Sunday, April 29, 2012

This Week in Books (37)

Hope everyone had a nice week :)
  *If you want to just see the releases of the week, I suggest scrolling down!*
  I had to make a trip to my library this week (I know, amazing!), because all of my en-route titles were taking forever to get here. Apparently my library was hosting a meet-and-greet with some famous author/weather man (that I've never heard of, but my dad confessed him to be his idol), and I had the most interesting library experience in months. There were people dressed in suits! Now, this may not seem surprising to some of you, but I can honestly say I've never seen a regular-person (outside of TV) wearing a suit in my town (it is that quaint). It was so weird! This older-dude was greeting people at the door, and I was like "Uh...Is the library open?" in my typically awkward manner, and the dude was like "Oh, yeah! Are you here to meet (whatever the dude's name was)?" And I was just staring before I realized I had to answer (really, I was that entranced by the sight of a suit and his oddly bright tie) that I kinda just replied honestly with "I have no idea what you're talking about," before walking into the library. THEN (and I know this story is weird and not at all entertaining. Though you should get a laugh out of my awkwardness) all my favorite librarians weren't working the main desk upstairs in the adult fiction/reference/computer area, and two MORE people in suits (this time two young guys who looked oddly like clones of the Mattel Barbie Ken Dolls) were 'manning the desk' (literally, since they were you know, guys), and completely ignored me when I went to ask for help getting a book because I'm only five foot and a half and couldn't reach the dang top shelf. (I know you're laughing now. It's like that Quaker Oats granola bar commercial, when that like, third grader is trying to get a book off the shelf by standing on a stack of books. But I'd never stand on books. That's just cold.)
  I was so freaked out by the clone-boys that I pretty much gave up and went downstairs where, thankfully, the nice awesome librarians were working. I won't even get into the story about how loudly the librarian was announcing my book titles as she looked through the books-to-be sorted for anything of mine. (Let's just say she said, "IT'S IN HIS KISS BY JULIA QUINN" so loudly that a passing woman smirked at me and said "That's a great book". It was. But I don't like people TELLING me that! And why was she smirking? I know it was because I'm so short I look like I'm 13 and have no right to read adult titles, when I'm 17 (and a quarter!) and have all the right in the world to be reading all of Julia Quinn's novels.)

Whew. That was a long tale. Kudos if you read it all! :D

  This week, we have quite a few releases. It seems to me publishers are always releasing titles competitively to see which sells better. Can't say that sales reflect on feedback, because I've bought many a book that absolutely sucked and regret buying it. (Which is why I now get all books from the library, and if I like it, buy it after I've read it.)

  This week the competitive booking world brings us:

Happy reading! :D

Thursday, April 26, 2012

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

Synopsis:
"Diagnosed with Stage IV thyroid cancer at 12, Hazel was prepared to die until, at 14, a medical miracle shrunk the tumours in her lungs... for now.

Two years post-miracle, sixteen-year-old Hazel is post-everything else, too; post-high school, post-friends and post-normalcy. And even though she could live for a long time (whatever that means), Hazel lives tethered to an oxygen tank, the tumours tenuously kept at bay with a constant chemical assault.

Enter Augustus Waters. A match made at cancer kid support group, Augustus is gorgeous, in remission, and shockingly to her, interested in Hazel. Being with Augustus is both an unexpected destination and a long-needed journey, pushing Hazel to re-examine how sickness and health, life and death, will define her and the legacy that everyone leaves behind."


