Tuesday, January 31, 2012

Teaser Tuesdays (18)


Teaser Tuesday's is a weekly meme hosted by MizB over at Should Be Reading (click the image above to be directed to her page). Anyone can participate! Here are the rules:
  • Grab your current read
  • Open it to a random page
  • Share two "teaser" sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO REVEAL SPOILERS! (Be sure not to spoil the book for others!
  • Make sure your sentences don't reveal something important!)
  • Include the title and author to, so that other participants can add the book to their TBR lists if they like your teasers!
This week's teaser: (little more than two sentences!)

"You've got me," I whisper.
  He kisses me again. And I kiss him back.
  But the image of Christian Prescott, standing with his back to me at Fox Creek Road, waiting for me, always waiting, suddenly flashes through my mind."
--page 44 of Hallowed by Cynthia Hand

Sunday, January 29, 2012

This Week in Books (24)

Last week marked the start of a new semester for my school (how about yours?) and I'm liking my classes! I thought I'd seriously hate the required Government & Politics class but this class is so easy it should be like, a sin. I'm RE-learning everything I must have learned in third and forth grade--in other words, it's so easy I'm kind of ashamed of my school!
  We have a few good releases this week! I'm running out of books in my TBR, but I know if I go to the library, I'll be coming home with like, twenty books--only two of them being YA! My library is kinda low on YA titles, but the libraries across Ohio have plenty (though I have to order them, and it can take up to a month to get them!).
  Anyways, the releases this week are:


Thursday, January 26, 2012

Happy Birthday to Me :D

Yowza. I'm seventeen today. I even made my own cake! (Why did I  make my own cake? Because I'm the only one in my house who knows how to bake anything and not completely fail at it! I made homemade apple crisp the other day, and my brother's girlfriend wants to pay me to make her some. I bet she's gunna take it to her mama's and play it off as her own baking...) I normally get an ice-cream cake from Dairy Queen, but last year they spelt my name wrong (that was the second time in as many years!), even though we told them how to spell it...And even wrote it down.
  Anyways, I'm off to take more cold medicine...Because it's my luck to be sick on my birthday! (Thanks to my idjit of a sister who went spit swapping with her boyfriend not 24-hrs after he had the damn flu! It's a little better to know that SHE's puking her guts out while I just have the sniffles.)
 Hope you guys have a nice day! (Even though I'm kinda not!)

Happy reading! :D
(Also, I'm going to try to get back to my old meme's next week. I was sick of 'em, but now I miss them!)

Sunday, January 22, 2012

This Week in Books (23)

Not much has happened on my front this past week, as you can tell by the posts! I haven't been posting because of a lack of book news, and also, I'm really busy what with end of semester exams/finishing up anything by tonight at midnight. Good news is that I closed off this semester with all As/Bs! Whoo!
  Lameness, though, that Tuesday I start three new classes: geometry, psychology and government & politics (gurrrr!).
  This week's book releases are sadly small, and there is a update to tell you.
Enshadowed (Nevermore, #2) by Kelly Creagh was pushed from a January 2012 release date to August 28, 2012 release date. I'm so sad! I really want this book, too!
  I do have more exciting news: In the coming weeks, I'll be running TWO contests (one for the YA lovers and one for the adult lovers!). I'm going to be giving away a ARC copy of Aimee Carter's GODDESS INTERRUPTED, and FIVE SETS (that's five winners of two books) of both Under Wraps & Under Attack by Hannah Jayne. Stay tuned for deets!
 
Anways, the two releases are;



  • Angel Fire by L.A. Weatherly (I've already read this, and I'm telling you right now: WORTH IT! I loved this one. Not as much as the first, but it was damn good!)
  • Forbidden by Syrie James & Ryan M. James

Wednesday, January 18, 2012

Borrowing Abby Grace: Girl Steals Guy by Kelly Green

Borrowing Abby Grace: Girl Steals Guy by Kelly Green
Where I got my copy: Author, for review

Synopsis:
"As Abby has learned, she is now a Shadow, sent to inhabit the lives of strangers in trouble. Dropped into the life of a gorgeous senior with a heartbroken best friend, Abby is instructed to “reunite the lovers” by her cute but maddening Guardian, a 19th century ghostly teenager named Will. Now Abby must navigate high school keg parties, football games and power couples, only to discover that love and revenge are sometimes the same thing."

