Saturday, December 31, 2011

Cover Reveal: Touching the Surface by Kimberly Sabatini

I don't know if you've seen this...but I haven't. So...it could have been "released" weeks, even months ago, since it's so far down on my TBR on Goodreads (like 157/483!).
  Anyways, the cover and the details:


Without rambling--I love this cover. It's gorgeous, and it doesn't look too fake...Makes me wanna read it!

Touching the Surface by Kimberly Sabatini
Releases: September 4, 2012

Description:
"Life altering mistakes are meant to alter lives…
  When Elliot dies for the third time, she knows this is her last shot. There are no fourth-timers in this afterlife, so one more chance is all she has to get things right. But before she can move on to her next life, Elliot will be forced to face her past and delve into the painful memories she’d rather keep buried. Memories of people she’s hurt, people she’s betrayed…and people she’s killed.
  As she pieces together the mistakes of her past, Elliot must earn the forgiveness of her best friend and reveal the truth about herself to the two boys she loves…even if it means losing them both forever."

This book sounds very interesting...Too bad it doesn't release sooner!

Happy reading, everyone :) & Happy New Year!!

Wednesday, December 28, 2011

Goodreads Challenge 2011--Have you completed yours?

I just *pauses, wipes tear* feel so COMPLETE! HA!


Be warned books of next year. You're going down.

;D

Has anyone else completed their 2011 Goodreads challenges?

Tuesday, December 27, 2011

Teaser Tuesdays (17)

Teaser Tuesday's is a weekly meme hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading (click the image above to be directed to her page). Anyone can participate! Here are the rules:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open it to a random page
  • Share two "teaser" sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO REVEAL SPOILERS! (Be sure not to spoil the book for others!
  • Make sure your sentences don't reveal something important!)
  • Include the title and author to, so that other participants can add the book to their TBR lists if they like your teasers!
I haven't done TT in a few weeks, so, welcome back, teasers! :D

This week's teaser is:  (It took me forever to get this book!)

"He got up and walked around to my side of the table, pulled me to my feet, and kissed me softly, a drowning, luxurious, knee-buckling kiss, and then took a step back. "That's just a little something to remember me by."
--page 408 of Tiger's Voyage by Colleen Houck

Saturday, December 24, 2011

This Week in Books (19)

Since this weekend is the holidays, it seems weird that there are books actually being published AFTER Christmas, right?
  Seeing as how tomorrow is Christmas, I'm posting this a day early. Now, obviously you can't get these books before Christmas. This post is done the week OF releases, so these books release between today (12/24) and next Saturday (12/31).
  So, say "later" to This Week In Books. For the next one will be posted in 2012!

Merry Christmas, everyone. Happy holidays, for those of you who don't celebrate the infamous X-mas!

The books that you may buy with (hopefully) all those giftcards Grandma and Auntie brings:




Friday, December 23, 2011

Follow Friday (10)


Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee.com and AlisonCanRead.com. It is a weekly meme where bloggers meet and follow one another! The rules are up at Parajunkee and Alison Can Read (linked above) and you can join, too!


I haven't done FF in a few weeks (possibly a month!) so let's get on with it!

Q:  If you had to spend eternity inside the pages of a book which book would you choose and why?

A: Oh, crap. That's such a hard question! Argh! Well, it would probably, for me, have to be a non-dystopian world. I seriously don't think I can live in any other future, or hell, past either. I don't want flying cars, ever, or weird body suits. I don't really want evil paranormals, either. So...maybe Tempest by Julie Cross. I love that the main character can transcend time, and I wish I could do that. The world is a little mad in that book, but only to the main character...Maybe if I were a side character and could time-travel, but not have murderous peeps after me...

What about you?

Tempest by Julie Cross

Tempest by Julie Cross
Releases: January 17, 2012
Where I got my copy: Publisher


Synopsis:
 "The year is 2009.  Nineteen-year-old Jackson Meyer is a normal guy… he’s in college, has a girlfriend… and he can travel back through time. But it’s not like the movies – nothing changes in the present after his jumps, there’s no space-time continuum issues or broken flux capacitors – it’s just harmless fun.
  That is… until the day strangers burst in on Jackson and his girlfriend, Holly, and during a struggle with Jackson, Holly is fatally shot. In his panic, Jackson jumps back two years to 2007, but this is not like his previous time jumps. Now he’s stuck in 2007 and can’t get back to the future.
  Desperate to somehow return to 2009 to save Holly but unable to return to his rightful year, Jackson settles into 2007 and learns what he can about his abilities.
  But it’s not long before the people who shot Holly in 2009 come looking for Jackson in the past, and these “Enemies of Time” will stop at nothing to recruit this powerful young time-traveler.  Recruit… or kill him.
  Piecing together the clues about his father, the Enemies of Time, and himself, Jackson must decide how far he’s willing to go to save Holly… and possibly the entire world."

