Wednesday, June 27, 2012

Freak by E.K. Henry

Freak by E.K. Henry
Where I got my copy: Author, for review
Formats: eBook and print

Synopsis:
"Being a lower-class human born into a world where vampires rule sucks. No matter how hard Juniper Rayne tries to fit in, she's labeled a freak. When her dad signs the family up to take part in a reality television show, Juniper hopes that it'll give her the edge she needs to shed her freak label.

Unfortunately for Juniper, vampires aren't that accepting.

She decides to take control of her life and become a vampire hunter, instead of continuing to live in her own personal hell any longer.

She will regain control or die trying."


_________________
My thoughts:
Freak was a fun, quick read that I think calls most to vampire fans. Me, I'm not so huge on the blood-suckers, but I gotta say, I enjoyed Freak while I was reading.
  Picture a world in which vampires reign--and humans are all considered "freaks". One freak--in other words, a human--named Juniper finds out that her parents have signed on to be stars of a new 'freak' reality-TV show, in which humans are the entertainment for vampires. Soon thereafter, Juniper realizes that her parents and even all her human friends are starting to change, mostly in the limelight. They're different. Her parents come off as power-hungry at times, even though, as humans, they're the lowest of the low.
  Juniper gets an idea...She's going to become a vampire killer in order to bring some karma back into the game.
  Alright. The synopsis is done, now I shall record my thoughts.
  I liked Juniper to a certain point. The only thing I found annoying was that, even after she had killed some vamps, she kept getting fed on, beat up, and passing out (dude. That can't be good for your head). I kinda figured that once she learned to kick some ass that no one would ever feed on her again. So I was a little peeved that every twenty pages or so, she was being snacked on like a bag of Fritos.
  The other characters in the book were completely unmemorable. I found the book a little lacking in character descriptions, but I found that Juniper's friends were okay enough. Her one friend though--so totally saw that coming. It was a shame that Juniper didn't, for I like my heroines to be at least a little bit smart.
  I also disliked how the main character all but picked up a sword and started hacking heads off. I hear (from my many crime TV-shows, no vampires allowed, mind you) that cutting off the head on a human is very difficult, because the spine and shit gets in the way. (And I missed the blood-spatter. I guess vampires don't have much blood, but I think the fight scenes would have drawn my attention more if there was some arterial spray.) However, I realized that these are vamps, so maybe they are spineless (ha-ha, just kidding. Lots of the vamps featured are some real sickos).
  The plot was good, the characters were likeable enough, but the ending was a serious cliffhanger (is there more books? It says 'The end' on the flyleaf at the end, but maybe it's just 'the end' of this book? IDK.), but Freak was an enjoyable read.
  I recommend this most to fans of vampire books, and maybe fans of The Hunger Games, because the whole human-TV theme was kinda reminiscent of THG.
  3/5 stars.
 

Tuesday, June 26, 2012

Cover Reveal: Sever by Lauren DeStefano

I've yet to read Fever, but here's some deets on the final book in the Chemical Garden trilogy!



Yes, yes, the quality is crap. I promise to update soon. And it seems to me that the covers have downfallen from the very first one. The first one was brilliant. The second and now this one? Not so much.
  Is it just me, or is the girl "glowing?" This comes from being lazy on PhotoShop and not correctly cutting her out of the original image, instead just pasting it, with the background, and likely erasing it (poorly). (Please, god, please do not tell me someone designed this on Paint, Photofiltre, or GIMP. 'Cause that's what it looks like.)
  *Sighs* If you or someone you know is involved in graphic design (as a living, unlike I) tell them to contact Simon & Schuster. Their current designer(s) is(are) very, very bad.

Anyways, here's some deets:
Sever by Lauren DeStefano (The Chemical Garden, #3)
Releases: February 12, 2013

Description TBA.