_____________________
My thoughts:

Well, (if you read my review of the first episode this makes sense) I've finally learned why Abby is a "Shadow"! She's pretty much chosen to inhabit someone's body and solve their problems. I like this idea, and it proves interesting reading material, but can you imagine hopping from one body to another, to deal with their messed-up lives if you wish to ever exit them?! (I think not. I would be like, catatonic if I had to solve other people's problems!)
  Anyways, this time, Abby wakes up, memory intact, in the body of Michelle--a gorgeous teenager whose best friend is in an uproar about her boyfriend being with another girl. Abby's mission this time? Reunite the lost lovers, or she'll be trapped in the body of Michelle--forever.
  Then again, Michelle's life has it's perks: she's gorgeous, for starters, and guys want to be with her, while girls envy her. Her little siblings are adorable, and she has a seemingly perfect boyfriend who is just great at kissing (but not so great at being...well, a decent boyfriend)...But would anyone want to be stuck in a body that isn't yours? Living a life that doesn't belong to you? Outwardly showing emotions that you don't feel?
  Then there's Will, her guardian, her 'spirit guide'. I liked his character more this time around, too! He's so funny and snarky, and I love how he was wearing a cheerleading outfit nearly the entire episode (wanna know what I'm talking about? Read and find out!).
  Either way, I liked this episode a little more than the last! It had some surprising twists that I didn't see too clearly, and I loved how it ended! Looking forward to reading the next one! 4/5 stars.

Tuesday, January 17, 2012

Borrowing Abby Grace: The Shadow by Kelly Green

Borrowing Abby Grace: The Shadow by Kelly Green
Where I got my copy: Author, for review

Synopsis:
"When Abby Grace wakes up in the back of a van, she has no idea who she is, how she got there, or why anyone would want to kidnap her. After escaping her masked captors, she hurries home, only to discover that she unknowingly left her younger brother behind in the van. Unable to answer the police’s questions with her memories gone, she retreats to the safety of her bedroom where she tries to reconstruct her life. Just as she is settling into the belief that things will one day return to normal, she looks in the mirror—and sees a stranger’s face.
As Abby learns next, she has become a Shadow, sent to inhabit the lives of strangers in trouble. With nothing to go on except the vague hints of her cute but maddening Guardian, a 19th century ghostly teenager named Will, Abby sets out to rescue the missing brother. But she will need all of her intelligence, fearlessness, and wit, because if she fails to find him in time, she will remain trapped in this unfamiliar body forever."

_____________________
My thoughts:
  I think that, immediately, the first thing that jumped out at me about this first little "episode" was the writing. Now, I've read tons of authors, tons of styles of writing, and I have to say that I enjoyed Kelly Green's writing. It isn't clueless--you know what I mean. The authors who write just to write, and have no sustenance? No, none of that here (well, yes, there is sustenance. God, I'm confusing myself!). The writing flowed easily and felt real--it wasn't faked, nor did it have a bunch of unanswered rifts. I liked that about this book (episode, short story...you get the idea. It's like, 60 pages, so it's pretty small!).
  Even after reading the first episode, and reading about Abby, I can't tell you what she is. She's referred to as a "Shadow" but she doesn't know if she's a ghost/spirit/whatever, so therefore, readers don't really know either.
  Pretty much Abby Grace wakes up in the back of a van with masked people upfront (so obviously she's been kidnapped!), no memory, in the body of someone else. (Uh, Sierra, how does she know she's in a body that isn't her own? Looks in the mirror and sees herself, but sees images of the real "girl" she's inhabiting in said girl's room...confusing? Sorry!) She has to solve the girl's problem (whose body she is in), which seems to be why she was kidnapped and why her brother was kidnapped.
  I liked Abby's character. She reminds me somewhat of the Scooby-Doo gang, what with the mysteries and stuff (I never read Nancy Drew, though that is what this is kind of like, I hear). The mystery itself kept me interested, and I laughed a little as it all planned out, because I didn't see that coming (wow. I admit I was wrong? Yeesh!).
  Liked Will's character, too, though I'm excited to learn more about him in the next episode...Which I'm going to read now. I liked that he's like, Abby's "Shadow Guide". He's referred to as her guardian, and he's a ghosty too.
  Full of mystery, questions and intrigue, Borrowing Abby Grace is a short, fun little story that I think fans of mysteries will enjoy! 3.5/5 stars.

