Sunday, July 29, 2012

Cover/Description Reveal: THE INDIGO SPELL by Richelle Mead (Update!)

(This post was originally posed June 28, 2012)


The cover, I hear, was revealed on June 26. I haven't been on my computer in a few days, so maybe, like me, some of you haven't seen this yet!
  Keep in mind that this is not final--the tats have to be added, and tweaks are always made before the finalization.
  IMAGE UPDATED JULY 29, 2012

Details (though they are sparse!):
The Indigo Spell by Richelle Mead (Bloodlines, #2)
Releases: February 12, 2013 

Description TBA (updated July 29):

"In the aftermath of a forbidden moment that rocked Sydney to her core, she finds herself struggling to draw the line between her Alchemist teachings and what her heart is urging her to do. Then she meets alluring, rebellious Marcus Finch--a former Alchemist who escaped against all odds, and is now on the run. Marcus wants to teach Sydney the secrets he claims the Alchemists are hiding from her. But as he pushes her to rebel against the people who raised her, Sydney finds that breaking free is harder than she thought. There is an old and mysterious magic rooted deeply within her. And as she searches for an evil magic user targeting powerful young witches, she realizes that her only hope is to embrace her magical blood--or else she might be next."

This Week in Books (49)

Hello, hello!
  This past week has been quite fantabulous for me. I got five books in the mail (with another package still en-route) and I had a dream about the sex of my oldest sister's baby--a girl! Making me the fifth person that we know of who has dreamt of the baby being a little girl. Though mine is wishful thinking. I have to help raise the little...er...thing...because my sister has to return to work almost immediately after the birth of little Dexter or Peyton--and btw, she got the name Dexter from Sarah Dessen's This Lullaby--her favorite book--and the name Peyton from her favorite show, One Tree Hill. (Everyone but me and my oldest brother, Nick, hate the name Dexter. Then again, I love it because I love the Dexter series by Jeff Lindsay, but Nick loves it because he loves the show (he's never read the books, and I've never seen the show). My mom keeps going, "What do we call him? Dex? That's so...ugly! What about Deckie?"
  BUT I also had a dream that I was like, a marine or some shit and saving kids. Then this I gave this little girl (who was like, Brennan and Booth's baby from Bones--but  it was that girl who played in the Drake & Josh movie with that adorable smile) a CD. We were all in a cafeteria, and I couldn't save this little boy who was like, crying all to hell, and this other dude (not a little kid) was like, glaring at me. And I'm all, "Got sumthin' to say, homes?" Then it turns out, I wasn't saving these kids, but taking them to BATTLE. I know, right?
  So, maybe my dreams mean nothing.
  There was that one dream, though, with Trent Ford...YOWZA. (I just Googled him, and why didn't someone tell me he was in Vampire Diaries?! I know him from that Sarah Dessen book-to-movie, How to Deal, but daymnn. Diaries has Ian Somerhalder and Trent Ford (for however briefly)?! Jesus. The beefcake in this show is astounding. Why have I never watched it?)

  Enough about me. 
  Here is what's releasing this week.



Happy reading, everyone!
  And be sure to tune in later this week for an interview & giveaway with YA author Chloe Kayne! :D

Friday, July 27, 2012

The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa

The Immortal Rules by Julie Kagawa (Blood of Eden, #1)

Synopsis:
"In a future world, vampires reign. Humans are blood cattle. And one girl will search for the key to save humanity."Allison Sekemoto survives in the Fringe, the outermost circle of a vampire city. By day, she and her crew scavenge for food. By night, any one of them could be eaten.

Some days, all that drives Allie is her hatred of "them." The vampires who keep humans as blood cattle. Until the night Allie herself is attacked--and given the ultimate choice. Die...or become one of the monsters.

Faced with her own mortality, Allie becomes what she despises most. To survive, she must learn the rules of being immortal, including the most important: go long enough without human blood, and you will go mad.

