Wednesday, November 30, 2011

CHARMFALL by Chloe Neill, Chapter One!

The first sneak-peek of Chloe Neill's Charmfall is up!
Click here for the chapter.

And, for all you newbies, the deets:
Charmfall by Chloe Neill (Dark Elite, #3)
Releases: January 3, 2012

Description:
"High school can be a battlefield, but for Lily Parker, surviving at St. Sophia’s School for Girls is a matter of life and death...

Protecting Chicago from the dark side can be an exhausting job, especially when you’re a junior. So when the girls of St. Sophia’s start gearing up for Sneak, their fall formal, Lily decides to join in on some good, old-fashioned party prep—even if it means not giving demons, vampires and the twisted magic users known as Reapers her undivided attention.

But when a Reaper infiltrates the school, Lily doesn’t forget what she’s sworn to protect. She reaches deep into herself to draw out her magic—and finds that it’s gone. And it turns out she’s not alone. A magical blackout has slammed through paranormal Chicago, and no one knows what—or who—caused it. But Lily knows getting back her magic is worth the risk of going behind enemy lines..."


And you can enter to win a signed ARC copy of the novel, here on the author's site!

Happy reading, everyone!

Tuesday, November 29, 2011

Teaser Tuesdays (16)


Teaser Tuesday's is a weekly meme hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading (click the image above to be directed to her page). Anyone can participate! Here are the rules:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open it to a random page
  • Share two "teaser" sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO REVEAL SPOILERS! (Be sure not to spoil the book for others!
  • Make sure your sentences don't reveal something important!)
  • Include the title and author to, so that other participants can add the book to their TBR lists if they like your teasers!
My teaser this week is from yet another werewolf novel. I'm seriously hoping that this one is as good as some as the others I've read this past month! :D


"He was bending down toward her, his lips nearly touching her cheek. Then he inhaled sharply, as if he were catching his breath and she jerked, but he kept tight hold of her hand."
--page 108 of Unleashed by Nancy Holder and Debbie Viguie

(The cover over there looks nice, but on my book it's so dark you can barely make out any of the image!)

Monday, November 28, 2011

It's Monday! What are you reading? (14)


What Are You Reading? Is a weekly post hosted by Sheila over at Book Journey (click the image to be taken to her page) where blogger's share the reads they've read this past week and what they're hoping to read this week.

I'm late posting this--apologies! :D
  Last week, I read:

  1. Switched by Amanda Hocking
  2. Original Sin by Lisa Desrochers
  3. The Space Between by Brenna Yovanoff
  4. Drink Deep by Chloe Neill
  5. A Little Scandal by Patricia Cabot
  6. The Art of Seducing a Naked Werewolf by Molly Harper
  7. Reckoning by Lili St. Crow
  8. The Spy Who Left Me by Gina Robinson
  9. Wherever You Go by Heather Davis
I guess Thanksgiving Break is good for something--Reading! :D

Small little list this week--I never know what I'm getting at the library, but these are definite.
  1. Unleashed by Nancy Holder & Debbie Viguie (getting ready to start)
  2. Portrait of My Heart by Patricia Cabot
  3. Love Undercover by Jo Edwards

Sunday, November 27, 2011

This Week in Books (16)

I hope everyone had a happy Turkey Day! I did...since I did not have to see/deal with my extended family. Ahh, freedom. Feels good, doesn't it? (Why, yes, self, it does!)
  My dad ended up making a turkey and other stuff, but we didn't have family over. For once, they all spent time with their boyfriends/girlfriends/wives/husbands. What a relief! Not that I don't like my relatives...Oh, who am I kidding? Who, really, likes their family? If you do, man, I praise you!

Anyways, moving along from my rambling, we have three releases this week, and my local library better give me Kiss of Frost before anyone else...because they know I'm awesome ;D Kidding! (Or am I...? I'm actually not. I get a little peeved when they give new books to people who take ten years to read a book. I mean, if they gave me all the books first, I'd have them read in 24-hrs or less. Then more people could have them...and you'd have a happy Sierra. I read like a dang maniac!)


Happy reading.
And happy holidays! (Which are approaching fast...gifts need to be bought. Books must be sent to people who are awesome and such...*wink wink*)
:D

Saturday, November 26, 2011

Switched by Amanda Hocking

Switched by Amanda Hocking
Release date: January 3, 2012
Where I got my copy: LT Early Reviewers

Synopsis:
When Wendy Everly was six-years-old, her mother was convinced she was a monster and tried to kill her. It isn't until eleven years later that Wendy discovers her mother might have been right. With the help of Finn Holmes, Wendy finds herself in a world she never knew existed - a world both beautiful and frightening, and Wendy's not sure she wants to be a part of it.
 
