happened, not in the movie but the book. I also didn't watch the movie (like some people I'm sure did) because I was super afraid I would mess up my own opinions when seeing the film adaptation. I wanted to watch it, but it was in black and white (the one my parents wanted to make me watch) and I loathe black and white movies.
  Thankfully, it wasn't too bad. And I got an A on the paper ;)

What about you?

Wednesday, October 5, 2011

The Fox Inheritance by Mary E. Pearson

The Fox Inheritance - Mary E. Pearson
Where I got my copy: Macmillan Children's InGroup

Synopsis:
  Once there were three. Three friends who loved each other—Jenna, Locke, and Kara. And after a terrible accident destroyed their bodies, their three minds were kept alive, spinning in a digital netherworld. Even in that disembodied nightmare, they were still together. At least at first. When Jenna disappeared, Locke and Kara had to go on without her. Decades passed, and then centuries.
Two-hundred-and-sixty years later, they have been released at last. Given new, perfect bodies, Locke and Kara awaken to a world they know nothing about, where everyone they once knew and loved is long dead.
Everyone except Jenna Fox.


___________________
My thoughts:
I was so excited to learn that one of my all-time favorite novels had a sequel, and I'm happy to say that it was just as shocking, exciting, and thrilling as the first one! (This tends not to happen too often these days. So I'm really glad it did for once.)
  Now, while I didn't like this novel as much as its predecessor, The Adoration of Jenna Fox, I did enjoy it! I loved that this one included more information about Locke and Kara; since I remember while reading Adoration that I really wanted to learn more about them.
  Two hundred sixty years have passed since the accident that took the lives of three best friends. But in this novel, we all know that Jenna Fox survived. What we did not know (prior to reading the description...) is that the minds of Locke and Kara still live on (or did we? Can't remember, I read Adoration a few days after it released like, two years ago). Copies of their minds were made, unbeknownst to Jenna, who thought she had destroyed them when she tossed the hubs holding their minds into a pond.
  Now, Locke and Kara are "born" again. And here's a little tidbit of info that really blew my mind: Kara isn't right. She's acting different, colder. Locke, on the other hand, seems to be okay. Well, that is if you think having your mind uploaded into a new body, 260 years after your death is okay (which, hello, FREAKY!).
  I don't want to spoil this by telling anymore, because really, it's awesome. I don't recommend reading it if you haven't read the first novel, but I guess as a stand-alone it is pretty detailed. Since it follows an entirely new character (it's in Locke's POV) you don't need a background to understand.
  The author does a fabulous job of describing things, and I hope there are more novels to come in this series! (4/5 stars)

Tuesday, October 4, 2011

Teaser Tuesdays (8)



Teaser Tuesday's is a weekly meme hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading (click the image above to be directed to her page). Anyone can participate! Here are the rules:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open it to a random page
  • Share two "teaser" sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO REVEAL SPOILERS! (Be sure not to spoil the book for others!
  • Make sure your sentences don't reveal something important!)
  • Include the title and author to, so that other participants can add the book to their TBR lists if they like your teasers!
I'm late on posting this, I know. I had a hard time finding a teaser, though. Then I remembered this one from a few chapters ago...

"Caim watched the bloody heart quiver into stillness, life fade from blank, staring eyes. Distaste sat thick and bitter in his throat--not for what he'd done, but for how he'd done it."
--page 99 of Sins of the Angels by Linda Poitevin

I am LOVING this book right now. I even stayed up late last night to read some more ;) So, if y'all like angels, demons, and well...demonic angels, you should definitely pick this one up!

Give me your teasers, already! ;D

Monday, October 3, 2011

It's Monday! What are you reading? (6)


What Are You Reading? Is a weekly post hosted by Sheila over at Book Journey (click the image to be taken to her page) where blogger's share the reads they've read this past week and what they're hoping to read this week.

This past week I've read a lot of books. That's what I do when I have no homework and it's raining all the time :)

  1. Beauty Queens by Libba Bray
  2. Under Wraps by Hannah Jayne
  3. The Specialists: Down to the Wire by Shannon Greenland
  4. The Fox Inheritance by Mary E. Pearson
  5. Tethered by Amy MacKinnon
  6. Body Language by Millie Creswell
  7. The Education of Hailey Kendrick by Eileen Cook
  8. Nocturne by Syrie James
Jeez, Sierra. Read much?! Ha! Yay, I'm finally back at my 7 book quota. It's been hard to get all that reading done on top of school and stuff :)

This week, I again don't really have a set list. I'm still waiting on two books in the mail, but they're taking forever to get here. I have a bunch of library books en-route but who knows when they'll get here, either. I guess I'm going to work through my own books, but to be honest, who wants to read older books when there are so many awesome ones that released last week and this week?!

  1. One Grave at a Time by Jeaniene Frost (currently reading)
  2. Touch of Frost by Jennifer Estep (if it comes to my library)
  3. Spider's Revenge by Jennifer Estep (also if it comes to my library)
  4. Succubus Revealed by Richelle Mead (again, if it shows up)
  5. The Specialists: The Winning Element by Shannon Greenland (show up, already!)
& I'm waiting on the mailman (who is seriously slow this time of year) to bring:
  • Every You, Every Me by David Levithan
  • The Catastrophic History of You and Me by Jess Rothenberg
Tell me, what are you reading?
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...