Sunday, June 24, 2012

This Week in Books (44)

Hope you all are having a wonderful summer vacation! I'm enjoying mine, because I've been doing three things I love: Reading, making bracelets, and cooking! (Really, I like baking better, but cooking is what I've been doing.)
  This past week I've made three meals that had my older siblings begging for leftovers: chicken and dumplings, Taco-Stuffed Shells, and last night I made cowboy macaroni. (Don't ask what that last one is, because as far as I can tell none of the recipes online are anything like my dad's--and now mine. He basically says it's spaghetti, only sweeter. I threw like, everything in the house into it or I'd totally post the recipe.) But I can't tell you what everyone enjoyed most! I think each meal was enjoyed equally, but my vegetarian sister told me that last night's dinner smelt heavenly, and I can't remember the last time she's said that about a dish containing meat, so maybe the macaroni was a deal breaker! :D

This week brings us:

Happy reading, everyone! :)

Cover Reveal: Everbound by Brodi Ashton

I've yet to read Everneath, because I'm not loving the dystipian-genre anymore, but I'm very, very fond of these covers!


This is just really, really, beautiful.

Details:
Everbound by Brodi Ashton (Everneath, #2)
Releases: January 22, 2013

Synopsis:
"Two months ago, the Tunnels of the underworld came for Nikki Beckett. That night, Nikki's boyfriend, Jack, made the ultimate sacrifice. All Nikki wants is to save Jack before it's too late. All Cole wants is to find his queen - and he thinks Nikki is the one. Both determined, both desperate, Nikki and Cole form a tense alliance, leading them on a dangerous journey to The Heart of The Everneath."

Happy reading! :D

Monday, June 18, 2012

Have You Read This is Not a Test by Courtney Summers?

Then y'all know how it ends!

Emily of Emily's Crammed Bookshelf came up with a wonderful idea: It needs a sequel!
  Help spread the word so that maybe we can catch Courtney's attention and she'll realize that us book lovers really want a sequel!

Stop by Emily's blog post to see how you can join!

Happy reading and spreading the word, everyone! :)

Sunday, June 17, 2012

This Week in Books (43)

Hiya, book readers!
  This following week has been boooorring on my front. And those meme's and overall more activity that I've been trying to come up with for this blog are nowhere to be found. I can't seem to find the passion for blogging that I had not even a year ago. Yikes! I'm just tired of reading a book and having to THINK when I'm done, so that I can review it. Oh, and I think in the coming weeks this blog may be updated to encompass adult-book reviews. I've read maybe 10 YA titles in the last month, mainly because I'm so sick and tired of fantasy in the YA-genre that I can't take it anymore. Boo-hoo, right? Yeah, well, if I can't start writing adult reviews, be prepared to say 'buh-bye' to this blog.
  Oddly enough, as much as I'm not updating, I've been getting page-views out the wazoo. It's like people LIKE that I'm not crowing my blog up with annoying meme's! Huh. Go figure.

  Wow, am I in a blue mood. (Damn rain!)

To brighten things up, I'll tell you I got my hair cut on Friday. I got my normal awesome cut (as my fave hairdresser, Jen says I allow her to "have fun" with my hair. Have you seen all these boring cuts people wear? Like, LAMMMEEE! I so love gloating...but...), but when I told Jen that last time my sides weren't short enough, I said "a few inches". Well...my hair is uber-short. BUT it's so cute...or it will be, in a few weeks when I'm use to it! ;)

One release this week. One that makes even zombies salivate!

Happy reading, y'all. :D

Thursday, June 14, 2012

Cover Reveal: Speed of Light by Amber Kizer!



Um...what up with that dude's face? Is it just me, or is there something seriously wrong going on with his jaw?
  Sorry! I'm so mean sometimes, but yeesh. This cover...blech.

Details, for those who are still sticking around after my negativity:
Speed of Light by Amber Kizer (Fenstra, #3)
Releases: November 13, 2012

Synopsis:
"Fans will be thrilled with the up and coming book in the Meridian trilogy as the romance between Meridian and Tens heats up. And Juliet returns, but her obsessions leave her open to evil exploitation.
Meridian Sozu is a Fenestra, an angel infused human, destined to transition souls into the next world. Together with Tens Valdes, her soulmate and Protector, they've made a home in Indiana, making sure the dead safely enter the light and aren't stolen by the Dark, known as the Nocti.
Upon rescuing Juliet Ambrose from her terrible childhood, Juliet has become vulnerable without her Protector and grasps at any hope to find her parents, even when it's offered by a proven Nocti, Ms. Asura. Juliet is now faced with the horrible choice between uncovering her past and having a future.
Meanwhile, time may be running out for the hundreds of thousands preparing for the festivities surrounding the Indianapolis 500 car race. As centuries of secrets are revealed, the battles will pit Light versus Dark. Not all with survive as Meridian, Tens, and Julie join forces to try to thwart a potential tragedy."