Sunday, January 15, 2012

This Week in Books (22)

I seriously cannot believe how fast the weeks go! We're already on the 22nd week of this little meme, and WOW! (It's fun, but I feel like I just did it!).
  This week brings us a few good releases (in fact, they all look good!), and also the end of the semester for my school. This week is exam week (yikes!) and next Monday brings the start of new classes...in my case, a required but unwanted government and politics class! (Booooring. I hate politics!) But I also get to start a psychology class that I'm kinda excited to start. Lord knows there are enough people in my family to psychoanalyze! (*Cackles evilly.* Because I love cackling! Kidding. Really, I am!).
  I ran out of books to read this weekend (gasp!) and tried reading two of the ones I got for Christmas (the final two out of the eleven I bought. They were: Stay by C.C. Jackson and Dark Angel by Eden Maguire). I'm really disappointed to have bought those, because they were both too uninteresting to finish. I must have read half of both of them before realizing I was basically drooling like a zombie from boredom! It seems that the only time I buy books, they suck. But all the ones I get from the library are awesome enough to go out and buy, just to look at on my shelf!
  I finally found a title on my "Goodwill' shelf (a bookcase dedicated to all the books for fifty cents that I got at my local Goodwill. They're a little dirty, which makes no sense, since only one person should have owned them. The books I buy at library sales are cleaner and in better condition!), called Danger in a Red Dress by Christina Dodd. This is my first Dodd novel--but I can already tell you it won't be my last!
  Moving on...here are this week's releases! (And I'm pretty sure they all release Tuesday, in case you're wondering!)

Have a nice Sunday, everyone! (And a nice extended weekend!)
Happy reading :D

Friday, January 13, 2012

Follow Friday (11)


Follow Friday is hosted by Parajunkee.com and AlisonCanRead.com. It is a weekly meme where bloggers meet and follow one another! The rules are up at Parajunkee and Alison Can Read (linked above) and you can join, too!


This week's question:
Q: Many readers/bloggers are also big music fans. Tell us about a few of your favorite bands/singers that we should listen to in 2012.

A: I love music. I'm listening to it right now! Anyways, I'm not a "pop-princess". I rarely listen to the radio, unless it's a local radio station maned by a high school near my town (called "The Alternation").
  I have a huge list of favorites. My top few are: The Used, Taking Back Sunday, Angels & Airwaves and Cage the Elephant. I absolutely love these bands! BUT if you aren't a rock/alt fan, I also enjoy some lighter stuff, such as Ben Harper, Jack Johnson, Joshua Radin and Margot & The Nuclear So-and-So's. I also like that funky sound, such as Placebo, White Stripes and Massive Attack. I also love No Doubt and Third Eye Blind. I'm a little bit of a closet fan of Justin Bieber too (shh, don't tell!).

Here are my favorite albums from each of my four favorite bands! (In case you wanna give them a try or something...)


How about you?

Tuesday, January 10, 2012

Cover Reveal: GLITCH by Heather Anastasiu


What do you think of this cover? It kinda reminds me of the cover to Beth Revis's Across the Universe (probably because of that color overlay--the pink/purple).

Details:

Glitch by Heather Anastasiu (Glitch, #1)
Release: August 7, 2012

Description:
 "In the Community, there is no more pain or war. Implanted computer chips have wiped humanity clean of destructive emotions, and thoughts are replaced by a feed from the Link network.

  When Zoe starts to malfunction (or "glitch"), she suddenly begins having her own thoughts, feelings, and identity. Any anomalies must be immediately reported and repaired, but Zoe has a secret so dark it will mean certain deactivation if she is caught: her glitches have given her uncontrollable telekinetic powers.