____________________________
My thoughts:
 Tempest is an emotional thrill ride. This book contains one of the best premises I have come across to date. It's original and fresh, and Cross's writing is just beautiful.
  Jackson can "jump" through time, though his powers seem to render him only the permission to jump back in the past. Normally, Jackson "jumps" and it's as though he splits in two--one half staying in the present while another part of him travels into a past time.
  When Jackson's girlfriend and love, Holly, is shot, out of distress, Jackson jumps into the past, hoping to prevent this from happening. Only he does something he's never done before; he fully jumps--putting himself in the past, literally, without means to get himself back to his "current" time. It seems to Jackson that's he's stuck in the past.
  After numeral failed attempts, Jackson puts himself a few years back in time, and meets Holly, again, trying to live in this "time", while still trying to maintain his secret of
being from the present. Everything seems okay...until the "Enemies of Time"--the two guys who shot Holly--show back up. Then, Jackson, and Holly, are thrown back into the paths of danger.
  That's about all of the premise I can give away--and hell, that seems like too much!
  Normally, I dislike male-POVs because I can't relate. This book, though, is written in such a way that even girls (like me) can relate. It seemed I could feel Jackson's distress when he jumped after Holly got shot--I felt everything he did, and I'm sad to say that I felt the ending the most vicariously.
  Okay, that's all you get to know about the ending: that it's one of the most emotionally-charged endings I've read. I loved it, but I'm dying for the next book!
 I also hope that the movie (that the book is preempted for), lives up to the book. If not, I'll be really disappointed. No one should change this brilliance.
  And since I'm such a cover-slut, well, I must mention the obvious; this cover is gorgeous. I love it.
  Can't wait for the other books! Wonderful. 4/5 stars.

Thursday, December 22, 2011

Booking Through Thursday (16)

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Deb that anyone can participate in! Click the image to be directed to the page.

This week's question:
"Any books you’re hoping to get for the holidays this year?
How about giving? Are you giving any good ones?"


There are a few books I got for the holidays (they're ordered and have almost all arrived), and I even have a handy list made up. The titles I bought this year (for myself) were:

  1. Dark Heart Forever by Lee Monroe
  2. Dark Heart Rising by Lee Monroe
  3. Bloodspell by Amalie Howard
  4. Exile by Rebecca Lim
  5. Muse by Rebecca Lim
  6. Angel Fire by L.A. Weatherly
  7. Stay by C.C. Jackson
  8. Dark Angel- Eden Maguire
  9. Hunting Lila- Sarah Alderson
Of course, I want to give books because I love giving books--but I seem to be the only one who actually ENJOYS getting books for Christmas! My older sister was saying how she wants Water for Elephants, because she loved the movie, but I need some help if I get it. I've been reading mixed reviews--people saying that the book sucks and the movie was 100x better. I wouldn't want to buy it, and she never read it!

Anyways, happy holidays everyone!

Sunday, December 18, 2011

This Week in Books (18)

Welcome back, This Week in Books (and it looks like you got spruced up with that adorable snowman found on Google)! Last week, sadly, I didn't have any books to announce *frowns* but hey, this week I have four!
  How's your week been? Mine's been a little funky. I've been baking cookies out the wazoo, and I think I'm getting a cold. (Hopefully, this won't be like that one episode of The Big Bang Theory when Sheldon (he's my favorite! haha) hugs Penny on Valentine's and then they both get the flu...Though I don't know how alike this is. I don't hug people. Ever. I do bake though, but being the freak I am I wash my hands if I touch ANYTHING. Even if it's just flour or something! I'm so obsessed with soaping it up and disinfecting every surface I even think may touch my food.)
  Anyways, I have to make more sugar cookies today. You wouldn't believe how fast they're eaten in this house! And yesterday my dad was giving out my peanut-butter thumbprint cookies at work, and these people want to pay me to make them cookies! Jeez!