____________________
My thoughts:
The Fault in Our Stars is a beautifully written, imagined, and casted novel. (Casted...is that a word? Eh, who cares.)
  The story follows sixteen-year-old "Just Hazel" Hazel Grace Lancaster, who was only thirteen when she was diagnosed with Stage IV thyroid cancer. But some (imaginary, btw) drug gave Hazel a few more years.
  When Hazel's mother declares her "depressed", she's forced into joining a Cancer Kid Support Group. There, she meets the gorgeous, smart and always funny, Augustus Waters. From this day onward, Hazel's (broken record of a) life is completely changed. For the first time, she has a friend. Someone to talk to about the complexities of life and (my favorite!) books.
  Okay, summary over. Seriously, you too lazy to read the synopsis that is literally a scroll away? Jeez.
  Hazel is a very lovable, funny character. Despite her illness, she has an optimistic outlook on life that's as refreshing and humorous as it is heartbreaking. Her character is beautifully depicted. She isn't so...perfect (is that the word I'm looking for?), she has actual issues aside from being a loner and boyfriendless. She's as real as they come people.
  Same goes for Augustus. He's an amazing character. And, like most of Green's characters, is definitely one you want on your side! He's Hazel's perfect counterpart; they're like matching puzzle pieces.
  Oh, and don't you dare let me forget Isaac! He is so funny! His dialogue is some of the most hilarious, like, ever.
  Many people, I'm sure, hate the ending. (Or, hey, now that I've said something are reconsidering and going, "Thanks, Sierra. I so hate the ending now! You...word that rhymes with itch!) I, being the awesomesause person I so am, loved the ending. It was so bittersweet, you just have to love it! And you want to know why? (Brace yourself. Not a spoiler though. Those suck eggs.) Because "real life" isn't perfect, and I praise John Green for, not only knowing that, but having the guts to write it.
  We all know that, too much in YA books, the characters end up with perfect lives, problems solved--the endings so unrealistic, you wish they'd get hit by a bus for karmic payback and whatnot. The Fault in Our Stars defies that, and wraps up with a perfectly beautiful ending, that makes the whole book mean something. I finished it over two hours ago, and am still thinking about it.
  Well done. Definitely one for the gold shelf!   4/5 stars
  (It's about to get nerdy in here, watch out! Book reference!)
  Okay?
  Okay. ;)

Tuesday, April 24, 2012

Cover/Description/Release Reveal: THE EVOLUTION OF MARA DYER by Michelle Hodkin!


OMFG. I'm so loving this right now!

Details:
The Evoultion of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin (Mara Dyer, #2)
Releases: October 23, 2013

Description:
"Two days after Mara walks into a police station in Miami at the close of The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer, she is committed for psychiatric treatment for what her parents believe is a mental breakdown. But what seems like a hallucination to everyone else is a chilling reality for Mara. Someone from her past has discovered her strange, disturbing secret and that someone wants her to pay. But she's about to discover that the price is more than she can bear.
  Dark and thrilling, suspenseful and passionate, The Evolution of Mara Dyer will have readers breathlessly turning pages to find out what will become of Mara Dyer next..."


Can't wait for this one!
Happy reading, everyone!

Sunday, April 22, 2012

This Week in Books (36)

I didn't post anything this past week! It's amazing that some weeks I can have 5 or so book cover reveals, title releases, etc., and some weeks, like this past one, have nothing!
  This past week has been a pretty boring one here on my front. Oh, aside from getting my hair cut (really, who cares about that?) and posting all of my reviews to Amazon. I only had to edit three (and only because they all contained the word 'shit' and apparently that's a "bad word"), but it took up a good two/three hours to post all 90+ of my reviews! (Watch out, Barnes & Noble--I'm coming for you next! Er, not really. I already have an account there, and half my reviews are posted. But the site started mucking up a few months ago (really, about a year ago) so I stopped using it. Whatevs. I'm rambling again.)
  Anyways, we have quite a few (more than a few, actually) releases this week. More than the two last week!