  As Zoe struggles to control her abilities and stay hidden, she meets other glitchers including Max, who can disguise his appearance, and Adrien, who has visions of the future. Both boys introduce Zoe to feelings that are entirely new. Together, this growing band of glitchers must find a way to free themselves from the controlling hands of the Community before they’re caught and deactivated, or worse.

  In this action-packed debut, Glitch begins an exciting new young adult trilogy."
This one sounds pretty good!

Sunday, January 8, 2012

This Week in Books (21)

How was your week? Mine was fine :D
  Hopefully, everyone is still reading this year...cause I know I am! I noticed the other day that *gasp* for the first time, my GR challenge told me I was 2 books behind in my reading if I wish to reach my goal of 360 this year! What did I do? Read like a maniac, so that I was back on track. My eyes are still feelin' the burn...
  I love when new books come out...Though I can't tell you what I prefer: new books or old books. I love the "new book smell" but then again, some old books have that "worn, old book smell" that sometimes makes you feel as though you're in another time...or you know, just smelling a nasty book!
  New books, then :D And, since new books are always a favorite of every bookworm in the world, here is this week's list of books!

Happy reading! :D

Friday, January 6, 2012

The Mephisto Covenant: The Redemption of Ajax by Trinity Faegen

The Mephisto Covenant: The Redemption of Ajax by Trinity Faegen

Synopsis:
"Sasha is desperate to find out who murdered her father. When getting the answer means pledging her soul to Eryx, she unlocks a secret that puts her in grave danger—Sasha is Anabo, a daughter of Eve, and Eryx’s biggest threat.
  A son of Hell, immortal, and bound to Earth forever, Jax looks for redemption in the Mephisto Covenant—God’s promise he will find peace in the love of an Anabo. After a thousand years, he’s finally found the girl he’s been searching for: Sasha.
  With the threat of Eryx looming, Jax has to keep Sasha safe and win her over. But can he? Will Sasha love him and give up her mortal life?"

_____________________________
My thoughts:
Trinity Faegen has done what no other paranormal YA author has: Written a compelling, good novel.
  Sasha is your normal girl: she goes to school, has a crush on whats-his-name (they're all alike, so forgive my ignorance) and has a nice, group of friends. Vanilla, normal. That is what her life is like.
  Then her father dies, her  mother is deported back to Russia, and Sasha has to go live with her evil, soul-selling relatives. No, I'm being serious. Her relatives actually sold their souls to a demon (named Eyrx, by the way). Yeah, awesome, right?
  Then there is Ajax "Jax" and his group of strangely hot brothers. They're all...you guessed it...sons of Hell (whatever that means). In order to regain the pureness of their souls, they must "love completely" with an Anabo--a descendant of heaven. Which...Sasha just so happens to be. (Surprise, surprise.)
  I said earlier that this novel is compelling. It is. Is it a little cliche? Well, what paranormal-YA novel isn't? Though this is probably the only YA novel I've read this month that has actually kept me on the edge of the seat, and made me want to applaud the author.
  From the get-go, Sasha and Ajax are...doomed. He doesn't think she can love him because of his "Hell" status, and she doesn't think she can love him because of what he and his brothers do for a living--throw people into 'Hell on Earth' in order to trap their souls from their evil brother, Eyrx. (I know, I suck at summarizing this stuff, so read the damn description.)
  Jax is a pretty cool character--I loved his chapters. They aren't those "good guy" chapters that make us girls squeal and think "omg, he's so perfect!" they're actually real, and a little strange. I mean, c'mon. He's a freakin' DEMON (or something like it) so why would his thoughts be all fluffy unicorns and glitter (ah-hem, like some guys).
  Sasha's character is interesting, too. She isn't an air-head, but some of the stuff she thinks/does is unbelievable (really, would you disrobe your self in front of a dude you just met...Uh, I hope you say no). Though I think I liked Jax's mind better. When he's with his brothers, prepare to laugh!
  Anyways, this novel was really awesome, and I think it's the only one I've given a 5-star rating too this month. I hope the next book in the series focuses on Phoenix's (one of Jax's brothers) redemption, because his story is hearbreaking and made me cry. Which I hate doing. Seriously.
  This is a huge, ramble-fest of crap for a review, but hey, it got a 5-star rating, so take from that what you will. 5/5 stars.