Shut up, Sierra. (Sadly, I hear that a lot. Scrooge's. It's like they don't like hearing about my life. You should see people's eyes glaze over when I start talking about advances in technology. I was telling someone yesterday about how quickly the robot apocalypse is approaching, and I swear she almost passed our from boredom. *Thank god Lady Gaga gave me a reason to say "I was born this way" when people ask me why I'm so strange.* LOL.)
  One more thing: I found these AWESOME Nightmare Before Christmas bookmarks, but they got sold before I could buy them! Does anyone know where I can get ACTUAL bookmarks, not paper, preferably plastic and laminated, and w/o those lame tassels?
  Wait, no, two things: I got 5 of my 9 books from HPB! And they're all IMPORTS so I'm reading some Aussie/UK editions, peepos. This is the way to go. I mean, why wait until late next year for the American releases when I can buy the damn books from foreign sellers? Pfft. I'm the most impatient person you'll ever meet, mind you.

Dang, I'm still talking? Sorry. Really, I am.
BOOKS!



Happy reading and holidays!

Friday, December 16, 2011

Editing

The blog may look a little strange for a while because I'm changing the template, background, and header image.

:D

Update:
Okay, good to go!
What do you think of the new background/header? (I made them myself, thank you.)

*I noticed that if you're using a reg. screen res that you can't really see the background. I have wide-screen, so it looks a lot better, but on my sister's desktop computer (non-wide screen) it looks all...strange.*
On another note:
There aren't any meme's this week, again! I'm way too busy working on getting school stuff done before break next week.

Happy reading (and blogging!), everyone!

Wednesday, December 14, 2011

Every You, Every Me by David Levithan

Every You, Every Me by David Levithan
Where I got my copy: Random Buzzers

Synopsis:
"In this high school-set psychological tale, a tormented teen named Evan starts to discover a series of unnerving photographs—some of which feature him. Someone is stalking him . . . messing with him . . . threatening him. Worse, ever since his best friend Ariel has been gone, he's been unable to sleep, spending night after night torturing himself for his role in her absence. And as crazy as it sounds, Evan's starting to believe it's Ariel that's behind all of this, punishing him. But the more Evan starts to unravel the mystery, the more his paranoia and insomnia amplify, and the more he starts to unravel himself. Creatively told with black-and-white photos interspersed between the text so the reader can see the photos that are so unnerving to Evan, Every You, Every Me is a one-of-a-kind departure from a one-of-a-kind author."

__________________________
My thoughts:
Every You, Every Me is one of those rare books in which you can pick it up, read, and not stop reading until the book is done. Seeing as how it's a very fast-paced mystery novel, I'm honestly surprised how good it was.
  There are two interesting things about this work: One, it has photographs. Never have I read a YA (or adult, for that matter) novel in which the work contains photographs. Each and every one is just beautiful, and really makes the story worth-while.
  The other thing is how Levithan wrote the actual text. Normally, but with thoughts the main character had and "crossed" out. Don't not read the crossed out parts, or damn, you'll miss out on the entire story!
  The book follows Evan in the wake of a mystery surrounding his best friend, Airel. I'm not going to spoil that mystery because really, it had me wracking my brains for the length of the novel. That in itself is a rarity of it's own.
  Mystery, questions, worry and just about every other emotion warred within me as I read Every You, Every Me. I was left guessing, and dying for more. I can honestly say this book kept me guessing from page one until the very end. Kudos!
  This is a short review for a short novel. But one more thing: How cool is it that the title of this book is from a Placebo song? OMG, you've never heard of Placebo?! You've never heard the genius that is Brian Molko?! BLASPHEMY! Get the frick off my review and go listen to them. Seriously. Do it. Now. 4/5 stars

Tuesday, December 13, 2011

Cover/Release Reveal: SWEET EVIL by Wendy Higgins


*Fans self*
Whoo! Is that a gorgeous cover or what? Love love love it!

Details, anyone?

Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins
Release: May 1, 2012

Description:
"What if there were teens whose lives literally depended on being bad influences? This is life for sons and daughters of fallen angels in Sweet Evil.
  Anna, a tender-hearted southern girl, was born with the sixth sense to see and feel emotions of other people. She’s aware of a struggle within herself, an inexplicable pull toward danger, but it isn’t until she turns sixteen and meets the alluring Kaidan Rowe that she discovers her terrifying heritage, and her will-power is put to the test. He’s the boy your daddy warned you about. If only someone had warned Anna.