Then Allie is forced to flee into the unknown, outside her city walls. There she joins a ragged band of humans who are seeking a legend--a possible cure to the disease that killed off most of humankind and created the rabids, the mindless creatures who threaten humans and vampires alike.

But it isn't easy to pass for human. Especially not around Zeke, who might see past the monster inside her. And Allie soon must decide what--and who--is worth dying for."


____________________
My thoughts:
What a heart pounding novel.
  I swear, at times it felt as though I was right there in the story; my heart beating madly, my palms sweating...
  Okay, getting a little personal there and starting to sound gross. Sorry.
  Allison lives on the "Fringe" of society--A society run by BLOOD THIRSTY VAMPIRES and RABIDS, that is.
  She's joined...(yes I switch from exclaiming to sedate that quickly. Whiplash, meet your brain. Well...my brain. Since if you're reading this, it should read like "Whiplash, meet my brain. Brain, whiplash." ALRIGHT ALREADY. Sorry. I swear I have like, a condition that makes me ramble).
  ANYWAYS. She's (that's Allison. Not me or you) joined by a few other, Stick, Rat and Lucas. I personally liked none of them, but mainly because if the world were to end, and be like, overrun by vampires, I would be a "Shit, dawg, it's every man for himself!" and watching my own ass and forget about others.
  Thank god Allison is a lot more selfless than I. Allison. I've never encountered a more hard yet cool character in months. She's witty (her repertoire of remarks is hella funny), smart  and so much more concerned for others that there is legit no other word other than 'noble' to describe her.
  Okay, now some personalization. Because it makes the world go 'round!
  I freaking LOVED this book! Why? THE RABIDS!!! Which are basically zombie-vamps. Can you think of a more terrifying combo than a vamp/zombie races? No? Well, hell, neither can I! In my mind (and it's a fine, fine place there), I like to picture the Rabids like the Descendants from the video game Uncharted: Drake's Fortune (Google it). Scary, crawling on hands and feet creepy things that are white as all that's holy and invoke such a sense of fear (in the video game and this book) that it's completely ludicrous.
  Kanin, Allie's "vamp sire" (I love any chance to say the word 'sire', because NONE of my friends know what it means and it makes me feel genius. Which I totally am. Psshtt.) was one of my favorite characters. I know, I know. I'm supposed to hate all the husks with pointy teeth, but he was such a cool vampire! He was like...Spike from Buffy. Evil, but hey, he's so charming you gotta love him. (I mean, he did save Allie. She woulda like, died without him. Oh wait...she died anyways. My bad.)
  But, unlike Kanin who is more of a father figure to Allie, Zeke is the boy who makes Allie's dead heart pitter patter. (I totally made that up. I can't recall a time when her heart beats again by some miracle. Thank god. That's like, impossible!) I loved then hated, then felt bad for him and now I love him again. I know. We have a messed up relationship.
  Did I mention he's HUMAN?! Ah, who could forget that?!
  Any who, I don't think I can say much more without spoiling something (how could I possibly? It's a huge monstrosity of a novel), so I shall stop speaking now.
  Loved the story, the characters. And in that Kagawa fashion, the writing and descriptions were absolutely beautifully put. Well done. 4/5 stars.

Thursday, July 26, 2012

Cover//Title/Description/Release Reveal: SHADOWS IN THE SILENCE by Courtney Allison Moulton!!

HOLY. CRACKERS. A whammy of a reveal!



I am legit loving my day! First, I get two books in my mailbox (not this one, sorry! I got Tessa Gratton's The Blood Keeper, and Susan Dennard's Something Strange and Deadly, btw), then my dad buys me this totally awesome (and much needed) tool kit for my jewelry making, and THEN I get take-out (as a surprise from Mom) from my all time fave Chinese restaurant.
  Now THIS?! Mother of GOD my day has been great! (Too bad it's pouring down rain. But I'm also having a great hair day, so that's always a plus!)
  This cover? GORGEOUS.