Sunday, April 15, 2012

This Week in Books (35)

Hello, peeps! How are you doing? I'm just dandy--sitting here enjoying the crappy weather that Ohio has to offer. It was snowing two days ago, was sixty degrees yesterday, and now it's raining and in the forty's. Stupid Mother Nature. Of course she makes Ohio look bad for the weekend of the Rock Hall induction ceremony! Drats!
  Anyways, my week was surprisingly benign. School resumed after a nice week off for Spring Break, and I got a 100% on my poem-rewrite. (Seriously. I rewrote a poem! And it didn't suck!)
  And even I, the person with the worse luck ever, did not trip, maim, punch, smack, stab or hurt myself (or others) yesterday on Friday the 13th! Amazing feat, I tell you! (Though my monster of a cat, Tigger (who is not a black cat, but a cute little tabby), did however give me a nasty cut on my hand. Then again, I was provoking him, so it was bound to happen!)
  Though I gotta say, I'm looking forward to this week. Why? Well, no. It's not book related. Supernatural comes back on after a two week absence (why do networks show the show, then turn it off for two weeks, only to play reruns on the scheduled time? I will never understand. NEVER!).
  Speaking of TV...Has anyone been watching the resumed Bones season? (It's been off since January!) I have to admit. I. Am. Not. Happy. Sure, like every other viewer, I knew Booth and Brennan were bound to get together. But a baby? And a house? And...love? AH! It's driving me bonkers! I can't take the cutesy stuff anymore! Bleck.

Okay, enough TV talk. You're here for the goods. (And I mean books. Not my goods. Jeez. Get your dirty mind out of the gutter!)

This week is a sad week for books...Only two releases that I have listed in my 122 KB (that's geek-speak for HUGE!) Book List notepad.
  And they are...


  • The Last Echo by Kimberly Derting
  • Glimmer by Phoebe Kitanidis (Ugh, is that chick supposed to be a ghost? Cause she is ghouly!)

Saturday, April 14, 2012

Cover/Description/Release Reveal: ALICE IN ZOMBIELAND by Gena Showalter

Oh, wow. I've yet to see the cover, description or release for this title, so maybe some of you haven't, either?


Gorgeous. Just gorgeous. And that tag line, "Off with their heads?" Hahaha! Love it!

Details:
Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter (White Rabbit Chronicles, #1)
Releases: September 25, 2012

Description:
"She won’t resist until she’s sent every walking corpse back to its grave. Forever.

  Had anyone told Alice Bell that her entire life would change course between one heartbeat and the next, she would have laughed. From blissful to tragic, innocent to ruined? Please. But that’s all it took. One heartbeat. A blink, a breath, a second, and everything she knew and loved was gone.

  Her father was right. The monsters are real….
  To avenge her family, Ali must learn to fight the undead. To survive, she must learn to trust the baddest of the bad boys, Cole Holland. But Cole has secrets of his own, and if Ali isn’t careful, those secrets might just prove to be more dangerous than the zombies….

I wish I could go back and do a thousand things differently.
I'd tell my sister no.
I'd never beg my mother to talk to my dad.
I'd zip my lips and swallow those hateful words.
Or, barring all of that, I'd hug my sister, my mom and my dad one last time.
I'd tell them I love them.
I wish... Yeah, I wish..."


Can't wait!
Happy reading, everyone! :D

Friday, April 13, 2012

Cover/Description Reveal: EVEN WHITE TRASH ZOMBIES GET THE BLUES by Diana Rowland


I swear to god, this series has the COOLEST covers in the world! Dying for this book. Like, I'm turning into a zombie (though not a white trash one. That ain't cool). ;D

Details, anyone? You know you want them, because this cover rocks your socks (or this chick's awesome socks) off, and you wanna learn more!

Even White Trash Zombies Get the Blues by Diana Rowland (White Trash Zombie, #2)
Releases: July 3, 2012

Description:
"Angel is starting to settle into this whole “being a zombie” thing, but her problems are far from over. Her felony record is coming back to haunt her, more zombie hunters are popping up, and she’s beginning to wonder if her hunky cop-boyfriend is involved with the zombie mafia. Yeah, that’s right — the zombie mafia. Throw in a government conspiracy and a secret lab, and Angel’s going to need all of her brainpower — and maybe a brain smoothie as well — in order to get through it without falling apart."