  A cross-country trip forces Anna and Kai to face the reality that hope and love are not options for their kind. When it's time for Anna to confront her demons, will she choose to embrace her halo or her horns?"

Oh, brother. Can't wait for this one! :D

Monday, December 12, 2011

:D

Never fear, fellow readers, I am not dead (just yet. Though it'll happen in a few...decades or something!).
I haven't been posting because (1) my Internet is acting up (again. Thanks TWC, you rock) and (2) my meme's are exhausted. I'm tired of my meme's...I want new ones! But there aren't any releases in books this week (gasp!) so I couldn't post about that either.
  Tomorrow brings new meme's and...maybe a new look? I have an amazing header I just finished making, now I'm looking for a background image. :D

And for your viewing pleasure, an image acquired from WeHeartIt.com (and found via my sister's tumblr):


I so wish I had this! Though...aren't those the "high power" outside lights that could potentially LIGHT THOSE BOOKS ON FIRE? OMG. DON'T BURN THOSE BOOKS!
  I'm off to find my next read...though I must read Hamlet for school (damn. Fifty pages before tomorrow!)...
  Oh, but I did get one-hundred dollars (omg, did my heart just stop?) worth of books ordered for Christmas! Dude, it was twenty dollars in shipping alone! And only 9 books! Gurrr.

Happy reading! (Someone find the person who took that photo and warn them of the fire-hazard. Think of the books!)

Thursday, December 8, 2011

Booking Through Thursday (15)

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Deb that anyone can participate in! Click the image to be directed to the page.

This week's question:
"All things being equal, which would you prefer–a mystery? Or a love story?"

A mix of the two! A cozy-mystery is always my preference when it comes to mysteries! I like mysteries all by themselves, and God knows I love a romance title any day of the week--but they're so much better combined!

Wednesday, December 7, 2011

Cover/Description Reveal: THE FAULT IN OUR STARS by John Green


Not sure when this was posted, but I do know that it wasn't on my TBR list until just now when I read the description :D Sounds amazing--though I'm not a huge Green fan. I've only read one of his novels *gasp* (Paper Towns), and tried the others, but never finished them. My sister (and tons of people on GR) swear that Looking For Alaska is like, the best book in the universe. But from the fifty pages I read, it sounded like a copy of Paper Towns...*shrugs* I will have to try again sometime, when I'm at a loss for what to read.
  Love this cover though--you can't go wrong with eye-catching colors and simplicity!

Anyways, the deets:

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
Release: January 10, 2012

Description:
"Diagnosed with Stage IV thyroid cancer at 12, Hazel was prepared to die until, at 14, a medical miracle shrunk the tumours in her lungs... for now.
  Two years post-miracle, sixteen-year-old Hazel is post-everything else, too post-high school, post-friends and post-normalcy. And even though she could live for a long time (whatever that means), Hazel lives tethered to an oxygen tank, the tumours tenuously kept at bay with a constant chemical assault.
  Enter Augustus Waters. A match made at cancer kid support group, Augustus is gorgeous, in remission, and shockingly to her, interested in Hazel. Being with Augustus is both an unexpected destination and a long-needed journey, pushing Hazel to re-examine how sickness and health, life and death, will define her and the legacy that everyone leaves behind."


What do you think? Sound good?

Touch of Frost by Jennifer Estep

(Took me two months to get this review posted...Yikes!)

Touch of Frost by Jennifer Estep
Mythos Academy #1

Synopsis:

My name is Gwen Frost, and I go to Mythos Academy — a school of myths, magic and warrior whiz kids, where even the lowliest geek knows how to chop off somebody's head with a sword and Logan Quinn, the hottest Spartan guy in school, also happens to be the deadliest.
But lately, things have been weird, even for Mythos. First, mean girl Jasmine Ashton was murdered in the Library of Antiquities. Then, someone stole the Bowl of Tears, a magical artifact that can be used to bring about the second Chaos War. You know, death, destruction and lots of other bad, bad things. Freaky stuff like this goes on all the time at Mythos, but I'm determined to find out who killed Jasmine and why—especially since I should have been the one who died. . .