  The reason this is a 'title' reveal, as well, is this was formerly titled 'Hymn to the Fallen'  (I added this title in my tagging, incase someone Google's the title and doesn't yet know about the switch) and when I saw this on my GR homepage, I'm like 'WHOA BABY' (in Michelle fashion, via Full House, of course).

  Anyways, devil is in the details and whatnot:
  Shadows in the Silence by Courtney Allison Moulton (Angelfire, #3 --the last one!!)
  Releases: January 29, 2013 (dammit!)

  Description that's sure to get your engine revving:

  "Your strength in heart and hand will fall. . . .
Ellie knows that the darkest moments are still to come, and she has everything to fight for:

She must fight for Will.
The demonic have resorted to their cruelest weapons to put Will in mortal danger, and Ellie makes an unlikely alliance to save him and to stop Lilith and Sammael, who seek to drown the world in blood and tear a hole into Heaven.

She must fight for humanity.
As the armies of Hell rise and gather for the looming End of Days, Ellie and her band of allies travel to the world’s darkest and most ancient regions in her quest to come into her full glory as the archangel Gabriel.

And Ellie must save herself.
Her humanity withers beneath the weight of her cold archangel power, but Ellie must hold tight to who she is and who she loves as she prepares for the ultimate battle for Heaven and Earth.

In this final installment in the Angelfire trilogy, Courtney Allison Moulton brings her dark world of epic battles and blistering romance to a blazing bright conclusion..."

Happy reading, waiting, and salivating over this release!! :D

Sunday, July 22, 2012

This Week in Books (48)

Hi, guys!
Again, this week there is only one title releasing. But unlike most weeks, when people comment saying "you got some awesome titles" inferring that I actually HAVE these books, when this is all about what releases, not what books I get, I actually DID get this book! Or, I will. Wednesday of this past week it was shipped out, but I have yet to get it.
  I'm also waiting on my Ambuzzador kit through Random Buzzers. I was supposed to get it a few weeks ago, but alas, it never came! My mail-man is a suspected dyslexic, because he keeps giving my house all the wrong mail. And I know for a fact that if a box of books was delivered to someone's house, with a publisher's return-address, they're gunna open that box!
  Now, I have to contact my local post office (which is closed today, and employs very snarky bald dudes with tattoos who try making jokes to me but don't realize I really don't laugh much--this is true. The guy who waited on me Thursday when I had to ship five books out was like "I can only take two of these" *awkward pause on my end. Then he said, "I'm kidding!" Then he asked if I had anything illegal in the envelopes, and I just stared at him until he said, "Say no!" and laughed. I didn't. He actually looked like that dude from that weird show, Melissa and Joey on ABC-Family, now that I think about it...) and if they don't happen to have my box of books hostage, I have to send my sister's address as an alternate-address, so that hopefully my books come to me!
 
  Okay, sorry. I intended this post not to be ramble-ful, but hey, I got carried away.
  This week brings us:


Something Strange and Deadly by Susan Dennard from HarperTeen (July 24)

Synopsis:
"The year is 1876, and there’s something strange and deadly loose in Philadelphia…

Eleanor Fitt has a lot to worry about. Her brother has gone missing, her family has fallen on hard times, and her mother is determined to marry her off to any rich young man who walks by. But this is nothing compared to what she’s just read in the newspaper—

The Dead are rising in Philadelphia.

And then, in a frightening attack, a zombie delivers a letter to Eleanor…from her brother.

Whoever is controlling the Dead army has taken her brother as well. If Eleanor is going to find him, she’ll have to venture into the lab of the notorious Spirit-Hunters, who protect the city from supernatural forces. But as Eleanor spends more time with the Spirit-Hunters, including their maddeningly stubborn yet handsome inventor, Daniel, the situation becomes dire. And now, not only is her reputation on the line, but her very life may hang in the balance."

Happy reading, everyone! :)

Sunday, July 15, 2012

This Week in Books (47)

Happy Sunday, everyone!
  Nothing new on my front here, and I see that I only have one book listed that releases this week.
  Since there is only one title, I'm adding the synopsis for y'all to read.
  Happy reading!