____________________________
My thoughts:
I was pleasantly surprised by this novel.
  Not only is the writing shocking, but the premise of the novel is interesting enough to keep me reading. Being a tough critic, I know how important this is in a novel. If a book falls flat, or the characters annoy me, I'm done.
  But I can tell you right now that I love this book, and I look forward to reading the others.
  When Wendy Everly was a little girl (six, to be exact) her mother came at her with a knife screaming "You are not my child!" If that isn't enough to draw you in, then well, maybe you shouldn't be reading this review.
  Eleven years later, Wendy is seventeen, her crazy mama is locked up, and she finds out that she...well...she just might not be her mother's child. She isn't, but I didn't want to ruin the surprise...crap, I already did. Uh, sorry.
  The characters were original and compelling. Finn was an interesting enough guy...I wouldn't mind having him around myself (wink wink). Wendy was interesting, too, because she has to be. If she wasn't, I wouldn't be writing this, now would I?
  The only thing I did not like about this novel was well, some of the characters that Wendy meets later on in the novel. But it's okay! Because Wendy hates them too! So, well, we're good.
  Liked the premise, loved the characters, loved the detailed writing even more. Cannot wait to read the other two in this awesome series, and I look forward to reading more by Amanda Hocking! 4/5 stars.

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

Cover/Description/Release Reveal: SHADOW BOUND by Rachel Vincent


Like the cover, though I'm a little peeved that this book doesn't deal directly with the characters from the last book in the series. Bummer.

Shadow Bound by Rachel Vincent (Unbound #2)
Release: June 1, 2012

Description:
"If you live in the dark long enough, you begin to forget the light…

KORI DANIELS is a shadow-walker, able to travel instantly from one shadow to another. After weeks of confinement for betraying her boss, she’s ready to break free of the Tower syndicate for good. But Jake Tower has one final job for Kori, one chance to secure freedom for herself and her sister, Kenley, even if that means taking it from someone else…

  The job? Recruit Ian Holt—or kill him.
  Ian’s ability to manipulate the dark has drawn interest from every syndicate in the world, most notably an invitation from Jake Tower. Though he has no interest in organized crime, Ian accepts the invite, because he’s on a mission of his own. Ian has come to kill Tower’s top Binder: Kori’s little sister.
  Amid the tangle of lies, an unexpected thread of truth connecting Ian and Kori comes to light. But with opposing goals, they’ll have to choose between love and liberty…."

Sounds good enough. I'm just mad, because the cliff-hanger of the last one, and then this not being about those characters...ARGH!

Annnnd, I get to use my rarely-brought-out little image! Yay me!
Enjoy,

Tuesday, November 22, 2011

Teaser Tuesdays (15)


Teaser Tuesday's is a weekly meme hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading (click the image above to be directed to her page). Anyone can participate! Here are the rules:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open it to a random page
  • Share two "teaser" sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO REVEAL SPOILERS! (Be sure not to spoil the book for others!
  • Make sure your sentences don't reveal something important!)
  • Include the title and author to, so that other participants can add the book to their TBR lists if they like your teasers!
My teaser:
"He stifles a laugh and tucks in next to me on the bed, wrapping his arms around me and nuzzling his face into my hair. I want to be mad, but I feel strangely content as I settle into the crook of his shoulder and lose myself in the silk of his skin."
--page 81 of Original Sin by Lisa Desrochers

Monday, November 21, 2011

It's Monday! What are you reading? (13)


What Are You Reading? Is a weekly post hosted by Sheila over at Book Journey (click the image to be taken to her page) where blogger's share the reads they've read this past week and what they're hoping to read this week.

This past week, I've read:
  1. Werewolf in the North Woods by Vicki Lewis Thompson
  2. Darker Still by Leanna Renee Hieber
  3. The Mephisto Covenant: The Redemption of Ajax by Trinity Faegen
  4. Strange Neighbors by Ashlyn Chase
  5. How to Flirt With a Naked Werewolf by Molly Harper
  6. To Wed a Wild Lord by Sabrina Jeffries
This week, I hope to get read:
  1. Switched by Amanda Hocking (currently-reading)
  2. Original Sin by Lisa Desrochers
  3. The Space Between by Brenda Yovanoff
  4. The Reckoning by Lili St. Crow
  5. A Little Scandal by Patricia Cabot
:D What are you reading?