Happy reading! :P

Cover Reveal: Deadly Little Lessons by Laurie Faria Stolarz!


Whattaya think? I love all the covers for this series--they're all so...fitting for the mystery that each book holds.
  I've yet to read the fourth title, so I'm trying not to read the synopsis--but you can!

Details:
Deadly Little Lessons by Laurie Faria Stolarz (Touch, #5)
Releases: December 2012 (Will update when it becomes available)

Synopsis:
"Camelia Hammond's trying junior year of high school is finally over...but her troubles aren't. After she discovers a painful truth about her family, she escapes to a summer arts program in Rhode Island. Determined to put family - and boyfriend - drama behind her, she throws herself into her artwork.
At the arts school, she gets caught up in the case of Sasha Beckerman, a local girl who is missing. Even though all signs suggest that the teen ran away, Camelia senses otherwise. Eager to help the girl, she launches her own investigation. She finds a blog by someone named Neal Moche, a psychometric who might have clues to Sasha's whereabouts. There is something familiar about Neal, and Camelia realizes how much she misses Ben, despite being committed to Adam.
But time is running out for Sasha, and Camelia will have to trust her powers if she's to save her. Will the lessons Camelia has learned in the past give her the strength to do so?"

Happy reading!

Sunday, June 10, 2012

This Week in Books (42)

School is out!
And I am...Bored as all hell. (Damn.)
Reading, reading, reviewing, reading, reading...That is my new mantra! I'm ashamed to admit though that I've been having an increased interest in...GRAPHIC NOVELS! I'm such a geek that my sister refused to get me a graphic novel, cause she would be embarrassed to buy it when her boyfriend was around. Yeesh. I had no idea my problem was so bad.
  But, why am I reading them? Because I'm such a genius, I figured out how to get caught up on my scarily-high GR challenge--graphic novels, man! I can just read these little puppies, glance at a few pictures, and WHAM! One hour later, I'm one-book down towards my goal of 360! (Please don't bitch at me if you are like a graphic-novel aficionado. Sorry. But I will be dead if I have to read nonstop in order to beat a challenge that I set since I will feel like a loser if I lower my goal by ten books.)
  I blame the VA graphic novels. I read the Vampire Academy one last year (what VA-lover didn't?) but when I got Frostbite a few days ago, I was reading and reading and I was all 'Hot damn. This counts as a book on Goodreads!' Of course I knew this, but don't you ever have a moment of really realizing something and you're like "Jesus, I was stupid not to realize this before..."? *Silence* Ooookayyy. Maybe not! But I am by-passing reading 300+ page books (really, can't YA authors sum it up in under 400 pages ever? I mean, legit. If your character isn't progressing or changing, why add that lame extra chapter that makes the zombie look steal my face? Grrr.).
  OH! And can I say that I WON TICKETS TO BEA, AND COULDN'T GO?! Yeah. I won two stinkin' tickets, and they emailed me the day before I would have to be in NYC by 8 a.m. I don't live but maybe four hours from NY but my dad was all "No." and my sister was working, and my brother was working, and my uncle was off making thousands of dollars so he couldn't take me...Gawd. And I couldn't go! Dude, I almost cried. Like, legit. Tears were about to come outta my non-existent tear ducts.

Alright, I understand you're here to see releases this week (I have to reiterate this a lot. People. This is not a meme of 'what came in the mail this week'. This is "Books that Release This Week." Jesus.)