The Unquiet by Jeannine Garsee releases July 17, 2012  from Bloomsbury

Synopsis:
"Sixteen-year-old Rinn Jacobs has secrets: One, she’s bipolar. Two, she killed her grandmother.

After a suicide attempt, and now her parents' separation, Rinn and her mom move from California to the rural Ohio town where her mother grew up. Back on her medications and hoping to stay well, Rinn settles into her new home, undaunted by the fact that the previous owner hanged herself in Rinn's bedroom. At school, her classmates believe the school pool is haunted by Annaliese, a girl who drowned there. But when a reckless séance goes awry, and terrible things start happening to her new friends—yet not to her—Rinn is determined to find out why she can’t be "touched" by Annaliese...or if Annaliese even exists.

With the help of Nate Brenner, the hunky “farmer boy” she’s rapidly falling for, Rinn devises a dangerous plan to uncover the truth. Soon reality and fantasy meld into one, till Rinn finds it nearly impossible to tell the difference. When a malevolent force threatens the lives of everyone she cares about--not to mention her own--she can't help wondering: who should she really be afraid of?

Annaliese? Or herself?"



______________
So weird! I live in Ohio, and my sister, Julie says that our closet (now her closet, since we no longer share a room) was haunted by a ghost named Annaliese. And it may be true--there are lots of weird happenings in her room. Just last week five little chopsticks that she had sticking in a collector Hello Kitty teacup somehow managed to "jump" from the corner of the room to the center of the room, at 2 a.m. And also, one day as I was reading (I can see my sister's door across the hall when my door is open, so we're not more than three feet away from each other) I heard her closet door open, so I went to go say 'hi' to her. She was sleeping, but the closet door was open and some of her stuff was on the ground. Weird, right?!
  And I swear when I shared a room with her, just as I was falling asleep one night, something grasped my ankle that was sticking out of my bed covers.
  When we first switched rooms, Julie had headphones in one night when she was online, and all of a sudden, when she turned off the music, she claims someone screamed in her ear! Another time, when she was sleeping, my sister's old clock-radio, which wasn't plugged in (the time is operated on batteries that haven't been changed since she bought it in 2001, while the radio only comes on when plugged in) started screaming music at 2 a.m (same time as when the chopsticks "flew" across the room).
  I know one thing. Either my sister and I are crazy, or some dead chick is haunting my house. Freeeakkkky!

Happy reading (and haunting!) :D

Saturday, July 14, 2012

Cover Reveal: THE MEPHISTO KISS by Trinity Faegen


This cover, the title, and the release is news to me. But it all likelihood, I'm just late on seeing this.
  Now, honesty time: I do not like this cover. Nuff said.

Details, anyone?
The Mephisto Kiss by Trinity Faegen (The Mephisto Covenant, #2)
Releases: September 25, 2012

Description:
"The eyes never lie. No one’s eyes are darker than Eryx. Not even the Devil’s.
  When Jax and Sasha first see Jordan Ellis, they know she is no ordinary teenager. She’s the daughter of the President after all, but she’s also Anabo – a descendant of Eve.
  What they don’t know is that Eryx plans to kidnap Jordan and force President Ellis to pledge his soul. If Eryx’s plot succeeds, the consequences would be catastrophic.
  But the Mephisto brothers do know about Jordan’s secret identity. And for one of them, she could be the match that leads to their soul’s salvation.
  Now it’s a desperate race against time to save Jordan and prevent Eryx’s haunting eyes from discovering her true identity.
  A thrilling story of romance, danger, and intrigue, THE MEPHISTO KISS continues the marvelous mythology that began in THE MEPHISTO COVENANT."


Happy reading!

Cover/Release Reveal: VORTEX by Julie Cross!

(Legit, when I saw this on Goodreads, I put a hand to my heart and gasped overdramatically.)