Sunday, November 20, 2011

This Week in Books (15)

This past week went a little slow for me. How about you?
  Good news is this week we only have two days of school before Thanksgiving break. Even better news...we're not having Thanksgiving dinner this year! Why, you may ask, am I happy about this?
  Well, bottom line is: I hate family dinners. I like my family and all (somewhat) but when we all get together, and my siblings bring their "flavors of the week" (their boyfriends/girlfriends) things tend to get a little out of hand. Sure, there's always great food--my mom makes awesome, well, everything. But when you get people together, who don't normally spend much time in the same room together, arguments tend to start and someone always leaves angry.
  This is why I'm happy that I won't have to see any of my family that I don't already see every day. I know, that's kind of cruel, but hey, that's just how I am! I envy the people who say that their Thanksgivings were awesome, because the family was all together. Pfft. Never seen that before!
  At least I finally got Supernatural, Season 6 to watch. I'm going to love this break, I think. ;D
  I'm supposed to go see Breaking Dawn: Pt. 1 tomorrow, so someone please tell me it's worth it. I can't imagine how abruptly it's going to end, but I'm sure I'll be a little angry about it! (Speaking of vampires, if you want a laugh, you should Youtube some clips from the 'Live Free or Twihard' episode of Supernatural. There are so many funny references to Twilight, I couldn't stop laughing!)

This week, there are three fabulous releases, so, pick a title and READ ALREADY!


  • The Future of Us by Jay Asher and Carolyn Mackler
  • Unleashed by Nancy Holder & Debbie Vigui√©
  • Saving June by Hannah Harrington (this is the U.S. release. The Aussie version is already out.)
Happy reading! :D

(I'm off to make a Facebook, simply because I need to contact the winner of my Nightshade giveaway. Seems kind of drastic to have to make a FB when I only need to contact one person, don't you think? Too bad my sister won't contact her for me. Bleck. I'm losing the bet I made with my friend Serena that I'd never make a FB!)

Saturday, November 19, 2011

Cover/Description/Release Reveal: ARISE by Tara Hudson




*Swoon!*. I love this cover, guys! That gradient looks beautiful, and if cover-designers everywhere learned to make awesome text-effects like that, they'd always have my vote! Gorgeous!

Arise by Tara Hudson (Hereafter, #2)
Release: June 5, 2012

Description:
"Amelia—still caught between life and death—must fight for every moment of her relationship with the human boy Joshua. They can hardly even kiss without Amelia accidentally dematerializing.
  Looking for answers, they go to visit some of Joshua’s Seer relatives in New Orleans. But even in a city so famously steeped in the supernatural, Amelia ends up with more questions than answers…and becomes increasingly convinced that she and Joshua can never have a future together.
  Wandering through the French Quarter, Amelia meets other in-between ghosts, and begins to seriously consider joining them. And then she meets Gabrielle. Somehow, against impossible odds, Gaby has found a way to live a sort of half-life...a half-life for which Amelia would pay any price.
  Torn between two worlds, Amelia must choose carefully, before the evil spirits of the netherworld choose for her."

I'm lovely...Are you?

Thanks to Tyler-Rose and Susan at The Feather and the Rose for awarding me this lovely award!

It's now my duty to award fifteen other blogs with this award :D If you happen to be a recipient, please return to favor to fifteen of the loveliest blogs in your blog roll!






  1. Tyler-Rose & Susan @ The Feather and the Rose (because you're both so lovely!)
  2. Natalia @ Dazzling Reads
  3. Jessica @ Imma Bee, Imma Bee... No, wait, Imma Bookworm
  4. Kristan @ Lost Amongst the Shelves
  5. Tribute Books Mama
  6. Anna @ Literary Exploration
  7. The Cozy Reader
  8. Kari @ A Good Addiction
  9. YA Book Reads
  10. Aeicha @ Word Spelunking
  11. The Sagacity Quest
  12. The Busy Bibliophile
  13. MizB @ Should Be Reading
  14. Cana @ Place of Reads
  15. Kelly @ Radiant Shadows

Friday, November 18, 2011

Nightshade by Maryrose Wood; WINNER

Thanks so much for participating in the competition, everyone! I hope we've managed to spread the word a bit about Maryrose Wood's Nightshade!

The winner of the competition run by my blog is: Gabriela H. (Your last name is not being disclosed for privacy reasons.)

Gabriela, please send me an email at sierra.thebestwayoutisthrough@gmail.com, so we can get your book sent out to you!
  :D

 

Thursday, November 17, 2011

Booking Through Thursday (13)

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Deb that anyone can participate in! Click the image to be directed to the page.

This week's question asks:
"Of the books you own, what’s the biggest category/genre? Is this also the category that you actually read the most?"