And on that note, this week we have:



  • Timepiece by Myra McEntire (Err. Can someone tell me how Hourglass ended?)
  • The Golden Lily by Richelle Mead (OMG OMG OMG. I must go reread Bloodlines before I buy this piece of awesome.)
  • For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfruend (I'm taking a chance on this dystopian. Don't disappoint me.)
  • Flirting in Italian by Lauren Henderson (Has anyone noticed like, no one releases NORMAL books?! Good for you, Ms. Henderson! I'm dying for some normal. I'm so sick of fantasy in YA--which may be why I keep going for adult titles, and not YA...hmmm...)
Happy reading, everyone! :D

Friday, June 8, 2012

The First Two Chapters of Richelle Mead's THE GOLDEN LILY!



Hi, everyone! Next Tuesday brings us the much anticipated sequel to last year's Bloodlines by author Richelle Mead, and in honor of the release, Richelle has just posted chapter two of TGL on her website (well, it was yesterday, but I forgot to check her blog yesterday for news).

I hear a certain Russian is featured in chapter two ;)
Check it out here!
(Now leave me in peace while I read chapter two!)
Happy reading!

Tuesday, June 5, 2012

Illuminate by Aimee Agresti

Illuminate by Aimee Agresti (Gilded Wings, #1)

Synopsis:
"Haven Terra is a brainy, shy high school outcast. But everything begins to change when she turns sixteen. Along with her best friend Dante and their quiet and brilliant classmate Lance, she is awarded a prestigious internship in the big city— Chicago—and is sent to live and work at a swanky and stylish hotel under the watchful eyes of a group of gorgeous and shockingly young-looking strangers: powerful and alluring hotel owner Aurelia Brown; her second-in-command, the dashing Lucian Grove; and their stunning but aloof staff of glamazons called The Outfit.
     As Haven begins falling for Lucian, she discovers that these beautiful people are not quite what they seem. With the help of a mysterious book, she uncovers a network of secret passageways from the hotel’s jazz-age past that leads her to the heart of the evil agenda of Aurelia and company: they’re in the business of buying souls. Will they succeed in wooing Haven to join them in their recruitment efforts, or will she be able to thwart this devilish set’s plans to take the souls of her classmates on prom night at the hotel?
     Illuminate is an exciting saga of a teen’s first taste of independence, her experience in the lap of luxury, and her discovery she may possess strength greater than she ever knew."


_______________
My thoughts:
If there is only one angel/demon-related novel you read this year, Illuminate should be that book.
  Now. Don't get scared that this novel, because I mentioned angels, is anything like the annoying angel books out on the YA market already. This novel, while having angelic undertones, is NOT religious, boring or mundane.
  It's original, fresh and full of intrigue and mystery.
  Okay. Selling points? Check. Done.
  Now, let's get on with my ramble-full review.
  Haven Terra. Oh, Haven. You're my newest, toughest, most beloved heroine to date. I love your personality, your brazenness, your scars that make you who you are. You're not idiotic, or whiny like a few other heroines in the popular angel books (ah-hem, Nora and Luce...not to point fingers or anything). You're wonderfully flawed, which makes you perfect.
  Suffice to say, I have a girl-crush on you. (Hahah. Sorry, peeps. But it's kind of true.)
  Okay, done with my confessions. Now onto other characters...
  Lucian, on the other hand, is a slime ball. I'm so glad to have trusted myself in hating this sleaze. (He's like Crowley via Supernatural--charming, and oh, yeah, FREAKING EVIL! Then again...that'd be an insult to Crowley, so Lucian is a brand all his own of nasty.)
  Dante, would you be my BFF? I loved Dante's character, and despite some shaky ground there for a while, he's one of the awesome 'sidekicks' you want on your team.
  Lance. OMFG. I love you! I WANT your horn-rimmed glasses, too, btw, since I cannot find a pair anywhere in my shit town. As with Lucian, I'm so glad to have trusted my instincts about you. You're interesting, shy, charming and wonderful. Thank you so much for that ending, too. You made me forgive Haven for something I know she regretted and made a huge smile steal my face. Thank you. You made the novel awesome.
  And, last (as I know she'd hate being last, which it why I did it. I'm evil like that) Aurelia. Despite being fierce, beautiful and evil. I don't like you. Normally, I love evil characters, but you my dear, are a heartless bitch of the lowest kind. (More so than Prince--readers, you can learn about him when you read the novel. I don't care for him enough to summarize my feelings about him). Aurelia does things in this novel that made me cringe a little. Yikes.
  Okay. Character profiles? Check.
  Opinionated review? Check.
  The premise instantly drew me in. The hotel in which the setting mainly takes place enchanted me with its secret passageways via Prohibition and it's Capone stories. The characters were well developed, likable/hatable (with good cause) depending on the character, and the entire story, despite being longer than shit (at 511 pages--with small text!) managed to capture me completely in it's web and did not let me down once.
  Well done. The best angel themed novel I've read...Ever. And one of the best YA debuts, as well.
  Also, that cover? GORGEOUS. (Despite that model's freaky-looking back. Blech.)
  Can't wait for more! 5/5 stars.