Thursday, January 5, 2012

Stranger Things Have Happened

This is a totally random thing to post about, but I was at the orthodontist today (did I forget to mention that I got my braces off, after two long years, last month?) and saw a 60--70 year old lady reading...


I was so tempted to ask her how she was liking it. But I refrained...Why? Because I freakin' hate it when people randomly go "What are you reading? Is it good?" when I'm obviously engrossed in reading.

Wednesday, January 4, 2012

Cover Reveal: CITY OF LOST SOULS by Cassandra Clare


I think almost having a heart attack qualifies this cover as being AWESOME.

Details:
City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare (The Mortal Instruments, #5)
Releases: May 8, 2012

Description (vague, but I'm sure a more detailed one will be up soon!):

"In Book 5: City of Lost Souls, the Shadowhunters struggle to piece together their shattered world after a betrayal by one of their own leaves them reeling."

Sunday, January 1, 2012

Cover Reveal: THE GIRL IN THE CLOCKWORK COLLAR by Kady Cross

I haven't seen this yet, so maybe you haven't?


I've yet to read the first in this series, The Girl in the Steel Corset (I have it on-hold, though!), but I have to say that it's cover is def. better. This cover is a little...boring.

Details:
The Girl in the Clockwork Collar by Kady Cross
Releases: May 22, 2012

Description:
"In New York City, 1897, life has never been more thrilling - or dangerous.
  Sixteen-year-old Finley Jayne and her "straynge band of mysfits" have journeyed from London to America to rescue their friend Jasper, hauled off by bounty hunters. But Jasper is in the clutches of a devious former friend demanding a trade-the dangerous device Jasper stole from him...for the life of the girl Jasper loves.
  One false move from Jasper and the strange clockwork collar around Mei's neck tightens. And tightens."

Goodreads Challenge 2012--Have You Set Yours Yet...?

I just went through my blogroll and noticed a few peepos setting their 2012 goals for the Goodreads challenge! Somehow, I missed it on my homepage, so thanks fellow bloggers :D I'd totally spaced that today is 2012 and I'm in need of a new challenge!

I've challenged myself to: (posting image because that logo is so cute! Love the blue!)


360 books. I got 353 read in 2011 (my goal being 350) but I hope to read more. My original goal for 2011 was 200 books--and I kinda slammed that in like, August! Maybe I'll get to 400...then 450...then, before you know it, I'll be like a...super-reader and reading like, 10 books a day and have to get an even stronger prescription on my glasses! MUAHAHH!! I'm taking over the world...one book at a time :D

Hope you are having an awesome start to the year! I am, but that's probably because I'm getting some reading done, and *scoffs* obviously I love to read ;]

This Week in books (20)

Happy New Year, everyone!

This week is going to be a big week--for books that is! This is the biggest list of books I've had in a 7-day period in...well, ever!
  I'm not sure if anyone has gift cards left to spend, but I've heard of some amazing deals on Barnes and Noble (the other day it was only a few bucks for hardcovers!) and other various book sellers. I did get a bunch of books for X-mas from Halfprice Books, but a few were stuck in customs--so I didn't even get them until two days ago! (Lame. I paid almost forty bucks in shipping for them to be here by the 24th and they weren't. Bummer.)
  I'm gearing up for one thing and one thing only this week: A HUGE SNOW STORM! Starting tonight the North East is going to be BLASTED with snow, so if you live in any of the states in the NE, be warned! Blizzard-like conditions--the winds are already at 30/40 mph. Sucks, huh? We didn't get a white Christmas...but now we're paying for it!
  One more thing: My sister and her boyfriend almost burned the house down last night. Apparently, they're both too dimwitted to work a toaster oven. It's a good thing my brother came back last night, or hell, who knows where we'd be!!

  Anyways, zee amazing list of books:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...