A:
My biggest category of the books I own is, obviously, YA. And in YA, the biggest genre is paranormal/mystery/romance (I think that's an actual category. Anyways, most the books I own are evenly distributed in those areas.) And I'm such a freak, I have them categorized by "sub-genre". The bottom shelf of one of my bookcases is dedicated to vampires/faeries, and the others according to other types of paranormal freaks. I have two whole shelves of my other bookcase dedicated to romance in both YA and adult...and then they're sorted by size...and grouped together by publisher. Yeah, I'm weird. ;D
  Actually, right now you can't see my careful organization, because I have three stacks of books on all the shelves, because I'm in need of a new bookshelf...
  Anyways, yes, YA is the biggest category I read.

What about you? :D

Wednesday, November 16, 2011

The Pledge by Kimberly Derting

The Pledge by Kimberly Derting

Synopsis:
In the violent country of Ludania, the classes are strictly divided by the language they speak. The smallest transgression, like looking a member of a higher class in the eye while they are speaking their native tongue, results in immediate execution. Seventeen-year-old Charlaina has always been able to understand the languages of all classes, and she's spent her life trying to hide her secret. The only place she can really be free is the drug-fueled underground clubs where people go to shake off the oppressive rules of the world they live in. It's there that she meets a beautiful and mysterious boy named Max who speaks a language she's never heard before . . . and her secret is almost exposed.
  Charlie is intensely attracted to Max, even though she can't be sure where his real loyalties lie. As the emergency drills give way to real crisis and the violence escalates, it becomes clear that Charlie is the key to something much bigger: her country's only chance for freedom from the terrible power of a deadly regime.

_______________________
My thoughts:
What a powerful, exhilarating, poignant experience of a novel! Hands down, my favorite dystopian this year.
  Imagine a world in which language marks your rank. Your social standing decides your language. Lower ranked people--ones with different arrays of languages--are supposed to bow their heads and advert their eyes when any other languages above them are spoken. You don't understand what they are saying, so why would you look at them? Looking at people who stand higher than you is seen as an act of defiance, and could mean your life.
  Then there's our MC, Charlie. Charlie can understand them all. Every language, every infliction. She gets them all. Why? Beats the heck out of me, she's just special.
  Above all else, we have the queen. And of course, you guessed it, she's freakin' evil. Like sick. We even get some insights with "The Queen" chapters that made me shake my head at the actions and thoughts of that queen.
  I LOVED this book. Like other dystopian novels, I was pleasantly surprised at how the author sees this world. I loved the new idea about how language decides your rank, and really your fate. The main character is a strong character, one I think everyone will be willing to root for.
  Charlie goes about her days hiding her ability. Her ability to understand anyone, at any time, no matter what language. That right there decided the fate of this novel on my TBR list (how about yours?).
  When Charlie hits up a club (an underground one, that is) she hears a language she's never heard before. Of course, since she's so awesome, her ability allows her to understand, but really, this is the turning point for the novel. We get to meet new characters that help shape the work, and we get to have nice, confusing battles with oneself on which guy to root for. (Though don't be confused that this is a love triangle. It isn't. Or well, I don't think it is. I hope it doesn't turn out to be. I'm confusing myself.)
  Okay, not much I can really say that won't reveal like, everything.
  I totally think that fans of Lauren Oliver's Delirium or even Veronica Roth's Divergent will enjoy this cool dystopian! 4/5 stars.

Tuesday, November 15, 2011

Teaser Tuesdays (14)


Teaser Tuesday's is a weekly meme hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading (click the image above to be directed to her page). Anyone can participate! Here are the rules:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open it to a random page
  • Share two "teaser" sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO REVEAL SPOILERS! (Be sure not to spoil the book for others!
  • Make sure your sentences don't reveal something important!)
  • Include the title and author to, so that other participants can add the book to their TBR lists if they like your teasers!
This week's teaser comes from a new YA book, which is set in 1880 and written somewhat like a diary. Very interesting!

"This time the dripping sound of blood, thick down her body and falling from her fingertips, came with an omen. Her forearms were turned out to reveal careful knife wounds. the name "Barbara" was carved into her dead, gray-white right forearm."
--page 107 of Darker Still by Leanna Renee Hieber

Cover Reveal: WAKE by Amanda Hocking


The cover art, for the first book in Amanda Hocking's new YA series (due out in 2012)!
  I love this cover! It's absolutely what every YA author should covet for their covers!
 What do you think?

Wake by Amanda Hocking
Releases: August 21, 2012
Description to be announced. :]

Monday, November 14, 2011

It's Monday! What are you reading? (12)


What Are You Reading? Is a weekly post hosted by Sheila over at Book Journey (click the image to be taken to her page) where blogger's share the reads they've read this past week and what they're hoping to read this week

Books, books, books. Someone stop me from reading so many books!
This past week, my mind has consumed:

  1. Carrier of the Mark by Leigh Fallon
  2. Tempest by Julie Cross
  3. Don't Kill the Messenger by Eileen Rendahl
  4. Torn by Erica O'Rourke
  5. Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor
  6. As I Wake by Elizabeth Scott
Hm...almost got 7 books read :D Either way, most of those books up there were AMAZING (the exceptions being number's 1 and 3).
 