Monday, June 4, 2012

Freak by E.K. Henry eBook Giveaway WINNERS

Freak by E.K. Henry eBook giveaway winners are:
Numbers 12 & 16, Candice H. and Lisa M!

Congrats, ladies! I will be sending you both emails shortly with your codes to download your books.

Thanks to all for participating!
Happy reading! :D

Sunday, June 3, 2012

This Week in Books (41)

Hello, fellow readers!
  Tomorrow marks the final week of school for this Ohioan, and I've been running around (mentally, of course) like a chicken with its head cut off. Thankfully, I don't have to take my English exam, or my psychology exam. And my business teacher knows what's up, since I've taken five of his classes and not a once have I ever taken an exam (thank the lord there isn't an exam in business. I had to do a huge project that consisted of a three-part business plan, and my fingers were bleeding along with my brain as I tried thinking up a plan for a business I have no intention of starting.) And on that note, can I just say I'm so proud of myself for keeping my grades in English/psychology an 'A' so that I didn't have to take the exam? Too bad I've worked my ass off in science this year (I currently have a 98%, and have only done about 10 points of extra credit *gasps*), and my teach has no intention of rewarding my awesome feat with a no-exam policy.
  Aside from all that jazz, I feel I must apologize for my AWOL-ness these past weeks. I'm seriously burnin' the midnight oil on my exams, but I'm hoping this summer will bring new habits like increased reading (I can hear my eyes pleading, "No! Have mercy!" and booksellers going "Hell yeah! More sales!" and my favorite librarians going, "God dammit. This biotch is running us ragged!") and the dawning of renewed meme's. (Dawning? Dammit. I told myself to lay off the vampire-romances. I just can't stop getting them. And dystopians...WHICH I FREAKIN' HATE!).

As you probably can tell, I'm a little stressed. *Clears throat* I think I shall take a cue from my sister and stfu. (Julie: "Sierra?" Me: "What?" Julie: "Shut the hell up." Me: "Urmm...yes? I don't know what to say to that." Julie: *Rolls eyes* "You're rambling. Me: *Indignant* "I don't ramble! I tell it like it is. I speak the truth. I don't talk to fill awkward silences, I normally laugh, but I do NOT ramble! You ramble! Just the other day, you were talking about your boyfriend's lame ass  mother...Who btw is totally lame, and you were all..." Julie: *With a long suffering sigh, departs, with me still going on and on (rambling, actually) about not rambling).
I am a piece of work.
But I'm a cheeky piece of work! :D

This week, the booking world kindly brings us these *looks over list/picture* (awfully unexciting, boring) releases!



  • Arise by Tara Hudson (I won't be reading this. Why is it pictured? Cuz I wrote it down last year and three is an odd number of books to picture, so yeah.)
  • A Midsummer's Nightmare by Kody Keplinger (OMFG. Did I lump this in with the boring title? So sorry. This author = never disappoints.)
  • Mirage by Kristi Cook (If there is a cover more boring than this, I have no hope for graphic designers. Oh, & I won't be reading this. Twilight-alike anyone?)
  • The Glimpse by Claire Merle (UK release. Dunno when this piece of awesome is coming to the U.S.)
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...