Annnd, in case you didn't get the hint:



Happy reading, oh awesome ones. :)

Wednesday, April 11, 2012

This Is Not a Test by Courtney Summers

This Is Not a Test by Courtney Summers
Releases: June 19, 2012
Where I got my copy: Goodreads' First Reads

Synopsis:
"It’s the end of the world. Six students have taken cover in Cortege High but shelter is little comfort when the dead outside won’t stop pounding on the doors. One bite is all it takes to kill a person and bring them back as a monstrous version of their former self. To Sloane Price, that doesn’t sound so bad. Six months ago, her world collapsed and since then, she’s failed to find a reason to keep going. Now seems like the perfect time to give up. As Sloane eagerly waits for the barricades to fall, she’s forced to witness the apocalypse through the eyes of five people who actually want to live. But as the days crawl by, the motivations for survival change in startling ways and soon the group’s fate is determined less and less by what’s happening outside and more and more by the unpredictable and violent bids for life—and death—inside. When everything is gone, what do you hold on to."

_______________________
My thoughts:
What would you hold on to, when everything's gone? That's the question Courtney Summers asks her characters, and ultimately, us, in her new, explosively exciting novel, This Is Not a Test.
  This awesome, post-apocalyptic zombie novel is seen through the eyes of the down beaten, often depressing Sloane Prince. To Sloane, life is all but over for her, for the past six months when her world all but tumbled down all around her.
  Joining her in the novel are five teens: Rhys, Cary, Harrison, Trace and Grace, the twins. Each of the five teens have an annoying predisposition of living and surviving the zombie attacks, which oftentimes annoys Sloane.
  Okay, do you get the idea of zombies, the apocalypse, and six teens stuck in their high school? Yeah? Great, now I can start reviewing.
  As mentioned above, Sloane is the Debbie Downer of the novel. She's so down on her luck that even I, the person with the worst luck ever, feels fortunate. At every turn she managed to make me feel for her. My head was spinning throughout the novel, questioning her and her decisions, until finally I threw my head back and said, (to myself of course), 'Sierra, stop thinking. Just read.' When I did, I'll tell you, Sloane stopped making me what to slap the heck out of her and give her a huge hug and a pat on the back.
  I realized, people, that she is much, much stronger than I would ever be in the aftermath of the DAMN ZOMBIE APOCALYPSE! She's so calm, when I was sittin' up here going, "OMFG. THERE ARE ZOMBIES AT THE DOOR! AHH!" and at every thump on the stairs in my house, or the rain on the windows, I was jumping going "Holy shit! ZOMBIES!" and I just wanted to grab Sloane, perform some kind of brain surgery and take her calm, sensible thinking and give it to myself. (I actually just grossed myself out thinking of that procedure...ick!)
  Alright, Sloane has been established, let's move on.
  I absolutely adored Harrison. If I were in this novel, Harrison would be my best friend. Mainly because no one really liked him, and he was so worried about dying that I would have to befriend the little dweeb. Grace was okay, but Trace was mean, cruel and hilarious. Cary, you're damn awesome, too.
  And then there was one.
  Rhys. His character was almost awesome. I say almost because I really didn't feel connected to him, and I wasn't sympathizing with him like I was with all the other characters. I dunno. It was just this huge sense of disconnect when he popped the hell up (and he did it a lot. Following Sloane around like some little puppy).
  Anyways, the characters were all pretty cool.
  But let's move on to the awesomesauce of the novel: ZOMBIES. God I love those little bastards. It's such a thrill when reading and your characters are running for their lives from formerly-innocent humans starved for your blood. I legit felt like my heart was palpating out of my damn chest when Sloane and Rhys venture outside. I was like "OMG OMG OMG THEY'RE GUNNA DIE! LOOK OUT! ZOMBIE!!!!!".
  Alright, caps, exclamation points, gtfo. I'm done with them I swear. But do you understand how much I love ZOMBIES?! (I can't say zombies without caps-ing it. Oh, I just did. I'm cured! Thank god. For a minute there I thought I was turning into an airhead. Aren't zombies airheads? Oh, god. Am I a zombie? Fuck this shit! I'm outta here!)
  Loved the characters, the story line (um, durr! or gurrr depending on if you're a zombie or not...), and Courtney Summers' exceptional writing. Can't wait for more by this author!
  Now for a little more: The title? Pure awesome. The cover? So damn beautiful. When I saw it I was like 'OMFG. LOOK AT IT!' and shoving it in the faces of family/friends. Ah, behold the awesome that is a Courtney Summers novel. :)
 4/5 stars.