  This week, my mind shall consume:
  1. Werewolf in the North Woods by Vicki Lewis Thompson (currently reading)
  2. Darker Still by Leanna Renee Hieber
  3. Original Sin by Lisa Desrochers
  4. The Mephisto Covenant by Trinity Faegen
  5. A Little Scandal by Patricia (Meg) Cabot
There are a few more titles, but I can never be sure if the library will produce them at any given time :D And I'm counting on Mr. UPS to bring me Amanda Hocking's Switched :)

What have you been reading?

Sunday, November 13, 2011

This Week in Books (14)

This week has flown, again, right by :D
  I did, though, get my paper written that I've been talking about--the huge report on Jane Austen. Now I just have to revise it...and it isn't even due until right before winter break in December. What can I say, I like getting things done! Unfortunately, though, now I have to start my Final Project for anthropology...blah. I hate projects :(
  Reading is much more fun ;D


  This week, we have some AMAZING books releasing! From new time authors to authors we know and love, the list this week is as follows: (have you seen a better group of covers...?! They're all so gorgeous!)



And don't forget to enter for your chance to win a personalized copy of Maryrose Wood's NIGHTSHADE!

Thursday, November 10, 2011

Booking Through Thursday (12)

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Deb that anyone can participate in! Click the image to be directed to the page.

This week's question:

"E-readers like the Kindle and iPad are sweeping the nation … do you have one? Do you like it? Do you find it changes your reading/buying habits? If you don’t have one, do you plan to?"

I don't have an e-reader, but I plan on getting one this Christmas. Though, I kind of hate e-books, because I, for some inane reason, love print books. I like smelling the pages by fanning them, and when they're really old they always smell bad, sure, but I still would miss doing weird stuff like that if I completely stopped buying print books. I don't think I would though. Change my buying habits, because I LOVE having a huge book collection. Not only because I love books, but because it's impressive, and people go 'Dammnnn' a lot of the time. ;D

Wednesday, November 9, 2011

Amplified by Tara Kelly

Amplified - Tara Kelly
Where I got my copy: Macmillan Children's InGroup

Synopsis:
When privileged 17-year-old Jasmine gets kicked out of her house, she takes what is left of her savings and flees to Santa Cruz to pursue her dream of becoming a musician. Jasmine finds the ideal room in an oceanfront house, but she needs to convince the three guys living there that she's the perfect roommate and lead guitarist for their band, C-Side. Too bad she has major stage fright and the cute bassist doesn't think a spoiled girl from over the hill can hack it. . .
  In this fresh new novel by critically acclaimed author Tara Kelly, Jasmine finds out what happens when her life gets Amplified.

_____________________
My thoughts:
Oh, my god. I'm seeing mention of one of my favorite bands all over the place! Tara Kelly, you get bonus points for mentioning one of my favorite Placebo songs on the forth page. You kinda blew my mind with that one!
  Amplified was a really good music-related novel. The characters were real and fresh, and since the author knows a thing or two about music, it was accurate and I learned a whole bunch of stuff I never knew.
  Now, normally when you have music related novels, the authors don't mention actual things like this author did. She literally knows what she's talking about, so she gets extra bonus points for that.
  Jasmine was a fun character to read about. Sure, she's from a richy family, and the only thing her father expects her to do is go on off to college like a good little girl. Jasmine has other plans; the main one being staking her independence, getting kicked out of her house by Daddy Dearest and starting all on her own.
  The premise is one that we've all read: girl breaks away from the confines of her family/mom/dad and eventually grows and becomes an independent person. This novel isn't really anything new, but the way in which the character grows is new. She doesn't really have anything in mind besides maybe being in a band. As long as she has her music, however, she's happy. Interesting, but not really new.
  Then you have side characters that are cool, some that are funny as crap, and some you just want to slap over the head. Really, you need a wide-spread cast of characters in order to make anything interesting. Which Tara Kelly does.
  Okay, seeing as how I'm kinda rambling, I'm going to shut up (eventually). I loved what came about, and I admit I was a little scared to read some of the chapters (mainly the first "live" show scene. I was so worried about Jasmine and how she lied to the rest of the band about playing live before. And whoo. What a chapter!).
  The ending is something I have to admit, I foresaw, but hey, I still loved it!
  Lots of good music mentioned, mainly one of my favorite bands (ha! I love it!) and I think that anyone who loves music should pick this one up. (4/5 stars)