Whattaya y'all think? I actually like it!
  The title is news to me, too, but I didn't make this a 'Cover/Release/Title' reveal, because I'm always behind on these things releasing, so maybe you knew this. Also, the cover has a tag on it (bottom right corner) so I'm sure it premiered somewhere earlier on.

Anyways, here's what I got for ya:
Vortex by Julie Cross (Tempest, #2)
Releases: January 8, 2013 (grrrr)

Description TBA.

Cover/Release Reveal: CLOCKWORK PRINCESS by Cassandra Clare


I feel as though that book (in the picture), when opened, sings a heavenly-tune (*ahhhhhh*).
  I sure hope this one does, too!
  I'm legit loving this cover!

Details:
Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare (The Infernal Devices, #3)
Releases: March 19, 2013 (Dammit, why?!!)

Description:
"In Clockwork Princess, Tessa and her companions travel all over the world as they race to stop the clockwork army before it’s too late. As Jem’s health worsens alarmingly and his friends search desperately for a cure, can Tessa choose between the two boys she loves—even if it means never seeing the other one again?"
 
Happy reading!

Thursday, July 12, 2012

Kill Me Softly by Sarah Cross

Kill Me Softly by Sarah Cross

Synopsis:
"Mirabelle's past is shrouded in secrecy, from her parents' tragic deaths to her guardians' half-truths about why she can't return to her birthplace, Beau Rivage. Desperate to see the town, Mira runs away a week before her sixteenth birthday—and discovers a world she never could have imagined.

In Beau Rivage, nothing is what it seems—the strangely pale girl with a morbid interest in apples, the obnoxious playboy who's a beast to everyone he meets, and the chivalrous guy who has a thing for damsels in distress. Here, fairy tales come to life, curses are awakened, and ancient stories are played out again and again.

But fairy tales aren't pretty things, and they don't always end in happily ever after. Mira has a role to play, a fairy tale destiny to embrace or resist. As she struggles to take control of her fate, Mira is drawn into the lives of two brothers with fairy tale curses of their own . . . brothers who share a dark secret. And she'll find that love, just like fairy tales, can have sharp edges and hidden thorns."

________________
My thoughts:
I hate being let down.
That being said, if you have high excitations for Sarah Cross's Kill Me Softly, you've been forewarned. Not only that it may let you down, but that this may not be the most positive review to read prior to reading the novel.
  Remember. You've been warned, chérie
  Now, here are my thoughts.
  Starting the novel, you wouldn't believe how damn excited I was. A few short months ago, I read and (almost) completed the complete book of Grimm's Fairy tales. So, obviously, I've stopped expecting novels that are perfect re-tellings, since I'm so done with the Disney crap, and know the real tales. So when I heard about this novel, and how it was focused on the ORIGINAL tales that we all know and love, well, I was damn interested.
  Needless to say, it sucked to have that all ripped away.
  Now, I'm not saying Sarah Cross lied and did write in the style of the re-telling of the Grimm brother's stories, because she stuck to the tales like glue. What disappointed me was the main character, Mira.
  She is so mindless, if this was a post-apocalyptic novel, she'd be the lead zombie.
  I just couldn't connect to her character. Not to spoil anything, but she met a dude and (maybe) 24-hours later, there she was, lying in bed with him while he felt her up. Right then, with my 'WTF' exclamation, I knew I wouldn't love this novel.
  I'm not sure if it was the characters, or the writing. Because the story line was awesome. It drew me in and made me covet this novel to no end (well, until 'the end'). The cover is beautiful, too. So, hey, don't judge it by the cover!
  The story line, as mentioned above, was interesting. I liked how Sarah Cross stuck to the Grimm tales, and made everything so interesting. Too bad she couldn't do that with her main character.
  As I said, she's mindless. She also doesn't seem to think. Here she is, running away from home, and she's only mildly worried about being caught (so she runs a block or two in bare feet. I'm thinking 'where's the glass? The mud? The used cigarette butts getting stuck between her toes, as nasty as that is?') whereas I, and maybe even you, would be all "OMG. I'm SO gunna get caught. Holy shit, holy shit, holy shit..." And can I say how odd it is that the two people who drive her to the bus/train/whatever the hell it was station don't care that she's going to me a long distance boyfriend? The dude even goes, "Cool." Uh, in what universe is that cool? (I can't even wrap my mind around the idiocy of fake characters these days. Paper dolls have more stability.)
  Anyways.
  A few things rocked: the premise, the cover, Blue's hair and eyebrow piercing.
  A few didn't: Mira, whatever-the-hell-Blue's-brother's-name-is (It's Felix. I had to legit look it up, even though I finished the book not even ten minutes ago), that freaky, bitchy Viv chick (I always hated Snow White for some reason), and the writing.
  So, while it was an okay read, I can't say I wish for more of these characters (so don't tell me if there's a sequel. I swear I don't wanna know). I do hope, however, that more books from Sarah Cross in the future are a little better, and more thoughtfully written.
3/5 stars.