Monday, April 9, 2012

Cover Reveal: THE RISE OF NINE by Pittacus Lore

OMG OMG. Fangirl moment! I'm so in love with this series! :D


These covers are not something pretty to look at...Which is what makes them so interesting! I'm dying for this release!

Details:
The Rise of Nine by Pittacus Lore (Lorien Legacies, #3)
Releases: August 21, 2012

Description:
"It all began with nine. Nine aliens who left their home planet of Lorien when it fell under attack by the evil Mogadorians—who scattered on Earth and went into hiding. They look like ordinary teenagers, but they have extraordinary skills. The Mogadorians killed Number One, Number Two, and Number Three. They tried to kill Number Four ... and failed.
  Number Four (aka John Smith) has now teamed up with Number Nine, while Six has gone off to find the others. With the Mogadorians hot on their trail and time running out, they must find a way to come together, before it's too late. Power in numbers will save them all."

Happy reading, everyone! :D

Sunday, April 8, 2012

This Week in Books (34)

Happy Easter, everyone!
  I added Thumper from Bambi to the meme logo. Hahaha, I love that little dude (much more so than Bambi...Sorry Bambi, but I deal with enough deer here in Ohio without watching you on TV. Bunnies on the other hand...I've only seen maybe ten or so my entire life)!
  I just got done "upgrading" my Blogger interface to the new look. I gotta say, I'm not diggin' it too much. The G-Mail look alone angered me, because I refuse to switch to IE 9 because of the lighter, larger 'e' logo that looks like crap. Anyways, G-Mail often doesn't work for me, so I'm hoping Blogger won't be the same.

  This week, we have a lot more releases than last week (when we only have one). And if you'll notice over there on the right under the giveaway section, there is one coming up. Either this week or next, you can enter to win one of five copies of Hannah Jayne's UNDER ATTACK, the second novel in her amazing Underworld Detection Agency series (I just finished the third one, which drops in May...and I gotta say I'm already dying for the forth!). So if you're a young adult like me who loves the occasional adult fantasy novel, or your an actual adult getting tired of YA and wanting something new, you can enter to win a copy! There is also a bunch of swag that Hannah thoughtfully provided, and I'm throwing in some other stuff from YA author Denise Jaden and adult (and YA) author Stacey Jay. (Speaking of swag: if you have some you wanna ever get off your hands *like me, who has over 100 Stacey Jay's Dead on the Delta magnets! Email me if you want a few to giveaway or just for yourself!!!* send me an email! Giving out swag is almost as fun as giving away books!)

  I got off topic...This is what chocolate at six a.m. does to me, the releases this week include:


Happy reading! :D

Sunday, April 1, 2012

This Week in Books (33)

We only have one lone release this week. It should make you wanna read though! (Unlike me! I've been renewing my love of jewelry making lately, and I'm the farthest I've ever been on my GR challenge--5 books behind! It's angering me that I'm trying to keep up, and realized today that reading should be about fun--and since joining the GR challenge this year, I've lost my love of reading! I challenged myself to only 10 more books than last year (really, only 7 more, since I read 3 over last year), but I'm just reading more and more adult titles, with more pages, smaller print, than I am YA.)

Anyways, enough complaining. Here's this week release:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...