Tuesday, November 8, 2011

Teaser Tuesdays (13)


Teaser Tuesday's is a weekly meme hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading (click the image above to be directed to her page). Anyone can participate! Here are the rules:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open it to a random page
  • Share two "teaser" sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO REVEAL SPOILERS! (Be sure not to spoil the book for others!
  • Make sure your sentences don't reveal something important!)
  • Include the title and author to, so that other participants can add the book to their TBR lists if they like your teasers!
My teaser this week is from an early copy of Julie Cross's Tempest! Hope you enjoy :D (Also, so it'll make sense, I've added a little more than 2 sentences!)

"Holly fell to the ground and I wanted to shout, to drop down beside her, but the second the seeping red blood started to show through her robe, I jumped. This time I couldn't seem to control it.
  "But right before everything turned black, I saw it. Her chest rose and then fell again. She was alive and I just left her there."
--page 24 of Tempest by Julie Cross

Monday, November 7, 2011

Cover/Description/Release Reveal: A WANT SO WICKED by Suzanne Young


I like it! Though that chick looks like Jessica Biel... ;D

A Want So Wicked by Suzanne Young (A Need So Beautiful #2)
Releases: June 26, 2012

Description:
"Elise is a normal seventeen-year-old girl until the day she wakes up in a desert park, with no idea who she is.
  After that episode, her life takes a bizarre turn. She’s experiencing unexpected flashes of insight into people’s lives—people she’s never met before. Strangers frighten her with warnings about the approaching Shadows. And although Elise has never had a boyfriend, she suddenly finds herself torn between two handsome but very different young men: Abe, the charming bad boy whose affect on her both seduces and frightens her, and the mysterious Harlin, who’s new to town but with whom Elise feels an urgent, elemental connection—almost as if they are soul mates.
  Now Elise begins to question everything about her life. Why do these guys both want her so desperately? What are the Shadows? Why does the name Charlotte inspire a terrifying familiarity? And who is Elise, really?"

Win a Signed Copy of Nightshade by Maryrose Wood!

The Poison Diaries: Nightshade by Maryrose Wood (The Poison Diaries #2)

Description:
"Sixteen-year-old Jessamine Luxton is heartbroken. Her true love, Weed, the strange and intriguing young man who came into her life so suddenly, has disappeared.
  Jessamine suspects that her own father, Thomas, may have been involved. Thomas was obsessed with poisons and discovering Weed's secret understanding of dangerous plants. This suspicion and her own growing expertise with poisons have changed her. She is no longer innocent. So when Jessamine learns that Weed is alive and in danger, she will do whatever it takes to be reunited with him, including killing whoever gets in her way?"

Want to enter for your chance to win a signed, personalized copy of Maryrose Wood's Nightshade? There are three different ways to enter; through Twitter, Facebook, and the Poison Diaries Website.

There will be one winner, and the contest is open internationally.
The contest will run from today (November 7) through November 14.
Winners will be chosen by Friday, November 18, and contacted through the medium in which they entered. (twitter, facebook...etc)

How do you enter?

Through Twitter: @poisondiaries with ‘signed copy’ referenced and the name of this blog (The Best Way Out is Through).

Through Facebook: Facebook.com/poisondiaries, 'like' the page, leave a 'signed copy' reference (in the form of a comment/etc) and the name of this blog (The Best Way Out is Through).

Through the Poison Diaries website at PoisonDiaries.com: find the plant Arum Maculstum , add it to the ‘My Poison Diary’ and share it via Twitter, including the name of this blog (The Best Way Out is Through).




In order to receive your entry, don't forget to mention the name of the blog!

Good luck!
If you have any trouble, leave a comment on this post or shoot me an email @ sierra.thebestwayoutisthrough@gmail.com 

It's Monday! What are you reading? (11)


What Are You Reading? Is a weekly post hosted by Sheila over at Book Journey (click the image to be taken to her page) where blogger's share the reads they've read this past week and what they're hoping to read this week.

Another week, another batch of books!
This week, I read:

  1. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
  2. Until There Was You by Kristan Higgins
  3. Absoutely, Positively by Heather Webber
  4. Under Attack by Hannah Jayne
  5. F.R.E.A.K.S. Squad: Mind Over Monsters by Jennifer Harlow (so funny!)
  6. Where Demons Fear to Tread by Stephanie Chong
  7. How to Host a Killer Party by Penny Warner
Dang, I didn't know I even read seven books! Good for me, I guess :D
  This week, I'll be reading:

  1. Carrier of the Mark by Leigh Fallon (currently reading...Thought this would be better for some reason!)
  2. Don't Kill The Messenger by Eileen Rendahl
  3. Tempest by Julie Cross (can't find time for this one!)
  4. Torn by Erica O'Rourke
  5. Darker Still by Leanna Renee Hieber
What are you reading? :D

Cover Reveals: RAPTURE and FALLEN IN LOVE by Lauren Kate

Seeing as how I'm going crazy this week with cover reveals, let's combine these two!