Sunday, July 8, 2012

This Week in Books (46)

How's everyone's week been? Mine's been just dandy! I've finally gotten a new dresser and desk, so the room in my house that I moved into over a year ago is finally MINE! It looks so freakin' awesome, what with my modern-as-all-hell laptop only meters away from my old-as-hell wing-back reading chair (it's a deep burgundy color, so really, it matches NOTHING in my room, which makes it stand out, and makes people gravitate towards it for sitting).
  Anyways, I was going to close the blog this week, but then I realized: uhm, why?! I now love being on my computer again, because I don't have to sit on my bed with it on my lap (I know, defeats the purpose of a "lap" top.)
  Anyways, I have a giveaway going on...Not here, though, because Google Docs is being lame, and I got a few emails telling me that people couldn't enter the contest. I could, and my sister checked from her computer, and she could, but I dunno what was happening.
  So, if you'd like a chance to enter to win one of five copies of Hannah Jayne's Under Attack (stuffed with swag for YA and adult lovers, including bookmarks for two books featured below: Denise Jaden's Never Enough *half of these are signed!* and Jennifer Echols's Such a Rush!) please enter on LibraryThing.com, in their Member Giveaway section (if you don't have one, you'll have to make an account; but it's free!). Winners will be chosen next Saturday, so enter soon!

  This week, a few awesome-looking titles release: all on Tuesday, btw:


Saturday, July 7, 2012

Cover/Release Reveal: SCARLET by Marissa Meyer!



!!!! Have you guys seen this? I'm not too sure wtf is going on with the chick on the cover, but I really, really like it.
  If you haven't heard of Meyer's Lunar Chronicles series, then you legit need to!
 
Details:
Scarlet by Marissa Meyer (Lunar Chronicles, #2)
Releases: February 5, 2013 (NOOO!! Release sooner!)
You can read an interview with the author, as well as an excerpt on USA Today's website, here.

Here is the "description" from Goodreads, but this is NOT official! When the real one is released, I'll post it!

"This book will feature Cinder and Little Red Riding Hood and will take place in France.
Update

"Book two, Scarlet, is based on Little Red Riding Hood. It continues Cinder’s story as she attempts to escape Queen Levana’s vengeance and learn more about her past. The story also introduces readers to Scarlet, a girl living in southern France whose grandmother has mysteriously disappeared. In order to find her, Scarlet seeks the help of Wolf, a street fighter with more than a few mysteries of his own."


Happy reading (and waiting...for this awesomesauce book to release)!

Sunday, July 1, 2012

This Week in Books (45)

Not in the mood to recount this week's shenanigans, so I'll just get right to it!




This week, the wonderful world of publishing brings us:

Happy reading. :P
On Wednesday (July 4!) check back for your chance to win one of five copies of Hannah Jayne's Under Attack! (Keep in mind, this is an ongoing adult series, so ask permission before entering so that your parents don't start emailing me about the sexual content and violence in these books!)
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...