__________________________
My thoughts:
I love Jennifer Estep.
  Her adult series, Elemental Assassin, is my all-time favorite series. (And, also, when you see mention of the Pork Pit in Frost, know that that is the place the MC in Estep's Assassin series owns/runs. Just sayin'.)
  But I'm not here to rave about that awesome stuff. Today, we're talking about her take on YA.
  Touch of Frost really reminds me of Enchanted Ivy by Beth Durst. What with the mythos school, magic, the gargoyles and other various things. But, even as alike the two books are, Frost is so much better.
  The main character is the type of character we all love to root for. The girl who doesn't have any friends, is kinda weird, doesn't fit in and so on. These kind of characters in YA are my favorite. Sure, the concept is used a lot, but still, I love them.
  Gwen, following the death of her mother, is tossed into a school for, well, gods. Mythos Academy focuses on the gods of myth, mainly. And well, Gwen doesn't fit in. She has that cool power, psychometry. (Like the girl in the Touch series by Laurie Faria Stolarz.)
  So, obviously, Gwen is all like 'why am I here, I'm not a freakin' god!' and therefore, is kind of annoying. In that people-we-love-to-hate kind of way. Though I really did enjoy her character, she was kind of annoying at times.
  Oh, oh, and don't let me forget the hottie of this fabulous novel, Logan Quinn! I love Logan's standoffish nature; I love how much of a man-whore Gwen thinks he is. And even after that ending (the second-to-last-chapter) I still love him. Why, do you ask? (To those of you who have read the work:) Because, I can see this series going in SO many directions. Seriously. Can't you? I love the tragic I-can't-have-you romances that plague YA lit. They rock, and well, all good readers know that those kinds of situations normally just fester and blow the heck up.
  The side characters, mainly Daphne, are also pretty cool...for a stuck up popular-chick.
  The writing, obviously, was awesome (since, hello, this author isn't NEW to writing!) and I really really want that damn sequel. Because if I have to sit here, thinking about WTF is going to happen between Gwen and Logan for like, months, I'mmuh get a little angry. So...release that sequel!* 4/5 stars.

*The sequel, Kiss of Frost, has been released!* :D

Tuesday, December 6, 2011

Goodreads Choice 2011 -- Winners!



We've voted--now it's time to see the winners!
I'm happy to say that a lot of the books I voted for won!
Click here, or click the logo over there to see the full list of winning titles/authors!
Congrats, everyone!

Sunday, December 4, 2011

This Week in Books (17)

How was your week? Mine was full of...nothing! Good news, I got my Pride & Prejudice paper turned in, though my teacher has yet to grade it. Bad news: I have to make a PowerPoint today that's due tomorrow and summarizes my paper...why? Because my teacher is crazy, that's why!
  This week, as you can see, there are a LOT OF RELEASES. Good, though. Since people are holiday shopping and all! I'm buying the books that aren't yet released in America/at my library/at the stores...that is seven titles...all equaling around eighty bucks. Sucks, right? I now have to wait until my birthday to get my eReader, since I realized that with all of these books I want, and the other stuff I'm thinking of getting seriously cuts into my quota of spending money...But never fear. My birthday is literally one month and a day after Christmas, so that isn't that long of a wait! :)

Anyways, those releases I was talking about are as follows...






That's quite a list! It's a good thing I currently have no books in my TBR...since I'll be putting most of these on my new list! :D

Happy reading! (And wish me luck...today we're putting the Christmas tree up. Booo.)

Thursday, December 1, 2011

Booking Through Thursday (14)

Booking Through Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Deb that anyone can participate in! Click the image to be directed to the page.

This week's question asks,
"Do you find that your mood affects the things you read? Like, if you’re in a bad mood, do you tend to indulge in reading that will support it or do you try to read things that will cheer you up? Do you pick different types of books on dreary, rainy days than you do on bright sunny ones? For that matter, does your mood color what you’re reading, so that a funny book isn’t so funny or a serious one not so deep?"

A: I really don't think so. If I'm reading a cheery, happy YA book, but I'm in a don't-look-at-me mood, I keep reading. I'm the kind of person who can't read more than two books at a time. Honestly, if I read according to mood, I'd never get anything done! I just read whatever I'm currently-reading...and hope that it can manage to calm my moods.

  How about you?
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...