They are both gorgeous! I have yet to read Passion, but hey, these covers ROCK! Fallen in Love's cover may be the best in the series after the Fallen cover! :D

The details:
Rapture by Lauren Kate (Fallen, #4)
Release: June 13, 2012
Description to be announced...

Fallen in Love by Lauren Kate (Fallen, #3.5)
Release: January 24, 2012
Description:
"This book is about the only Valentine's day that Luce and Daniel ever had together. How romantic and heartbreaking is that?"

Sunday, November 6, 2011

Cover/Description Reveal: UNDERWORLD by Meg Cabot


Quality isn't great, and I will replace this when a better one is available.
  But...could it be that this cover is just as awesome as Abandon's cover? Dude, I'm seriously loving that arm coming up out of, like, nowhere. In my mind, this is symbolizing hell or some stuff (it makes sense, if you've read the previous book). And I'm a sucker for all types of floral-brushes, so win-win! :D

Underworld by Meg Cabot (Abandon Trilogy, #2)
Release: May 2012

Description:
"Escape from the realm of the dead is impossible when someone there wants you back.
  Seventeen-year-old Pierce Oliviera isn’t dead.
  Not this time.
  But she is being held against her will in the dim, twilit world between heaven and hell, where the spirits of the deceased wait before embarking upon their final journey.
  Her captor, John Hayden, claims it’s for her own safety. Because not all the departed are dear. Some are so unhappy with where they ended up after leaving the Underworld, they’ve come back as Furies, intent on vengeance…on the one who sent them there and on the one whom he loves.
  But while Pierce might be safe from the Furies in the Underworld, far worse dangers could be lurking for her there…and they might have more to do with its ruler than with his enemies.
  And unless Pierce is careful, this time there’ll be no escape."

Cover/Release Reveal: ENDLESSLY by Kiersten White


Squee! Total fangirl moment! I freakin' love ALL of the covers in this series, but purple (aside from blue) is my favorite color. I'm so amazed that they've used the same cover-girl and stuck to their awesome editing! Amazing. I love it!

Endlessly by Kiersten White (Paranormalcy #3)
Release: July 24, 2012

Description: (short 'n' sweet, if that!)
"The third book in the Paranormalcy trilogy.
  The final chapter of Evie's adventures. Old friends, new ones, all wrapped up in impossible decisions. And some ball gowns. Because what's a life of normal and paranormal drama without a ball gown or two? "
Shootin' off a quick apology for all the cover reveals about to be posted...I'm way behind!

Cover/Description/Release Reveal: SHINE by Jeri Smith-Ready



"No other love burned so bright..." That's the quote on the cover up there, and I love it! (The quote. The cover...not so much. Blech. That color reminds me of vomit...erm...sorry!)


Shine by Jeri Smith-Ready (Shade #3)
Release: May 1, 2012

Description:
"No other love has burned so bright.
  Life can change in an instant, and no one understands that better than Aura. It’s been almost a year since her boyfriend tragically died. She’s finally letting go of Logan’s violet-hued ghost, but not her search to uncover the truth about her past.
  As the first in a generation that can see ghosts, Aura is convinced that she has a connection to the Shift. She’s trusted Zachary, ever patient and ever by her side, with all that she knows. But when the government threatens his life in an attempt to learn Aura’s secrets, she will stop at nothing to protect herself and the one she loves...even if that means betraying her own heart."

This Week in Books (14)

Three releases this week. Hopefully, you'll find a new title to add to your TBR :D
  The past week has been pretty hectic for me, what with that huge Jane Austen paper I'm working on. I spent all week busting my a** reading a bunch of biographies and histories on England and then my teacher says that the outline--that was due Thursday (worth 100 points)--wasn't due...just a bibliography was.
  I was so freakin' angry I almost didn't do anything. But, I'm so obsessed with getting a good grade in English that, of course, I did it. Yay me, I totally showed her. ;D
  Also, for the past two weeks I keep getting those "spam" emails on my email account (the one I use only for book newsletters and stuff; seriously, I have about 8 email addresses)...but they're all from my friends. So, I'm sitting here thinking that whoever the heck keeps sending these emails is like moving through these people's contact lists...freaking me out. I have so much stuff saved on that account, if it were to be hacked into, everything would be all messed the heck up. Gahh. Sometimes I really hate the Internet.

This week:


Saturday, November 5, 2011

Cover/Release Reveal: THE SELECTION by Kiera Cass


I'm actually not 100% positive this was recently revealed--I can't remember if I seen this when I marked the book to read or not. Either way, the release is new, because my TBR list said just '2012'.
  This cover is gorgeous. The colors, the photos, the dress, the font. Gorgeous. (Though that chick is a little pale...Sorry! I'm working on my negativity, I swear!)

  The Selection by Kiera Cass (The Selection #1)
  Release: April 4, 2012

  Description:
  "For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in the palace and compete for the heart of the gorgeous Prince Maxon.
  But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn't want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.
  Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she's made for herself- and realizes that the life she's always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined."

Friday, November 4, 2011

Book Announcement: REIGN FALL by Michelle Rowen


I know, I know, two Michelle Rowen's in one day?!
  The third book in DEMON PRINCESS series has been announced, though, so it's totally blog worthy! I've been waiting for this announcement to happen for months!

Reign Fall by Michelle Rowen (Demon Princess #3)
Releases January 2012

Description:
"Prophesies, demon slayers, dragons, homework… It’s going to be a hell of a week!
  It’s been a dangerous ride for Nikki Donovan since she first learned she’s a demon princess. And the ride isn’t over yet!
  She’s just found out that her best friend is a demon slayer in training, one who doesn’t know that Nikki is exactly the prey she’s sworn to hunt. Nikki’s demon king father has signed her up for lessons in how to master her erratic half-demon powers, and that’s on top of her regular homework! Also, she’s torn between two boys—Rhys, the faery king she’s prophesied to marry, and Michael, a Shadow whom she’s forbidden to love.
  To top it all off, a dark force is haunting Nikki, something mysterious and evil that wants the demon princess dead…but who — or what — is it?"

And you (and I!) can read the first three chapters on the author's website, here.

Cover Reveal: DARK KISS by Michelle Rowan


Michelle Rowen, one of my FAVORITE romance authors has a new YA series and the cover has been released! (Check your TBR lists, too. This was previously under a Rowen alias!)
  What do you think of the cover? I kinda like it, though that dude is totally Edward Cullen-ing it with that shirt open and what not. (Um, why does that guy look like Ricky from Secret Life of the American Teenager?...)

Dark Kiss by Michelle Rowen
Releases June 2012
Description: "After her soul is stolen in a kiss, a 16-year-old must join a force of demons and angels to protect humanity from an immortal threat." (Short 'n' sweet, it seems!)

Thursday, November 3, 2011

Title/Cover Reveal: FATED by Alyson Noel


The title for the new Alyson Noel is up! It's called FATED (as well, you can see!).
  That cover is GORGEOUS. Seriously a lot better than the last two releases here on the blog. I'm seriously loving it! Though, um, that font? Ew, no. So cheap looking.
  Even though we're all burnt out on Noel's Immortals series (dude, I almost couldn't finish it) I'm looking forward to some new characters. Let's hope this character is a lot less whiny, too. And less love-stuck. And less blonde. And less Californian. And...Well, okay. Just don't be anything like Ever, please (for the sake of my sanity)!

Fated by Alyson Noel
Releases in May 2012
Description to be announced. (Updated 2.3.12)

Description:
"There’s no escaping the dark truth that is…her destiny.
  At the center of it all is Daire Santos, a 16-year-old girl whose life has taken a bizarre turn—animals follow her, crows mock her, glowing people appear out of nowhere—and the disturbing visions are getting worse.  
  Sent to stay with her grandmother in the dusty plains of Enchantment, New Mexico, it is there that Daire learns of her true calling as a Soul Seeker—one who can navigate between the worlds of the living and the dead. Now she must embrace her fate and find out if Dace, the boy in her dreams, is her one true love…or if he is allied with the enemy she is destined to destroy..."

Booking Through Thursday (11)

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Deb that anyone can participate in! Click the image to be directed to the page.

This week's question asks:
"All other thing being equal, would you rather read a book that’s hard/challenging/rewarding or light/enjoyable/easy?"

My answer:
Dude, easy & light is the way to go. I hate forcing myself to read a challenging book...and where's this reward you're talking about? I never get a "rewarding" experience after reading a horrible book! Damn, wish I did. Half of the book's I've read sucked and yet I still read them (why? I don't freakin' know).
  Considering: Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice. I just read this for school. Took me about four days. Then I started a normal-for-me book, Until There Was You by Kristan Higgins and it took me under one day...so logically, I should stick to light reads. Maybe that's just me *shrugs*.

vs.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...